Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chop Suey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chop Suey

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2002

      I made this via the pressure cooker method. It turned out great. The suggestion to adjust the salt/sweet flavors is well taken. For my tastes I needed to modify a bit. Very easy to make. I will definitely whip this up again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2002

      If this is better the second day, I'm going to have a great dinner! I added more molasses and towards the end I put in already cooked chinese egg noodles....It was heaven and almost got polished off by two people! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2001

      VERY GOOD !!!! I made it with Beef. I think it would be very good with chicken too with very little "adjustment". I'm going to try this with pork and with chicken (not at the same time though).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      Delicious! I made the recipe as directed using beef. A sa matter of fact, I made this dish with sliced tenderloin - a bit of a splurge. I used beef broth and fresh bean sprouts and I added pea pods for color. The molasses gives this dish a deep rich flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This was just like my moms! Left out the sprouts and added water chestnuts. After I browned everything put it in the crockpot My kids ate it up. Cant wait to tell my sister.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Very similar to my Mom's recipe, which came from the 1950 Ladies Home Journal cookbbok.DO use the Molasses, it really does something for the dish. We ate this growing up in the Midwest when there were not many Chinese options for dining out. Mom served it on those crunchy chow mein noodles that came in a can (La Choy) Today I serve it on rice. Thanks Peg, for the trip down memory road!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      I used pork tenderloin and cooked in my pressure cooker (high) for 15 min., and the meat turned out extremely tender. I used a canned of Chinese veg., too. I loved how dark and rich the sauce was! It really tasted like it had beef stock in it. Thanks Peg, for posting. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      This was very popular in the Chicago area. We use BEAD Molasses, which is found in the Oriental section when you can find it. I order it online from San Francisco, even though I live in California, it is not in the stores here. I use more than 4 tablespoons. I love the addition of the chicken broth in yours. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      Delicious, thanks for the recipe! The flavor and the texture of the sauce is just amazing. I used my pure clay pot to make it and turned out fantastic. The meat cooked in it is so much softer and juicier. It cooks the food with far infrared heat emitted from the walls of the pot, unlike pressure cooker that forces heat and steam into the food and kills most of the nutrients. I got mine from mririamsearthencookware.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      Great recipe! So easy to make, delicious, and a crowd pleaser. It doesn't get any better than this recipe. For our tastes I did add a little more soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      Made this recipe tonight for the first time. I added two cans of sliced water chestnuts to the recipe, which we love. Topped it off with toasted Chow Mein noodles. Hard to believe that it will taste better tomorrow. It was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      I think this is exactly the recipe my mom used to make! She would change things up by substituting a can of sliced water chestnuts and/or bamboo shoots for one can of bean sprouts, but the base recipe and the seasonings are right on! Thanks, Peg for the lovely stroll down memory lane, and for sharing this very forgiving recipe. It is delightful! I serve over rice and top with crispy Chinese noodles....how American is that? LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      This is how I remember my mother making it. The molasses is the key. I add canned chop suey veggies and sliced water chestnuts. Needless to say, I really enjoyed this recipe. Thank You for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Oh my goodness! I made this for my family and we all loved it. I had some bean sprouts in the fridge that needed to be used up and went on a hunt to use them up. I found you recipe and am so glad I did. I can't wait to make this again....soon! We loved it. I had no celery in the house so we decided to sub in shredded cabbage and it was really good. We all said we wnat to try with the celery, so next week it is......thank you for sharing your recipe with us. Its a keeper in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      This is just the way I remember it. I love this recipe!! I have oyster sauce in the fridge, and may try it instead of molasses next time. This dish is definitely "in my rotation!!!" I follow the recipe to the T, but may try fresh bean sprouts next time (not available when mom was making this in the 1950's in northern Wisconsin, lol) and I usually buy pork for chop suey, because it is available in grocers now... GREAT RECIPE, 6 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      This is an excellent recipe. I used a pressure cooker and it beautifully tenderized the Russian Boar stew meat I used from the harvest I made last year. Wonderful flavor. I added a bit of garlic to the celery and onion as we like garlic in almost everything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

    • on January 01, 2011

      Very good flavor. Surprised about molasses . it pasyes to taste. Will make this agin for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      and it was great. I agree with the other chefs that you cannot omit the molasses. I think that originally this ingredient was used out west because the could not get cantonese oyster flavored sauce which is almost identical. It has that deep beefy enriched taste that you are looking for in the dish. The only thing I changed was I had leftover pork from a suckling pig I made for the holiday so my cooking time was really only about a half hour to let the floros blend. I served it over white rice and am looking forward to the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      I love this recipe, and it makes a large amount too! I also used a can of chinese vegetables with left over country ribs. This was fantastic and should get 10 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chop Suey

    Serving Size: 1 (386 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.7
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    34%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 66.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1417.9 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 17.1 g
    68%
    Protein 30.9 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes