10 Reviews

Enjoyed this, will make again. Only problems were I only cooked it a total of 40 minutes covered and the pork was a little dry, and when I took the foil off thinking I needed to cook it another 10 minutes all the liquid was already absorbed. Next time I will use 1 1/2 cups beef broth. But it was very tasty and we ate all of it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs April 30, 2012

Easy casserole to put together and the pork chops did come out tender but it was WAY too salty for our tastes. I cut the recipe in half and only used 1/2 an envelope if that and it was still salty. Oh well, it was tender. Made for PAC Spring 2014.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty May 02, 2014

I scratch cook as much as I can, so I just used the basic idea of this recipe for my dish. I used fresh vegetables and added some home dried herbs to it, and instead of beef broth I used chicken broth from a natural chicken paste I buy. I browned the pork, cut up, with some garlic. It turned out great. Flavourful, not salty (which is what you get when you buy packaged soup mixes) with tender meat and fluffy rice. I'll only give it 3 stars because while I was very happy with my version, I still must find fault with the online recipe for using frozen veggies and the onion soup mix. I should also mention that I did not need to bake uncovered to get rid of excess moisture and I think that is due to my using fresh vegetables and not frozen. Frozen veggies have a habit of adding unwanted moisture to a recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Romantic Chef October 26, 2015

This was so delicious even though I changed the recipe a little. I cut up lean pork and I added a frozen bag of peas and mushrooms with garlic. I didn't have any beef broth so I used chicken broth. I also browned the pork with onions and garlic. It was perfection!! I am definitely making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nubianginger October 06, 2013

We really liked this, I did not have any Lipton onion soup mix so I used Copycat Lipton Onion Soup Mix
copycat recipe (with better than bouillon rather than powdered which gave the rice better flavor) Cooked for exactly 1 hour covered with no additional cooking for the rice. The chops were perfectly moist. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe May 24, 2012

I made this recipe late this sunday evening. It was great and timely. The only thing that could have been better was the rice. It came out a little stiffer than i would normally like but i think that happened due to using two baking dishes and not accounting for the broth needed. Kids loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamagottacook August 28, 2011

Just made this last night for the umpteenth time and realized I never rated this recipe. Well it is worthy of 10 stars for the simplicity, taste, changeability and great leftover uses! I have made this as written, changed the vegtables, the pork and it still comes out scrumptious! The leftovers are great for a quick supper of wrpas when time is tight. Thanks Chef for a very easy, tasty and quick meal!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missy2m May 12, 2010

Mar 24 - This was really good. I used a smaller casserole dish and only 2 pork chops but the same amount of rice. I also used the rest of a package of what I think was fajita mix, instead of the onion soup mix. Finally, I used chicken stock instead of beef. This recipe was a great jumping off point for my dinner and as you can see, it can be altered to use what you have handy in your pantry! I would definitely use this recipe again. Yum! Mar29- Made this again (yes so soon!). This time I used stewing beef, chicken stock, hot'n'spicy fried rice seasoning (Sunbird), and GG Frzn Japanese Mixed Veg. Good Stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominique353 March 29, 2010

Excellent week night casserole. I did leave out the frozen mixed vegetables. I can see using this recipe without the pork chops for a side dish. I love rice and this was very flavorful. And super easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Pinch of This ... March 24, 2010

This was a very good casserole. Easy, one dish meal, just add vegetable. Made for New Kids on the Block.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mightyro_cooking4u March 22, 2010
Pork Chop, Onion, and Rice Casserole