Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Carnitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Carnitas

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2009

      Thanks for posting. I started them on the stove, then dropped them into the crock pot to finish. I had to add another 1/4 cup of wine before they were done. My grocery store has been having freshly smoked chipotle peppers. I chopped up 3 and added them to the mix for a slight smokiness. Next time, will add 1 or 2 more and allow enough time to do them all the way in the crock pot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      excellent recipe! i followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding 2 cups of fresh roasted green chiles and adding some coriander and cumin. we fried our own white corn tortillas to eat them as tacos. served with spanish rice, refried black beans and taco toppings were: pico de gallo, sliced avacados, shredded cabbage and shredded pepper jack cheese. fantastic! thanks for sharing, lightly toasted!! bravo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      This was pretty good. I'm sure I will make this again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Husband cooked this using leftover pork from a previous day, he felt the wine was not enough liquid so added water, but as it cooked it was too much liquid. He also added a dash of hot sauce. We really enjoyed the flavor and are going to attempt again this weekend with "new" pork and see how the liquid is with just the wine. We served over Spanish rice and there was none left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I am sorry to say that this dish was just so...so. I followed the recipe exactly. The aroma was fantastic. However, the taste was OK. Next time I will try to get some pork with bones in it. Maybe that will add to the flavor. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Well this turned out better than I expected! I used an Italian vermouth for my white wine and made an almost double batch as I found 3 1/2 lbs of sirloin chops in the freezer and I had over a pound of boneless spare rib tails left from end of the slabs of ribs from yesterday's dish from 'zaar that I made with side spare ribs. I increased the amount of salt called for to a total of 1 whole teaspoon and was happy with the result and I also doubled the seasoning but when it was almost ready to add the water I felt it needed more flavour so added a tablespoon more oregano and a tsp of garlic powder and a couple of teaspoons of onion powder to bump up the flavour. When I tasted it after shredding I thought "Meh, it's ok" but when I tasted it after it had cooled...WOW not bad. ETA: this would make excellent perogy filling! Mix with a little mashed potato and /or fried mushrooms or small pastry appetizer filling

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      My favorite thing about this recipe is the simplicity of it. I made this using a cheaper cut of boneless "meat for carnitas" and found it to be amazingly tasty. I forgot the bay leaf, but otherwise followed the recipe. Will definitely make this again. Kids loved it! Hubby loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Amazing! I too did not think it would have the flavor it does with so few ingredients but it was awesome. The only thing I did differently was to add an extra 1/4 cup of water the last hour. The pork was so tender and delicious. I will definitely be making this again, thanks Elissa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      I added a few cups of a Mexican brand Chicken/Tomato broth with cumin and a handful of the pearl rice and let that simmer with the pork. AWESOME!!! Especially with lots of chopped green onions and fresh cilantro!! This is one of the best pork recipes on this site! Thanks so much for sharing this-my family loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      This was WONDERFUL! We did cook i up a bit differently....We put everything in to a slow cooker over night, drained off some of the liquid - tossed in a can of chopped green chilies and then left it to simmer for several more hours until it was time for dinner - these were outstanding! (They also freeze great!!) Thanks Elissa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      Really tasting and fairly easy to make! For so few ingredients I didn't expect such flavor, but I was surprised. I added an onion and a bit of cumin and chili powder. Next time I'll add a fresh jalepeno or two for a bit more kick. Wrapped in a tortilla w/ some pickled jalepeno and hubby and I were happy campers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      This is a great recipe. I made this using a boneless sirloin and followed the recipe exactly. It was tender and delicious and we liked that fact that it wasn't hot spicy. I served with chopped tomatoes, sour cream, guacamole and an array of various salsas, from mild to really hot. Simmered Black Beans #80909 was a very nice side dish. Thanks Elissaz for a fine recipe that I'll be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      This is very good for so little ingredients.I had several pieces of pork loin that I needed to get outta my frezer so I was very glad to find a recipe for them.I cubed the meat and added the other ingredients,with only a small change as I did not have the white wine so I subbed apple juice and a splash of cooking wine.I do not like to stray from the original ingredients but the apple juice is a legit sub,so I went with it.It turned out wonderful,and the smell was divine.After the cooking and shredding took place I decided that a little more oregano would not hurt,so I added it,plus some more salt,and it was delicious.The pork was very moist and juicy,and the spices are perfect.We had it wrapped in flour tortillas with cheese and sour cream. I am freezing the leftovers and next time I am going to try it on tostados. Thank you,it's a keeper,I would not change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      Try adding oranje juice instead of wine and increase to 2/3c. Cut an onion in quarters and add to pot. Add cumin and chili powder. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      Great recipe! I loved the flavor of the pork...I added a chopped jalapeno for a little kick and since I love fresh corn tortillas I substituted those for the flour. I will make this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Carnitas

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 611.6
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    38%
    Total Fat 25.8 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 75.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 836.6 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.4 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes