Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Butt Roast - Caribbean Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Butt Roast - Caribbean

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2007

      The meat is so tender! I have to try every recipe twice to rate it, this is a priceless recipe. I added Lime juice to the onion mixture and it was even more tender! I tryed the third time leaving this in an oven at 250 with pan 1/4 filled with water,with skin side up and letting it cook for 10-12 hrs or overnight covered,remove the cover meat will be falling apart tender but dont diturb til you cook it at 375-400 for and extra 30-45 min and baste it with baster getting the dark bits at bottom of pan,cook until you see the color get dark,for flavor flavor flavor!!!! (I also added more lime juice with a little cumin,cayenne,and Goya Sazon w/coriander and aichote)Once I tried stuffing spanish olives in the marinadeing slits. This roast is AWESOME and you can be more creative with it too. I would recommend getting a roast with a bone in it (most do)and cutting it into sections for 3+lbs 2-3 cuts is good enough(not seperated from bone,just so they are open for the marinade and it leaves more crispend areas(the crispyness is where all the flavor is!)great for tacos too! Thanks Derf, I love what you have posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2004

      Wonderful flavor! I used a 3 lb. roast and cooked it for 2 hours in my convection oven - it was perfect - the outside had crusted nicely and inside was tender and yummy! I used the exact amounts of ingredients even though I only had a 3 lb. roast and I also chilled it for about 14 hours - Thanks Derf for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      This was easy to prepare and I really liked the seasonings. The only reason this wasn't a 5-star is because the roast just wasn't tender after cooking it as directed. But the outside seasonings were great! I decided to then put cooked roast into crock pot with a little liquid, cooked it for several hours, and voila.... tenderness with great flavor! I believe this recipe would be excellent if using a pork loin rather than a pork but roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Awesome flavor. Easy. A great way to make the best of an inexpensive cut of meat. Even my kids loved it, and they are not very good about eating their meat! I will be using this again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I did as ChefKateHas2 and cooked it overnight at the low temp. and oh my goodness it was so moist and flavorful! I forgot to add the extra seasoning that she mentioned, but it was still very good. Will definetly prepare it this way again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I am new to the kitchen and this was so easy and flavorful I did as GaylaJ suggested and made pineapple salsa .yummmmy!! My family liked it so much there was no left overs!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Delicious. I pulled some of the roast apart into shreds/chunks that we ate on tortillas with Pineapple Salsa. We really enjoyed it that way, and I have plenty left to freeze and look forward to later. I did cook it longer, as I like pork butt cooked until it is so tender it pulls apart easily (about 195F). Thanks for posting, Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      I thought that this roast had some great flavor, but it was very dry and not very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Butt Roast - Caribbean

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.9
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    38%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 35.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 329.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes