Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork and Vegetable Lo Mein (Easy and Delicious) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork and Vegetable Lo Mein (Easy and Delicious)

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2003

      This got good reviews from my family, and it's quick to make. Next time, I would start to cook the onions a bit ahead of the meat because when it's thinly sliced like that, the onions were still pretty raw when the meat was cooked. Also next time, I would give the sliced carrots a head start on the rest of the vegetables and add the cabbage last. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      This is delicious, LeeAnn!!! It makes such a pretty dish, too, with all the colors in the veggies. I am a garlic freak, so rather than sauteing it in with the pork, I ground it with a little salt in my mortar & pestle and mixed it into the soy sauce. I just prefer the way that method distributes the flavor. Wonderful and fast meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      This was a huge hit with my picky family! I followed the recipe exactly, using baby bok choy, and yellow bell pepper. It's a very attractive and colorful dish, and the flavor can't be beat. Instead of measuring out the crushed red pepper, I sprinkled it on until it looked right for our taste. It wasn't too hot, but added the perfect amount of heat. I also used the pre-shredded cabbage and the matchstick size pre-cut carrots, which made this so quick and easy to prepare. You have a real winner here, Leeannr!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2003

      Simple and fabulous. I had it for lunch the next day and it reheated well and was even better. I sprinkled chopped green onion on top. Next time I am adding water chestnut because I think the crunch would be nice. This really is a recipe you can do alot with if you have picky veggie eaters. THANKS CHICKIE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      Simply outstanding! This was my first attempt at making Lo Mein and this it was delicious! I used pre-chopped cabbage and carrots as I was feeling rather lazy. I added a tad bit more pasta and just a bit more soy sauce as I wasn't sure how much this would make. It makes a lot! I ate this for lunch the next day and I swear it was even better! I loved the little bit of spice from the pepper...I may have added more but I'm not sure as I never measure anything! I can't brag enough about this one, Leanne. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      Quite often, I cook double on pasta, for it will keep, covered, in the refrigerator for 4-5 days. Using that already cooked angel hair pasta and cutting my own vegetables, this still came together in a hurry. I've tried several pork lo-mein recipes, but this is the one I'll continue to use and isn't that a good thing?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      Definitely a hit with my family!!! I used the bagged coleslaw and the bagged shredded carrots, how quick and easy. I left out the peppers because the kids won't eat them, but it was delicious. I can't wait to make it again. Great recipe LeeAnn!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      Super recipe! I left out the Bok Choy, and I used a combination of chicken breast, and pork tenderloin, I also just seasoned the red pepper flakes to what I thought would agree with us. The result was just wonderful... spicy, and so flavorful. Also great presentation, a very colorful dish. This was pretty easy to throw together as well, not much prep involoved, and ingredients that I would easily have on hand. A definate keeper at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      This was very good, and sooo easy! I didnt use peppers cuz we don't like them, and I did use celery. I will definetly make this again and again...Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2003

      By the time I sat down to eat my fiance had already eaten almost half of his first serving!! He absolutely loved this dish and so did I. This recipe is so flexible. I think next time we are going to add mushrooms and use chicken instead of pork. This was great!!! Thanks LeeAnn for an awesome receipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      This was very good. I was worried it would be a little bland. I added some fresh ginger and extra soy sauce and some oyster sauce which seemed to kick it up a bit. I also used authentic chinese noodles. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Quick, easy, delicious! I used chicken instead of pork (what I had), and I deglazed the pan with a splash of wine (extra yum!). I varied the vegetable proportions and amounts based on what I had available, and after eating it, I'm pretty sure it doesn't matter. I love flexible recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      What a great recipe. Even if I didn't follow it. I cooked the pork, garlic and red pepper flakes, then added the veggies in their cooking time order. Then added the coleslaw mix, then spaghetti and soy sauce. I also added sesame oil and sprinkled a little 5 spice seasoning. Delicious. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      It was very good. Not as good as a traditional, but very close and it was easy. Directions were great, quick, and stuff I had on hand. I did use chinese noodles which I prefer, but I had them, and spaghetti will work as well. I didn't up the red pepper as lo mein is not meant to be spicy. I didn't add the amount of red pepper as it often not in traditional lo mein, but used just 1/4 cut very fine chopped. But added snow peas and water chestnuts thin sliced. I used soy but added a little beef broth and cornstarch because at the end of cooking, I felt it needed a little broth/sauce, it was too dry for me. I had sort of forgot about making this at home so this was nice to see and I completely enjoyed it. I definitely liked the peas, all the peppers would be too strong of flavor for the lo mein to me. But all the amounts and cooking time were perfect. I also know the water chestnuts are not common, but I had a 1/2 can left in the fridge and probably wouldn't add them normally, but they were on hand. So overall, it was a very nice recipe and I will make it again. It came out very good. Just not the peppers for me. But very well liked. Kim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      Excellent! This is a very versatile dish next time I'm going to add snow peas and maybe shrimp...the possibilities are endless! I did add a smidge of Chinese 5-spice powder...yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      This is a good recipe. I did feel that it was lacking a little something in the overall flavor department, though. I added a little ginger and that helped but it could've used maybe sesame oil or something rather than olive oil. Instead of cabbage I used the preshredded broccoli slaw, celery and onions. I will certainly make this again but will probably adjust the ingredients to my tastes. Another thing I would do is use the biggest spaghetti I could find rather than thin spaghetti to make it more like the take-out chinese version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      I was hesitant because I've never been able to replicate that lo mein taste in my home attempts but this recipe was really fantastic. I used shrimp instead of pork (that's how I'd order it from our local Chinese food restaurant), I added a few dashes of sesame oil during cooking and I used sriracha instead of red pepper flakes for heat, but I didn't make any other changes besides that. Came out really delicious and I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      This is a very good base recipe. I omitted the pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      This recipe was easy and delicious. Reading the other reviews, I noticed the recipe was easy to manipulate, so I changed it based on what I had on hand keeping the base the same. I used coconut oil instead of olive because it doesn't burn as easily at higher temps. For the vegetables I used scallions (put the white parts in with the meat instead of onion, but the green parts in with the cabbage), 2 cloves of garlic with the meat, 4 more with the veggies, 3 carrots, 12 purple yard beans, 8 flat green beans and 1/2 a head of napa cabbage (waited to add the cabbage and green scallions til the carrots and beans were close to ready). I also used soba noodles instead of spaghetti just because I had them. The recipe was easy, delicious, and didn't require a special trip to the grocery store. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      This is a great quick and easy recipe! I skipped the pork since I'm a vegetarian and didn't measure any amounts except the soy sauce. This is a wonderful recipe that you can customize to your tastes and uses what's left in your fridge. I had bok choy, sliced carrots, onion and green pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork and Vegetable Lo Mein (Easy and Delicious)

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.5
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    27%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1438.0 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 35.1 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites