Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Adobada Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Adobada

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2013

      Okay friends, I have never reviewed a recipe before, but this one was FANTASTIC and I wanted to let others know. I recently ate pork adobada at a restaurant for the first time and I loved it. I kept craving it and decided I would give this recipe a try based on the ratings. I am an amateur cook, and I didn't understand the baking of the dried chiles. (To educate others like me, this intensifies the flavor of the already dried chiles. Also, you are basically making your own chili powder rather than using a store bought type that has other spices added.) Also, I couldn't find the exact dried chiles, so I had to research this. I used Chile Californias for the anaheims. I couldn't find dried pasilla or an equivalent, but I luckily stumbled across some pasilla powder in the Mexican aisle at my supermarket. I used 4 tsp of this. As another reviewer mentioned, it definitely needed some salt, so I added 1/2-1 tsp. about halfway through the cooking. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I served topped with cheese, an avocado dressing I made, and some fresh chopped cilantro. This was truly so good. My inlaws dropped by at dinnertime and we offered them dinner. They also kept raving about how amazing this was. And my nine year old went back three times for more. It was full of flavor, but my version really was not spicy. (My family doesn't do spicy, so I was relieved.) Thanks for sharing this great recipe. It is a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      I needed a recipe to make to share with friends for our "cook 'n share" and based on the reviews, I decided to try this one. I tasted the sauce before adding the pork and decided that it was plenty spicy so I didn't add the chili seeds. But after adding the pork and letting it cook for a while, I tasted it again and it was not as spicy as I had thought, so don't be afraid to add the seeds. Also, don't forget the salt! I didn't salt anything as I was making this, and when I tasted it half way through the cooking, I discovered it really needed it. But all in all this is a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Now we're talking! This is the single best recipe I've come across on Zaar. And I've tried quite a few. If you've got a tagine, use it. Prepare the sauce, fry the onions, put them in the tagine, brown the floured pork, pile it on top of the onions, cover the lot in the sauce, put them in an oven heated to 140-150C and you're away. Check after 2.5hrs, and again every half hour after that. You'll know when it's ready because you'll be screaming "OH MY GOD THIS MEAT IS INCREDIBLE" to everyone who can hear you! This recipe is absolutely indispensible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This was outstanding! My DH said it was even better than the little mexican resturant down the street!! I used just two anaheim chilis as we do not like it too spicey and, it was just enough. It is very hot outside and did not want to turn the oven on to roast the peppers, so I roasted them on the flame of the gas stovetop, this worked just fine. Let the peppers sit in a bag when they have been roasted, to help steam the skins and they will peel right off after about 10 minutes. I served these on warmed, corn tortillas and be sure to double the tortillas as just one will break from the juiciness of the meat. I also served this with Pico De Gallo #33861. Amazing dish, thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      So good, certainly deserves all the great reviews. DH loves Mexican and this one was that little bit differant that he raved about it. I little on the sweet side for me so next time thinking I'll cut down in half the orange concentrate & brown sugar - but that's just me. The baking of the peppers sure brought out the flavor what a great idea - I'll need to use that one more often. I couldn't find the Pasilla chilies so used the only dried ones in the store Anjo's, the flavor was still right on. It was made even easier as I used my Ninja crock pot which fried the meat, Saute the onions & slow cooked all in one pan. Can't wait to try this again but next time want to try the hint to do it in the tangine just to see if it makes a differance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I'm not going to use start because I didn't really follow the recipe. I used a couple of chipotle peppers in sauce in place of the called for peppers. The dish was good, but I think next time I'll try to find the right peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Very good! A bit spicier than I can handle, so I added some cream cheese and it was perfect. The flavors blend wonderfully together. I had a lot of sauce leftover, so I threw in a bunch of chicken and I'm letting it cook to eat later in the week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      YES!!!! If I could give more stars, I would. This was absolutely fantastic! My husband was a little concerned that it would be too spicy when he saw me preparing it this morning but his fears were ungrounded. We loved this. The meat has so much flavor and was so tender. The only change I made was to only use 3 pasilla chiles because the ones I bought were very big. I plan to double or triple this for our annual open house on New Years Day. Thank you so much for posting this, PaulaG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

    • on July 17, 2007

      I really enjoyed this. I am certainly no expert,but I think this was fairly authentic. The prep work took a little time, but it wasn't too bad. I used one chipotle in adobo instead of the pepppers called for (it's what I had on hand) That was all the heat I needed (but I am a heat whimp) I would suggest making it clear in the directions at what point you add the cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Absolutely delicious. And I like that it makes use of the crockpot, so I don't have to mind it so closely. Browning the meat first adds lots of flavor, so don't skip that step. The recipe, as written, makes a lot, so I usually freeze half for a second meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Hello I made this for the US regional category of World Zaar III. I did not have anaheim or pasilla chilies so substituted a tbs of Chipotle in adobo sause and 1 green chile. It was GOOD but lacked the depth of flavours others mentionned. But it looked very appetizing and was really easy to pull together...so I am going to keep my eyes out for the other peppers and try again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      What a great dinner this was. All the flavor. Just delicious. I keeping this recipe and will make it again. Made for ZWT III.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      Very good, easy once you get it going, it just takes patience and good, almost a bbq quality to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      My favorite thing about Recipezaar is finding little treasures like this one! This recipe for Pork Adobada is a taste sensation that left everyone swooning over their plates! I served it in bowls with tortillas, chopped red onion, chopped cilantro, grated cheese, and sliced avocado on the side. Thanks for the wonderful recipe PaulaG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      DH & I are in Dallas visiting SusieQusie & we co-hosted a dinner party for 14 last nite. W/her in Dallas & me in Iceland, we planned our menu well ahead. We needed a worry-free & easy fix that would impress our guests. When she told me to ck out this recipe, I knew instantly it was my choice. Man did this dish ever come thru for us in a big way! It seemed a bit labor intensive at the start, but SQ made quick work of it & we all enjoyed the outcome. Great recipe! Thx for sharing it w/us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      what can I say about this dish..absolutly wonderful!!!.There are some chefs on here who are so abundantly talented,you my dear are one of them!!!. I did make a few changes.. I used a milder chile in place of the Anaheim and added 1/2 T more brown sugar. This dish has just the right amount of savory,smoky flavor with of course the heat to compliment it.I think we all went back 2 or 3 times for more!!.great recipe..worth the trip to the mexican grocery!! Candace

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      This is in the crockpot, smelling lovely. The samples I've had tell me it's a winner! Despite searching, I couldn't find the key chiles - pasilla. I had some aji marisol - about the same scoville + a citrusy flavor - and anaheims. Mine, of course, isn't as dark as yours pictured but I'll most likely have my eyes closed going ummmmm ... when I eat it anyway. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      Oh, my... wonderful, tastes great and so easy. I made it on the stovetop, too. The flavors of the chillis, garlic, orange and tomato... This rates 10 star....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      This is one of those dishes that has you looking for that sixth star. Incredibly easy but huge flavors. The dried chilis give the sauce a smoky spice flavor that is complemented by hints of sweet and sour coming from the orange juice, sugar and vinegar. I didn't add any seeds as the dried peppers were plenty potent. To keep this lean, I cubed a well trimmed pork tenderloin. Also, I prepared this on the stovetop. To do so, after browning the pork and onions, I added the water to scrape the bits, then added the sauce from the food processor. Simmmered the dish on the lowest possible flame for two hours. Half way through I added an extra half cup of water to adjust for any evaporation that can occur when switching from crockpot to stove top. Served it with polenta wedges for dinner and lunch tomorrow will be with corn tortillas. This would also make a nice filling for burritos or on top of some rice. My guess is this would freeze very well. Thanks Paula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Adobada

    Serving Size: 1 (375 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 434.1
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    31%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 135.0 mg
    45%
    Sodium 231.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 52.0 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites