Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Porcupine Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Porcupine Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2003

      These were yummy... I had to add some breadcrumbs because the mixture seemed a bit soft and they turned out beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      these were so easy to make and they were quite tasty,my 2 year old ate it up and anything we can get him to eat is a winner in our book we will make this again thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Exactly the recipe I was looking for! I hadn't had "porkypine balls" since I was a little kid and just got a craving for them. The only thing I did differently was bake them covered at 350 for an hour (my mom's directions for nearly all recipes) instead of cooking them on the stove top. They came out perfectly! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Tasted like little meatloaves(balls). They fell apart, but no biggie, just made the gravy taste even better. I served with peas and yeast rolls-YUM! I will make again. Also, I made about 8 large meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      These turned out great! I did things a little differently. I am only giving 4 stars because I am not too fussed on using canned soups for anything. In the future I will see about making my own tomato soup first or adapting the ingredients that would go into the soup to make this. I tripled the recipe to take to a 'pot luck'. Recipe didn't say anything about browning them first but I did brown them in batches and then added them to my pressure cooker and set it for like 25 mins. I think the major mistake there was that the bottom got burnt because I wasn't able to stir it frequently so next time I will put them in the slow cooker. By the way I didn't get to bring any leftovers home from the event I made them for. Thanks for exposing me to my first porcupine meat balls ChipolteChick!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Delicious - thanks so much for posting!! :) I made this with 1 1/2 pounds ground beef - 1/2 cup rice - added an 8 oz can of tomato paste - and an extra egg. Seriously - so yummy - thank you! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      very good. i doubled it but cooked it in the oven like another person did. came out pretty dry so added extra water about 10 min before serving. came out fine. kids loved it. next time i will add more water since the rice isnt cooked berfore cooking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      We like our sauce a little sweeter (and plentiful) so we doubled the tomato soup and added 4 T of brown sugar and 2 T lemon juice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This is a lovely, classic recipe and I'm so glad to see that it hasn't been altered by time to include crazy ingredients! We've been enjoying these meatballs for decade and have them as they are and also by adding them to cabbage soup. Easy, inexpensive and fantastic taste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This is really good comfort food, and not just for kids!! I added a bit of garlic powder to the meat mixture, scooped it out with my cookie scoop. To the tomato soup, I added a can of water instead of the called for 1/2 cup, and an 8-oz can of Tomato sauce. I followed hints and placed into boiling sauce, and turned gingerly once. They were everything bragged about. Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Made this for dinner a couple of nights ago and it was a good change of pace from our regular dinner ideas. Neither my husband nor I had ever had porcupine meatballs before. They really do taste a lot like meatloaf (which wasn't a bad thing). The only change I made was to substitute 2 cans of tomato sauce for the tomato soup. I didn't end up with too much sauce at the end, but that's okay because the sauce that was there I avoided because it seemed a little greasy for us from cooking the 80/20 beef directly in it. My husband had leftovers today as a meatball sub. Thanks for the idea, I can definitely see us making these again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      My husband has been after me for months to find the meatball recipe from his youth. After several failed attempts, I have found it! Thank you so much! I prepared according to the recipe, and can't think of a single thing to change about it. Just simply awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      These turned out wonderful! The only change I made was I made it with turkey breast, and I added more onions. They were easy and healthy so I definatley will be making this soon! My kids absolutley loved them which is always a plus!Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      We loved these! I used about 1/2 a pack of the lipton chicken flavored rice, and that gave it some extra flavor. I also think I will make more sauce next time by using a family sized can of tomato soup. I browned the meatballs first in an electric skillet, then added the sauce and boiled. These were done in about 30 minutes~! Served with green beans and rolls. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      These are terrific - a family favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Mmmmm...These are so yummy! Kids loved them. Next time I may blend the sauce with some peppers, celery, carrots, etc. to sneak veggies to DS. Hubby didn't trust this recipe and stood over my shoulder the whole time questioning me. Then he ate three portions. Chefs!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      These were wonderful - even my pickiest son ate well, then after his bath wanted more! I also had the soup mixture boiling - thanks for the pointer DAGGERSMOMMY.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      Wonderful!! Ours is a family of 5, and everyone ate it...and lots of it!! I made a double batch. As Daggersmommy suggested, I had the soup mixture boiling as I added the meatballs to it. They set up nicely from that point. I doubled the recipe and also used dried minced onion in an effort to save time. This dish is easily kept warm when I was waiting for my sidedishes to finish. I transerred the cooked meatballs and gravy to a glass bowl and microwaved just before serving. Thank you, ChipotleChick!!! ~Jeff's Girl Way Out West

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      THe were divine, and I am making them again for our Holiday Open House in December...Wonderful flavor, TY!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2005

      Oh my gosh the last time I ate this, I was a kid! I really wanted to make this recipe with my child and that is exactly what I did, and we had lot's of fun making the meatballs! This is really great and I served it along with mashed potatoes and a salad. Thanks so much Chipotlechick..... love your name ChipotleChick

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Porcupine Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 351.7
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    47%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 123.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 685.7 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites