58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were yummy... I had to add some breadcrumbs because the mixture seemed a bit soft and they turned out beautiful!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trppicana April 04, 2003

these were so easy to make and they were quite tasty,my 2 year old ate it up and anything we can get him to eat is a winner in our book we will make this again thanks

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Range Rover April 02, 2003

Exactly the recipe I was looking for! I hadn't had "porkypine balls" since I was a little kid and just got a craving for them. The only thing I did differently was bake them covered at 350 for an hour (my mom's directions for nearly all recipes) instead of cooking them on the stove top. They came out perfectly! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzeeQ May 24, 2010

Tasted like little meatloaves(balls). They fell apart, but no biggie, just made the gravy taste even better. I served with peas and yeast rolls-YUM! I will make again. Also, I made about 8 large meatballs.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth September 03, 2003

These turned out great! I did things a little differently. I am only giving 4 stars because I am not too fussed on using canned soups for anything. In the future I will see about making my own tomato soup first or adapting the ingredients that would go into the soup to make this. I tripled the recipe to take to a 'pot luck'. Recipe didn't say anything about browning them first but I did brown them in batches and then added them to my pressure cooker and set it for like 25 mins. I think the major mistake there was that the bottom got burnt because I wasn't able to stir it frequently so next time I will put them in the slow cooker. By the way I didn't get to bring any leftovers home from the event I made them for. Thanks for exposing me to my first porcupine meat balls ChipolteChick!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YnkyGrlDwndr March 11, 2013

Delicious - thanks so much for posting!! :) I made this with 1 1/2 pounds ground beef - 1/2 cup rice - added an 8 oz can of tomato paste - and an extra egg. Seriously - so yummy - thank you! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbiedavies@gmail.com February 28, 2013

very good. i doubled it but cooked it in the oven like another person did. came out pretty dry so added extra water about 10 min before serving. came out fine. kids loved it. next time i will add more water since the rice isnt cooked berfore cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marjiepi April 03, 2011

We like our sauce a little sweeter (and plentiful) so we doubled the tomato soup and added 4 T of brown sugar and 2 T lemon juice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liottalaw March 27, 2011

This is a lovely, classic recipe and I'm so glad to see that it hasn't been altered by time to include crazy ingredients! We've been enjoying these meatballs for decade and have them as they are and also by adding them to cabbage soup. Easy, inexpensive and fantastic taste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef February 08, 2010

This is really good comfort food, and not just for kids!! I added a bit of garlic powder to the meat mixture, scooped it out with my cookie scoop. To the tomato soup, I added a can of water instead of the called for 1/2 cup, and an 8-oz can of Tomato sauce. I followed hints and placed into boiling sauce, and turned gingerly once. They were everything bragged about. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 August 21, 2009
Porcupine Meatballs