Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Porcupine Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Porcupine Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2002

      These are great! I cooked them in a large frypan with a lid and drop the meatballs in after I get the sauce simmering. The meatballs stay intact better this way. My kids love these. UPDATE: Fixed these again tonight and was inspired to add in a teaspoon or so of "Emeril's Essence". Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      This is a great make-ahead recipe for my bunco potlucks. I added a tsp of Italian Seasoning for a change and liked it. Very easy and Freezes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2002

      This recipe was very yummy, and very easy. I wanted to cook this in the oven, so I cooked it at 350-375 degrees for about 45 min. I served it with mashed potatoes and steamed carrots. My family loved it. My daughter gave this a 5 and she is very picky (unfortunately)Mandyj

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      I love this recipe, and so does my super-picky son! I've made these several times now. Each time, I've substituted ground turkey for the ground beef and added 1/4 cup oats to the mix to compensate for the extra moisture in the turkey. It comes out great this way! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe exactly (aside from the meat switch,) and they were yummy over rice. The second time, I used Cream of Mushroom soup for a different taste, and they were great over wide egg noodles. The third time, tonight, I swapped Italian Seasoning for the parsley, omitted the water, and added a can of chopped tomatoes, with juice, to the soup and Worscestershire sauce, then served them over rice again, although pasta would have been good too. I've really enjoyed this recipe, and it's now my standard meatball dish. It's infinitely customizable, simple, and the whole family loves it! Next time, I think I'll use Golden Mushroom or Onion soup and serve with mashed potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe, Amber Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      Great and easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I cooked these for dinner tonight, and the kids loved them. (used instant rice instead of long rice) My mom taught me how to cook these the way she did in a pressure cooker. As you can imagine that is not an option for me these days. Bless my mom for buying me a pressure cooker with the thinking i would actually use it. (I did and burnt it beyond repair on the first use!) I doubled this recipe since my daughter had a friend over and my son has a healthy appetite. I added a bit of crushed garlic also and the instant rice worked out better for me since all my dealing with regular rice and this dish have never worked and left the rice uncooked. Thanks we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      These meatballs were really good! The only problem I had was that my frying pan was too big. When I put the sauce over the meatballs they were't covered all the way so they took an15 extra minutes to cook. I will make these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Oh thank you! My mother made this when I was a child and I've been trying to find the recipe. This isn't QUITE it but it's VERY close. To address Chef#442170 's concern, my mother browned the meatballs before adding liquid that might help, hers were never mushy. She also added rice to the liquid mixture so she had a "italian rice" type thing for a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      Just what I was hunting for. Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Mine were very mushy, not sure what I did wrong. But they were still really tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      This was alright. After 40 minutes, there wasn't a lot of sauce left, but I did have my lid vented a little. Next time I think I'll use two cans of whatever soup I use; Kandake's idea of mushroom soup sounds good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      These have become the meatball of choice in our house. I normally crumble the hamburger when making spaggetti sauce but now everyone wants meatballs!! TY Amber!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      These were easy to make, and very good. My extremly picky kids ate them...which was a shock since 2 out of 3 pretty much refuse to eat meat. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      I froze these, and they were great to pull out and add to soups. Don't cook them too long though or they will fall apart. These are a good comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      This is a great recipe, very easy to make and everyone loved it!! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      This is the best! My family loved it, there was no left overs!!!! This is a keeper Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      Tried these for supper last night. I give this 5 and wish i could rate it higher. Certainly did"nt deserve a 2 like someone else gave you. Thanks for this recipe and i will try it again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      my mother always used this recipe! I haven't had it in ages, and will make this for supper tonight. I think she added a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      I thought this recipe turned out a bit on the drab side. My family ate them but they don't want to have them again. Sorry to be the only negative response, but that was just our take on them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Porcupine Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.1
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    38%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 120.2 mg
    40%
    Sodium 550.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites