25 Reviews

Tasted great! As many of the reviewers did, I used Vanilla extract instead of butter flavoring. I used whole pecans as the nuts.

As much as I loved the result, I think the recipe itself needs some reviewing. It doesn't specify what heat to cook the caramel on. Also, I found a 10-oz package of popcorn to be WAY too much. The recipe in its singular form will not coat that much popcorn.

I would suggest either doubling the caramel recipe, or halving the popcorn.

Thank you for sharing! A revise may help with future viewers' confusion!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wifeypoo December 19, 2011

I sampled Ruth's gift to Martha and was restricted to only two handfulls. I've got the recipe, now, and will no longer be limited to how much I can eat. Ha, ha, ho, ho, hee, hee!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tom frazee December 29, 2010

This is DIVINE!! It really should be re-named Poppy Crack because it's so addicting. One bite and you're hooked for good. I took the advice of other reviewers and popped 2 regular sized bags of butter microwave popcorn. I slowly cooked the syrup to the boiling point, then added 1 & 1/2 cups of peanuts. I then poured 1/2 of the syrup over one bag-full of popcorn at a time, into a large bowl. This ensured all corn would be covered. Definitely spray your cookie sheets to prevent "stickage". I bagged up 12 individual-sized bags for gifts to teacher friends and we had enough left over to snack on at home. There were many smiles today at school because of this, Nimz! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick December 12, 2009

YUMMY, Yummy, Yummy, this is delicious. I used 2 packages of mircowave popcorn, then made as stated. Using almonds, peanuts, walnuts, and pecans as nuts of choice. I lined the cookie sheets with release foil, easy cleanup and the poppy cock didn't stick to it. I know that the GrandKids will love it. Thank you Dcmac for the recipe, this will be a regular at our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz December 22, 2004

Great popcorn! I made two batches of fresh-popped popcorn in my Whirleypop (total of 1c. unpopped popcorn and 4Tbsp canola oil). I skipped the butter flavoring and added a large bag of walnuts. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover December 13, 2012

This recipe is so delicious! I left the nuts out because of allergies, but drizzled it with bittersweet chocolate once it was cooled. I can imagine this would be hard to stop eating without the chocolate, but now-YUM! I popped 1/2 cup of white corn in 3 Tbs. of coconut oil and I think the amount of popcorn to glaze is perfect. I sprayed foil covered cookie sheets with butter flavored Pam and had no problems with sticking. I think the butter/brown sugar mixture should be boiled at medium heat for 5 minutes so it will be sure to dissolve the sugar crystals. That wasn't very clear in the directions. Very glad I doubled this so we have enough for gifts and us too! Thanks for a wonderful recipe Nimz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elisaw December 11, 2012

Made this @ Christmastime....very delicious! I did add a little vanilla also. Made one recipe with pecans, & one plain recipe. My family LOVED it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herb607 January 10, 2011

Must add another glowing review! Let me tell you, I hate popcorn in any form, except I couldn't stop eating this! LOL I did make it dairy free by using 1/2 C coconut oil and 1/2 C Earth Balance and used vanilla instead of butter extract. I popped 1 C of kernels on the stove and added 2 C of peanuts. Addictive! Made for Fav's of 2009 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead March 01, 2010

An easy, delicous, addictive treat. We made this to give as gifts for Christmas. There was no amt on nuts We added 2 Cups of nuts per batch. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn December 24, 2009

This was tasty and easy. Update: Took this to the neighbors for our annual food swap and they all loved it. The only change I would make would be to use lots more nuts. I used pecans and peanuts

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family December 20, 2009
Poppycock