Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poppycock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poppycock

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2010

      I sampled Ruth's gift to Martha and was restricted to only two handfulls. I've got the recipe, now, and will no longer be limited to how much I can eat. Ha, ha, ho, ho, hee, hee!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This is DIVINE!! It really should be re-named Poppy Crack because it's so addicting. One bite and you're hooked for good. I took the advice of other reviewers and popped 2 regular sized bags of butter microwave popcorn. I slowly cooked the syrup to the boiling point, then added 1 & 1/2 cups of peanuts. I then poured 1/2 of the syrup over one bag-full of popcorn at a time, into a large bowl. This ensured all corn would be covered. Definitely spray your cookie sheets to prevent "stickage". I bagged up 12 individual-sized bags for gifts to teacher friends and we had enough left over to snack on at home. There were many smiles today at school because of this, Nimz! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      YUMMY, Yummy, Yummy, this is delicious. I used 2 packages of mircowave popcorn, then made as stated. Using almonds, peanuts, walnuts, and pecans as nuts of choice. I lined the cookie sheets with release foil, easy cleanup and the poppy cock didn't stick to it. I know that the GrandKids will love it. Thank you Dcmac for the recipe, this will be a regular at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      Great popcorn! I made two batches of fresh-popped popcorn in my Whirleypop (total of 1c. unpopped popcorn and 4Tbsp canola oil). I skipped the butter flavoring and added a large bag of walnuts. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      This recipe is so delicious! I left the nuts out because of allergies, but drizzled it with bittersweet chocolate once it was cooled. I can imagine this would be hard to stop eating without the chocolate, but now-YUM! I popped 1/2 cup of white corn in 3 Tbs. of coconut oil and I think the amount of popcorn to glaze is perfect. I sprayed foil covered cookie sheets with butter flavored Pam and had no problems with sticking. I think the butter/brown sugar mixture should be boiled at medium heat for 5 minutes so it will be sure to dissolve the sugar crystals. That wasn't very clear in the directions. Very glad I doubled this so we have enough for gifts and us too! Thanks for a wonderful recipe Nimz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Tasted great! As many of the reviewers did, I used Vanilla extract instead of butter flavoring. I used whole pecans as the nuts.

      As much as I loved the result, I think the recipe itself needs some reviewing. It doesn't specify what heat to cook the caramel on. Also, I found a 10-oz package of popcorn to be WAY too much. The recipe in its singular form will not coat that much popcorn.

      I would suggest either doubling the caramel recipe, or halving the popcorn.

      Thank you for sharing! A revise may help with future viewers' confusion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Made this @ Christmastime....very delicious! I did add a little vanilla also. Made one recipe with pecans, & one plain recipe. My family LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Must add another glowing review! Let me tell you, I hate popcorn in any form, except I couldn't stop eating this! LOL I did make it dairy free by using 1/2 C coconut oil and 1/2 C Earth Balance and used vanilla instead of butter extract. I popped 1 C of kernels on the stove and added 2 C of peanuts. Addictive! Made for Fav's of 2009 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      An easy, delicous, addictive treat. We made this to give as gifts for Christmas. There was no amt on nuts We added 2 Cups of nuts per batch. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This was tasty and easy. Update: Took this to the neighbors for our annual food swap and they all loved it. The only change I would make would be to use lots more nuts. I used pecans and peanuts

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I said to DH "This is good huh?" and he said "Excellent!" It is a bit difficult to turn even though I made it in a jelly roll pan. I used convection oven at 200 degrees for an hour. I also subbed half smart balance butter in lieu of regular butter. This would be a great thing for a cookie exchange as it would be something different and this recipe makes quite a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      HELP!! Someone please stop me before I eat this whole pan!! Oh my goodness this is better than I ever expected when I started! I used buttered microwave popcorn and almonds & peanuts and followed the recipe exactly! This is TERRIFIC! Sorry this is short but I need to leave the house so I don't eat the whole blasted bowl!! Thanks (I think my hips won't) for posting it! So glad I tagged it in the Sweet Traditions Tag Event!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Plus a whole lot more. The only problem with this is not being able to stop munching on it. I used a regualr sized and two mini bags of microwave popcorn. I added pecans, slivered almonds and cashews. This was a HUGE hit . Definite keepr and going in my Divine recipes cookbook Made for Zaar Stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Made a half batch of this last night. I LOVE poppycock! I used 2 qts fresh popped corn and 2 1/2 cups mixed nuts. I thought that the caramel mixture was JUST ENOUGH to cover this ammount. My advice would be start off at the low end of the popcorn, you can always add more, but you can't take away! I'm so glad that I now know the secret to crispy poppycock and popcorn balls is baking them!! I have to admit, I never would have known. The taste of this is dead on to REAL poppcock! The only reason I refrain from 5 stars is the ammount of corn -which would/could be to much if not careful. The other half of the jury is still out (sent some to work with BF) Will report back with any extra comments! Oh also, I used rum extract/a touch of vanilla and it was fine. AND GREASE YOUR SHEETS!Thank You Nimz! Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      My husband and I don't like poppycock, but I was looking for a snack I could make to give out at Christmas and I found this recipe. Well after the first batch came out of the oven we tried it and were instantly hooked. The people in my office are calling it Poppy-crack because it's so addictive. Instead of adding butter flavoring I just used microwavable popcorn with butter flavor in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This is a wonderful and addictive snack!! I only made 1/4 of the recipe and didn't use the butter flavoring, as I didn't have any on hand. I took a portion for me to have and then put the rest in a ziplock bag. Bad part is that I keep going back and unzipping that bag!!! Thanks for sharing Nimz! Made for stars tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      OMG! This is Super-Delicious! I think it's going to spoil my dinner :) I followed the directions exactly and added almonds and blanched peanuts. I didn't have anything to line the cookie sheets with and it did stick but I'll be ready next time! Fairly easy and very fun to make. Thanks Nimz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      The taste was wonderful, and I had to give a bunch away, so that I wouldn't eat it all. Alot of one batch got into a big popcorn ball which wasn't that fun to negotiate with. I'll be making it again when I have lots of people to help me eat it : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      THANK YOU DPG sister!!! Talk about melt ion your mouth goodness....this was DELICIOUS & saved me from passing out while sitting in traffic on I95 in So. CT! I'll have to make some now! xoxoxo Bethie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      #1, Congrats of the football pool win!! I will be making this recipe ALOT. Was easy and tasted great!! I'm also thinking of adding to my Christmas baskets. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poppycock

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 959.6
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    26%
    Total Fat 28.7 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 15.2 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 610.6 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 168.3 g
    56%
    Dietary Fiber 18.2 g
    72%
    Sugars 60.1 g
    240%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    butter flavoring

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes