Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poppy Seed Roll (Makowiec) & Bread Machine Method Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poppy Seed Roll (Makowiec) & Bread Machine Method

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2010

      I baked it a little longer as the inside was not ready yet and it got a little hard on the outside but that is just ok. I used homemade filling which worked excellent. Thank you for sharing and Happy Easter 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Absolutely fantastic! Made it for Christmas Day brunch and it was heavenly. First time I have attempted a poppy seed roll of any kind. Mine too seemed to be cooking too fast at 425 though, so I did adjust the temp half way through. I also went the easy route and used pre made poppy seed filling. Looks like I am making one tomo for New Years Day too! Everyone's begging for more. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I thought this was very good. May have like it more if I didn't have to make my own filling. Too much labor is a downer in a recipe. I don't know that this will get me hooked on poppy seeds but I enjoyed it. Directions were excellent. I had trouble with my homemade filling...this was very difficult to roll up. I just ended up doing the best I could and throwing it in a loaf pan. Could have baked less time then the 30 minutes. Family liked it. Thanks for posting. Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      Awesome recipe! I made this for a traditional Polish Easter dinner and EVERYONE raved about it! I added some ground almonds to the poppy seed filling along with about 1/4 cup raisins and a tiny bit of honey. I had to bake it on a cookie sheet as I couldn't find those wonderful pans that Rita uses - it worked well! Thanks Rita!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      I love this receipe. Nothing in the store comes close. I start collecting cans of poppy seed filling through out the year when on sale to keep up the demand for the Easter Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      This was a terrific recipe except for the baking temperature. We had to make the recipe twice because the first batch burned at 425 degrees. We have a thermometer in the oven and know that our oven temp. is correct. The second batch was baked at 325 degrees and came out perfect.I loved the instructions to rise and bake on a french bread pan. It helped the bread maintain it's perfect shape. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      This recipe was fantastic! I made it for friends who are originally from Poland, and they absolutely loved it! The only thing I changed was to add nuts and raisins because they had mentioned that they liked it that way. I thought it would be very difficult to make but it was a breeze! I will definitely make it again! Thanks you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      I tried this twice and could not get the dough right. It's my first try at making makowiec. I wanted to impress my tata for our first Christmas without mama. I don't know what I did wrong as I followed the directions exactly. I will have to try another recipe. Sorry Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

      Thank you Rita!I have searched all over the place for a great poppyseed roll recipe and this is it! The dough is so easy to work with and I had 2 great rolls in no time! Fantastic! I also used your poppyseed filling. :) Thank you so much for sharing this with us! KUDOS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2004

      This is the best recipe for Poppy Seed Bread I have ever had. I got this recipe from Rita a while ago and I make Poppy seed bread a couple of times during the year. This recipe is my husband favorite and he ask me to make it for him. This recipe is easy and can make a lot of differnt types of breads. Keep up the good work Rita and send us more of your GREAT RECIPES. Rita is a Gourmet cook, I've known Rita for several years and she is a GREAT GREAT COOK. Your friend, Dolly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2004

      This was really, really good Rita. I made this with your filling. Everyone who tasted this loved it. Thank you for an amazing bread making and eating experience. The instructions were good and I would love to try more bread recipes from you. I also liked your mum's review and I feel it reinforces what I learned about you.:) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      Best Makowiec ever!!! I didn't even had to bake it, I get one from Rita few times a year and love it. Rita, my daughter is a great cook, great baker and a great friend to everyone she meets. And I love her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poppy Seed Roll (Makowiec) & Bread Machine Method

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.4
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    18%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 23.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 164.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites