Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poppy Seed Muffins

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2002

      Karen Monahan selected this recipe for Zaar Tag and when I was updating the status list, I couldn't help but think this would be perfect with Eve's [recipe=12516]Asparagus Soup[/recipe] for dinner tonight. Was I ever right! I already had it half thrown together when I realized it called for sour cream and I was fresh out...oops...so I needed a substitute (no time to run to town to get some at the grocery store). Well, I always have fresh buttermilk on hand. Since buttermilk is thick, but not as thick as sour cream, I used 1 cup buttermilk and omitted the 2 tablespoons of milk called for in the recipe to compensate. I also didn't want to lose any poppy seeds to the liquid ingredients bowl, so I mixed them in with the dry ingredients rather than the liquid ingredients as instructed. It worked beautifully. I didn't have time to wait for two pans of muffins to go through the oven, so I filled the muffin cups 1/2 full and made 12 rather than 18 muffins, then stood nervously watching to see if they were going to run over (I just cleaned the oven a few days ago--even if it was a self-clean turn of the dial). They didn't run over...whew...I got lucky...and it was so cool watching them go through the process of baking. They turned out beautiful and were the perfect compliment to Eve's soup. Thank you for sharing a really delightful muffin recipe with me Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      very quick to put together and they were done in 20 minutes. we all enjoyed them for a nice sunday breakfast treat. our 4 sons were happy they could get three each since it made 18 muffins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      These came out delicious. Very faint lemony flavor and much less dense than other muffins I have made. These almost have a cake-like texture and it goes well with the flavors. I was very surprised at how light these came out because the batter is very thick and heavy. I mixed the poppy seeds in with the flour mixture, because I thought that the recipe did not say when to add them. Afterwards, I realized that they were supposed to go with the wet ingredients, but this did not seem to change anything! I filled my muffin cups 3/4 full (1/2 seemed too little) and I got 16 cupcake sized muffins. They took 20 minutes exactly. Thanks for posting this tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      Good solid recipe. I made mini-muffins and my Sunday School classes enjoyed the.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      It was good, but a bit too lemony for my taste; needed more vanilla. I subsituted greek yogurt for sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      These were good, used light sour cream, 1/8 c oil, 1/4 c+ 2 Tbs applesauce and almond extract instead of lemon. Took about 21 min to bake, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I really enjoyed these muffins. I did make a bit of a change. I added a bit of lemon yest to the batter then mixed a bit of lemon juice and sugar together and drizzeled over the top for a bit of a glaze. I made them for Xmas morning, they were very well received. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Very tasty. We substituted half whole wheat flour for more flavor, texture, and fiber. They still rose nicely and had a slight crispness to the edges. Mmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Nice texture. I used a full tsp. of Lemon Extract and I think I could have used another teaspoon. But overall they are great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      These were simple to put together & was done in no time. I used the zest and juice of one lemon that was on hand. Turned out great but mild. Seems like you can go crazy with the lemon and not over power these. Thanks for posting. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      The only reason this gets 4 stars is because the lemon flavor is so mild. Otherwise this is an amazing muffin! I like big mushroom topped muffins, so I filled the tins to the top, making 10 muffins. Great texture(very light and fluffy) and flavor, even though I prefer a stronger lemon flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Really an outstanding muffin. I had never used sour cream in a dough batter before (gosh) and was eager to see the outcome - Absolutely amazing how this all blended beautifully and the end result was in my families' words "mmmm, mmmm (mouth full) are there more? Thank you for sharing this recipe. (This recipe made 24 good sized muffins) 5 thumbs up and highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      Very delicious and easy to make! I used a small bundt cake pan and added a lemon glaze on top. Makes a great dessert with the topping. The only thing I will do differently next time is to add a bit more lemon extract. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      Yum! Real easy recipe. I made it into 3 mini loaves as mentioned in an earlier review. I didn't have enough sour cream so used all plain yogurt & it turned out just fine. I also did 1 tsp. of lemon extract & it still didn't taste very lemony, it smelled great though in the bread. I enjoyed this & will be making it again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      I used mini loaf pans and it made 3. The texture is spectacular, so light and fluffy. I had to use lemon oil instead of lemon extract, so it could be because of that... but the lemon flavour is very mild- i might add more next time. Other than that i followed the recipe and its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      I substituted flour for cornflour making it gluten free. They came out very light and fluffy. I also couldn't find the muffin tins so used two loaf tins and cooked them for 30min. Great simple recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2004

      All I have to say is YUMMMY! I used low fat sourcream, and added 1 Tbsp more poppy seeds and a 1/4 tsp more lemon extract. These taste as good as the bakery, they have a great texture. I made 12 muffins and 1 mini loaf (loaf took a little longer to bake.). Really pleased....Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poppy Seed Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (905 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.2
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    49%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 29.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 138.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes