10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hi Di Neal; Made your dressing last night and thoroughly enjoyed it over nice, young, spinach along with some shredded radish, finely chopped onion and 2 finely chopped garlic cloves. The flavor and taste of the dressing was super-great. However, I increased the onion juice to 2 teaspoons, increased the dry mustard to 2 teaspoons and increased the cider vinegar to 1/2 cup. I used extra virgin olive oil, First Press, Cold Press. I found that the dressing was just a bit too sweet for me. Served 4 of us and they just raved about it. Thank you for sharing. "Uncle Bill"

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
William (Uncle Bill) Anatooskin April 24, 2003

What a yummy dressing. Didn't have any onion juice so I added diced onions instead. I served this over some chopped cabbage (coleslaw would work great also). Next time I will add some shredded carrots, radishes or other veggies. I used my Magic Bullet to whip it real good. Turned out thick and creamy. Will be making again. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 November 17, 2013

Very Good! I put this on romaine lettuce with candied almonds. I kept out the poppy seeds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef yummy yum yum! January 31, 2010

This poppy seed dressing was the best I've ever had. I served it on a salad of romaine hearts, with mandarin oranges, pineapple tidbits, blueberries, sliced strawberries and toasted pecans. It is much like Panera's Summer Strawberry Salad. I accidentally put garlic powder in, when I meant to use onion powder in place of the onion juice. It worked well that way too. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F July 23, 2009

We love cider vinegar and this was a nice change from our usualy ranch dressing. Didn't know where to get onion juice, so just pulverized some fresh onion to get some. Thanks for sharing! Made for PAC 09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaEllen April 23, 2009

great salad dressing, I used it for tortellini fruit salad...yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc May 08, 2007

This was very good. I brought it to our Thursday night potluck to serve with Spinach and Strawberry salad (Spinach and Strawberry Salad). It was enjoyed by all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaime in Winnipeg April 14, 2005

Great dressing,one that I've made many times over. Time to be allotting stars for this terrific recipe that has been added to my family recipe book. I have made it using the sugar and substituting with Splenda as well. I have been using both 1/3 cup as well as a half a cup of Splenda when making ... both suit our tastes very well. We love this dressing. Thanks you for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry February 11, 2005

mmmmmm.....this was so good. I served it with #26511 Tortellini Fruit Salad, and it was a huge hit. I did substitute Splenda for the sugar, since I'm diabetic, and it was VERY good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted June 06, 2004

This was an absolutely great dressing. Will certainly be making this many times. I enjoyed the sweet yet tart taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 March 28, 2003
Poppy Seed Dressing