Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poppy Seed Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poppy Seed Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2009

      I love this recipe but I use uncooked chicken breast tenders instead of pre-cooking my chicken, which is so much easier. I bake as directed and it comes out perfectly delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Wonderful recipe, very quick to put together and it tastes like you've slaved all day. Served over white rice and added a bedo of broccoli before layering the chicken. Also added salt, pepper and a smidge of garlic powder. Will make again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Excellent. So easy to put together and flavors were spot on. I used a pre-cooked chicken that I purchased at the store which added a lot of flavor. Used low-fat soup and light sour cream to lower the calories some. Used whole wheat Ritz Crackers which I really liked. Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      One of my favorite casseroles! I by mistake picked up 1 can of Cream of Chicken and 1 can of Cream of Celery, but it totally worked! Yummy! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      I made this on Saturday for our dinner with every dish having "poppy seeds" in it (a total of 6 dishes including Annacia's My Lightened Veggie Version of Poppy Seed Chicken (which is how I found your recipe), several sides and a dessert). I am still on "poppy seed" over-dose. I poached 2 large bone-less, skin-less chicken breasts for this. I followed the recipe exactly, except I cut it in half and baked it in an 8x8 baking dish. We loved it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      This casserole is comfort food at it's best! I'm so glad that I'll have leftovers to enjoy through the weekend. The topping really smells wonderful as it cooks. I added garlic powder, freshly ground black pepper and a tiny pinch of cayenne to give it a "kick". The only other change I made was to mix the soup/sour cream mixture (with a touch of chicken stock which I also used to poach the chicken breasts) with egg noodles and I layered it on the bottom along with the chicken. It turned out really great! Hope I didn't change it up too much : ). Made for PRMR, October, 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      I prepared my breasts in the oven with a bit of butter and chicken seasoning. I also put about 1 1/2 cups of cheddar on the top, before the crackers. I was afraid it would taste like chicken spaghetti, but it did NOT! Everyone in my family loves it served over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      Very good!! My family of picky eaters loved it!! I cut the chicken into bite size pieces before I cooked it and added salt, pepper and garlic powder. I kept everything else the same and served over whole wheat egg noodles. Will keep this recipe on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Made this for dinner tonight and dh and ds and I really enjoyed it. I served it over noodles and added a bit of salt and pepper. I also used a roll and a half of ritz crackers but left all the other ingredient's the same. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      this was so great! my mom used to make this when i was a kid. i made a double batch, one for us and another pan for my step sister who is visiting with her family. i made buttered noodles and roasted broccoli to go along with this. the only change i made was to use club crackers instead of ritz. mmmm-mmmm!! ;) we will be making this again for sure. yummy, comforting dish! made for zaar stars tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      YUM, yum, Yum, Yummers!!! This is a fantastic recipe! The only slight modification was I used a chicken with herbs cream soup and pan fried the cubed chicken with a bit of garlic & pepper grinder. Fabulous dinner tonight over egg noodles and served with broccoli & cauliflower and some wheat rolls. Our tummies are all happy and I thank you from the bottom of mine for this wonderful easy and cost efficient recipe! Tagged in Zaar Stars tag game!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Made some variations but it was great! I had to use cream of celery because I ran out of cream of chicken and I forgot about the butter. The only thing would be for me to maybe halve the sauce because most of us felt it was too much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      How easy can you get :D. I used veggie "chicken" strips along with low fat soup and fat free sour cream and drizzled a small amount of olive oil (maybe a tsp - to a tsp and a half) over the crackers (saltines) and it was absolutely delicious. YUMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I have eaten a recipe similar to this, but never made it. I needed to take a meal to a friend who just had a baby. I chose this because it was easy and I knew it was good. The family raved about it and now she wants the recipe. Big hit! Thanks for making me look good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Great recipe- we loved it! I will definitely make it again- probably often. I used a rotisserie chicken which I deboned and chopped, and then used the bones and skin and the rotisserie juices to flavor the broth for the noodles. A new family favorite for sure! Thanks, diner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This really couldn't be simpler,and it tastes great.Perfect for those days when you really aren't up to spending ages in the kitchen.Next time I might well throw in a few veggies like sweetcorn or green beans,just to make it even more of a one pot meal. A great recipe requiring few ingredients and minimum effort-has to be a winner! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Wonderful and unique! The only change I made was to cube the raw chicken, season with Mrs. Dash, and saute' in a skillet before proceeding. This is very simple to make and we love that it's a one-dish meal. A definite kid pleaser as well. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      I can't believe how delicious this was for how easy it was to make! I loved the creaminess with the buttery crunch of the crackers. I used precooked chicken strips because I was feeling extra lazy today, and it worked wonderfully. When I was making it my husband was nervous because he didn't think there was enough "stuff" going into it, but he loved it too. Both of us give this a solid 5 stars. I will keep this in my cookbooks for sure. Perfect for a night I don't feel like going to much work for supper! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      My roommate introduced me to this recipe 3 years ago and it is one of my favorite comfort foods! Although I've eaten it many times, this was my first attempt at making it for myself and a coworker. We both loved it! It is the exact recipe my roomie uses except she adds a package of slivered almonds. (It's a great addition!) Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, diner! Into "My 50 Favorite Comfort Foods" cookbook it goes. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      this is a recipe that you will use over and over very simple and good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poppy Seed Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 826.2
     
    Calories from Fat 567
    68%
    Total Fat 63.0 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 32.5 g
    162%
    Cholesterol 244.6 mg
    81%
    Sodium 1653.8 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 43.6 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites