Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poppy Seed Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poppy Seed Chicken

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2002

      This is a really delicious chicken dish! I added some chopped broccoli to make it more colorful. Peas would also be a good addition. Very easy to make, and good enough for company! Thanks Tiffanee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Yummy! Great quick meal for the family. I roast bone-in chicken with the skin (drizzle olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt and pepper on skin prior to cooking) for 35 minutes at 425 degrees. This technique makes moist and tender chicken that I prefer in casseroles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      This was good, but very rich with the double butter & crackers that you said you use. I'll try it again without that. Good for freezing though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      Great comfort food. I was making 2 dishes to take to a friend and one for my family, so I doubled the recipe. I used 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, mixed it together and divided it among the two dishes. It was fabulous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2014

      This was a nice and easy casserole to make. I omitted 1/2 cup of sour cream to cut some fat content. I also upped the oven temperature to 400 as it was too soggy at 30 minutes and baked it for an hour total.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      So quick and easy to make- love dishes like this. While I prefer not to cook with condensed soups (mainly because of salt), I did happen to have everything on hand, so figured why not!? I used Chobani plain greek yogurt in place of sour cream (love that stuff!) The men in my family gave it hands-down 5 star reviews. The women, however, thought it too rich (guess I should not have doubled the butter/Ritz, as another reviewer seemed to have the same sentiment). All in all, a nice dish to serve with very little effort. If I were to make this again, I would definitely want to throw in a veggie for color and to "up" the nutrition a little. Also, there seems to be some great suggestions in the reviews that I'd also like to try. At any rate, thanks for a great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      This is a regular at our house. We really like the taste, and it is quick and easy to prepare. I buy a rotisserie chicken at the store and cut it up. I use 2 cups for this recipe, then freeze the rest in 2 cup portions for the next time we want to eat this yummy casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      The flavor is very good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      mmmmmm..awesome recipe..my husband requested this dish one day..i knew i had the recipe saved..super easy to make and it tastes fantastic..this will now be in our dinner rotation for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Flavor is very good. Very soupy. I can see why you said you like to double the crackers. Maybe the recipe should be changed to reflect that, or perhaps should say to serve over rice or noodles. Flavor is great and I will make again, will probably double the chicken or make as is and serve over noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      This is exactly how I make it! A dear friend showed it to me 18 years ago. It's not figure friendly by any stretch, but it IS pure comfort food! My 6 year old requests it as his "special" meal for any occasion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      SIMPLY WONDERFUL! I used two cans of white meat chicken breast to save time. I was really good and simple. Served with rice. Thanks for sharing. My DH loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      We used leftover mojo chicken from publix and served with green beans rolls and mashed potatos..yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Tasty and very rich. I think next time I, too, will add peas. I served leftovers over toast points. Was even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This is one of personal favorites. I also use this recipe whenever I take meals to friends or family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I doubled the crackers like you said and it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Made for PAC, Spring 2007 ~ A great way to use shredded chicken [or pork, or....]! I made the recipe as is & it was great! And, have picked up more ideas from other reviewers to vary it from time to time, since I'll be making this one again & again! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      great recipe... I had received a frozen poppy seed chicken casserole. After cooking it I decided to search for the recipe. Now I will be making this often. I will also double or triple it and put the extra in the freezer. Just don't add the cracker and poppy seed topping until time to bake the casserole. Mary

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Yummy! I tried to lighten up this dish- I used 98% fat free cream of chicken soup and fat free sour cream. Also I left out the butter. Mine wasn't soupy at all but it was still rich and creamy. I will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      Yum, this was delicious! I had 3 cups of diced, cooked turkey, and used it all. It turned out great. Next time, I think I'll add some more chicken, and maybe some broccoli, like Donna M. suggested. This would be a great pot luck dish. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poppy Seed Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 469.8
     
    Calories from Fat 338
    72%
    Total Fat 37.6 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 19.1 g
    95%
    Cholesterol 109.5 mg
    36%
    Sodium 731.4 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes