Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poppy and Sesame Seed Rolls -Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poppy and Sesame Seed Rolls -Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2011

      For those of you in America, I used 4 cups of flour, and 1 stick of butter. These rolls were incredibly soft and rose very well! I didn't get the buttery flavor that the other people mentioned though. My husband thought they were a little on the bland side, but he still gobbled them up with his soup. We made them as a side to Cumin Get It Chicken Soup. The next time I make these I might add a little butter extract and a pinch of garlic salt. Thanks Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Perfect rich, tender rolls. I did as some of the other reviewers suggested and waited until the rolls were in the pan before adding the egg wash and seeds. I used 4 cups of flour, and added a couple of extra tablespoons because my dough was very sticky. I enjoyed them with both types of seeds, but they also work with just the sesame. Great recipe. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      The only change I made was to use black sesame seeds and white sesame seeds. They didn't rise a lot because I guess it was too cold in the kitchen. But they are moist and yummy. Thanks Noo :) Made for PRMR tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      These were great dinner rolls. I had a little difficulty in getting the amount of flour right after converting it to U.S. measuring standards. But I finally got the dough right during the kneading step. And I did as one review suggested and brushed the tops with the egg wash and sprinkled with seeds after I put the rolls in the baking pan. That worked out well. I used both poppy seeds and toasted sesame seeds, and I really liked that combination. My rolls didn't taste very buttery though, but I liked them anyway. I know I'll make these often but will increase the amount of butter a bit. Thanks for a great recipe, Noo. Made for Gimme 5 tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      DELICIOUS BUTTERY ROLLS!!! We loved these rolls. I only made 1/2 the recipe, 8 rolls, which for in the US was 2 cups of flour. I already had the main dish in the oven at 350 degrees, so I cooked these at that temperature for 30 minutes and they were perfect. I made some with the sesame seeds and half with the poppy seeds. Thanks for sharing this wonderful and easy recipe Noo. Made for 123 Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      A fine versatile bread dough that would work well for a lot of uses. You could bake this as a loaf. I used nigella seeds, sesame seeds and golden flax seeds as toppers. I also used 100g whole wheat flour for part of the flour, I think that helps boost the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      These certainly are easy and delicious! Reading an earlier review, I put the rolls in the baking dish before using the egg wash and seeds, and I rolled and shaped them by hand. They turned out perfectly and are very tasty .. DH likes to put butter on them but I like them just like that. Not wanting them to go stale, I have frozen them, today I took one out of the freezer and took it to work, by the time I wanted to eat it, it had defrosted fully and tasted just as good as pre-frozen! This works well for us, and I will make these rolls again, convenient, attractive and good to eat! Thanks, Noo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      These were very easy to make and they turned out delicious. I don't have a kitchen scale, so I looked up online the equivalent of 1 lb. of flour ( my searches said 4 to 4.5 cups) and figured I'd go with the 4.5 cups since the recipe calls for 17 plus ounces. Of course, after the dough was already rising, I noticed that there was an equivalent right on the side of my bag of bread flour, which said 1 lb.=3.5 cups. That said, I don't think my dough was too stiff; I thought it came out perfect and was easy to work with. The rolls did come out a little more dense than I expected (maybe because of the flour), but they were still delicious served with Absolutely the Best Amish Beef Stew and the family gobbled them up. We didn't put butter on them...just used them to dip in the beef stew gravy. I only used seeds on half of the rolls, because half of our family doesn't like them. Also, I swore I had poppy seeds and couldn't find them anywhere, so I used regular and black sesame seeds. My bake time was more like 20 minutes, so make sure you check them early! Thanks for posting this...I'm so glad I tried them and will make them often. (P.S. I did the egg wash, sprinkling and cutting into pieces in that order, but they got kind of messed up when I transferred them to my baking dish. I think next time I'd cut them first, move them to the baking dish and then do the egg wash and seeds.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      These turned out well even though I almost had a catastrophe when I discovered at the end of the initial mixing in the machine that the dough was more like a thick flour soup. Twice I added more flour and started the mixing over again, which could have caused problems as well with overmixing. The resulting dough was still extremely sticky and my DGDS and I had to spray our hands with spray oil to form the rolls. The girls had a ball making the rolls and sprinkling them with the sesame and poppy seeds. The measurement converter here at the website did not give me the correct amount of flour, I'm afraid. In the future I will increase the flour to be at least between 3 to 4 cups of flour. Made for PAC Spring 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poppy and Sesame Seed Rolls -Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (1137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.4
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    30%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 26.8 mg
    8%
    Sodium 274.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes