Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poppin' Jalapeno Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poppin' Jalapeno Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2004

      This bread is OUT OF THIS WORLD! For some reason it took quite a bit longer to raise, but the ending result was just amazing. The flavor is simply delightful, and the texture is fabulous. The outside is nice and crispy, and the inside soft and just perfect. Your instructions are clear, concise, and easy to follow. For some reason I didnt need quite 4 cups of flour. The cheese and jalapenos mixed in very easily. I noticed however that my loaf baked in under 40 minutes. Unfortunately I forget how long it was in for now, but I do know it was under 40 minutes. Fabulous bread. I'll be making this again in a few days for sure!!! lol :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      This bread is just delicious and quick, too. Being an experienced breadmaker, I thought it might be a learning experience to follow the instructions closely for a change. It was. I learned that for this bread, as the recipe says, two rises are not necessary. I also learned that I'm pretty set in my ways. Next time (and there will be more times), I'll mix up the yeast and liquids as stated, add about 1 cup flour, the sugar and salt and beat it by hand. I will then add the other ingredients and the rest of the flour. Then I won't have any beaters or another mixing bowl to wash. That said, the recipe is very good, and I want to thank s'kat for posting it. For what its worth, I needed 1 tablespoon more than 4 1/2 cups flour. The dough was pretty sticky, from the cheese, I think, but I could shape it. I got 16 one and a half ounce rolls and one 8 1/4 oz mini-loaf. BTW, I didn't have garlic salt, so I nuked 1/4 teaspoon grated garlic in the butter and increased the salt by 1/8 teaspoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      The texture of this bread is great! It slices beautifully and would be really good with cream cheese. Too bad it didn't last long enough for me to try that! I made this bread with fresh jalapenos and I think I could have used more, 3 wasn't quite enough. Of course, maybe my peppers weren't as big as the ones s'kat used. All in all, a delicious bread with great flavor. I'll use this recipe again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      I only used 1 jalapeno because while we like the flavor, we didn't want the heat to overpower it. My mistake, it could have used more. I also suggest checking your bread a little early. I am glad I checked on mine at 35 minutes. It was done! I actually could have probably taken it out a minute or two before then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

    • on May 07, 2007

      This is the first bread I ever made with out a bread machine. on a scale from 1 to 10 I give it a 12.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      This bread is delicious and nice and spicy too! My husband and dad loved it as well as some friends! It was a little spicy for me, but if you put cream cheese on top, it is perfect! The grocery store I went to didn't sell small cans of jalapenos, so I bought a medium size jar instead, and it worked out well. Perhaps next time if we want it more mild I will rinse the jalapenos before using, but everyone loved it just as it was, so I don't know. Excellent recipe!! Crowd pleaser!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      This bread is so delicious and so easy too! A friend of DH gave us a bunch of his home-grown jalopenos and habaneros. As a thankyou gesture, I made this bread for him. I left the seeds in since he likes it hotttttt! Surprisingly, the bread wasn't much hotter, but it did take longer to rise (more moisture perhaps) Thanks for this recipe -I've already made it 6 times with different pepper types and quantities, always successful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      This bread is just wonderful and very moist. I made this with all canned jalapenos and mexican blend cheese. It was delicious. I got one regular loaf, and 4 mini loaves. They were so beautiful I had to post a picture! Thanks s'kat, this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2005

      I used this recipe to make cheese-stuffed jalapeno bread buns! The Guys had a Poker party, and this was a huge finger-food success. I took string cheese and rolled it up with small segments of the dough, let it rise for 1.5 hours and baked at 375 for 20 - 25 minutes. Half-way through baking I also basted with some butter to make the outside crispy. When they were browned, I served warm! They were also great later in the evening, cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poppin' Jalapeno Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.7
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    24%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 65.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 633.6 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.6 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes