Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Popeyes Biscuits (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Popeyes Biscuits (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2009

      I used the same ingredients and amounts, but used a muffin pan to bake them in. It made about 10 biscuits, filling each cup half full because they do puff up quite a bit. I increased baking time to 16 minutes so that the top would brown. They were amazing, and almost identical to Popeye's biscuits, though to truly achieve that New Orleans flair, you need to brush melted butter on the top before baking. Thank you for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      Very good, old-fashioned, southern style biscuits, but minus two stars for the fact that they taste NOTHING like Popeye's biscuits.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Very very good biscuit, however not quite Popeyes. I was suprised at the light texture. I will make these a lot! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I had to knead it with a little extra flour and TLC, but they turned out just like popeyes or better. I am hosting a country chicken night for single airmen in the dorms next Sunday, and this is the winning biscuit recipe. Thank you and God bless you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      I received this recipe a few years back from a good friend of my mother's. I use Pioneer Mix and I don't roll them out. Simply put a bit of flour on my hands and pat to the size I want. Then bake in black iron skillets. With my family I triple the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2014

      Made the recipe exactly as stated. I made them different diameters and thicknesses to see which configuration I liked best. It tasted like a scratch biscuit you made at hime, but nothing like Popeye's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      The secret is in the melted butter on top. Don't cheat yourself. That's the Popeye's signature. These were good, but only the top reminded me of Popeye's. Well worth making for dinner, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      I served them to my family without saying anything about what they were supposed to taste like and the first thing my husband said was "these taste like Popeyes biscuits." I pretended like it was purely accidental lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      I love homemade biscuits! These were soo easy. Me and my husband ate every single one! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      I made a vegan version of this recipe and it was delicious. I used soy sour cream and made a bisquick mix, from the recipe on this site. My husband, who used to work at Popeyes, said that it came very close.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      I was very pleased with this recipe, normally i don't care for home made biscuits people make because of the baking powder, or soda taste. This was a perfect recipe for me for taste, and it was very simple, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      I used the ingredients and amounts to the letter and the biscuits came out terrific! I made them oversized so I managed to get 8 large biscuits. I agree, they were amazing, and almost identical to Popeye's biscuits but you do need to brush the tops with butter either before or after baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Great recipe!! I think Popeyes might add honey to the top of their biscuits.If your dough came out too moist,you probably did not compact the bisquick in your measuring cup!DUAH!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I don't know where I went wrong, but mine didn't rise at all! I'm thinking that the sour cream was too warm or something, because I had 2 phone calls when making them. Texture and taste were good though! I'll try them again and rate this recipe then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Thank you. I made these biscuits this evening and they turned out fabulous. I appreciate your sharing the recipe here. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Help! I must have done something wrong. These turned out more like hockey pucks than biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

    • on October 18, 2009

    • on January 25, 2009

      These were ok flavor - not like Popeyes - I had trouble with the consistancy - too wet. So I added more baking mix. I made them twice before I reviewed just to make sure it wasn't something I did. It was very easy, but I have better biscuit recipes. Thanks though for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      They're pretty good and very easy to make, but these are absolutely NOT Popeye's biscuits- not even close.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Popeyes Biscuits (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.9
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    35%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 11.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 670.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    41%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes