Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Popcorn (Stove Top) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Popcorn (Stove Top)

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2009

      I've done this before and it is really good. Lately, however, I have been adding butter in with the oil. It browns and adds a nutty and buttery flavor. Since it mixes with the oil it isn't as susceptible to burning as it is by itself but there is definitely still a risk of burnage. So, be extra sure to keep an eye on it! *Note that browning the butter does impart a different flavor than simply melting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Now this takes me back to being a little girl! Momma made popcorn like this before a good movie came on TV (the Wizard of Oz was my favorite!). My husband and I make this popcorn on our home "Movie night" too: it's become our tradition. The microwave could NEVER make popcorn this GOOD, and this is much cheaper too! I use canola oil with just a bit of butter for flavor, then just some salt. Thanks for sharing a classic. It's simple recipes like these we need to pass on to the next generation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      LOVE THIS. This the only way we make popcorn at our house now. Smells like a movie theater, but not greasy. Light and fluffy but not as tough as air-popped. YUM-YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Yes this is the way to do it. I use coconut oil, (refined so no coconut flavor)and since this oil is so light, it give the popcorn no oily taste. Movie theaters use coconut oil exclusively and in recent years coconut oil has been redeemed as an actually healthy product. I also skip the lid, and use a splatter screen instead to let all of the steam escape, because a tight fitting lid will yield tougher popcorn, and it seemed that I always got some soggy pieces from my lid catching the steam.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      This is the only way to pop popcorn. When someone gives me a popcorn popper, I try it, but it soon gets donated. I've been using this method and recipe for over 50 years. The only thing I don't do is to stir the corn in the oil. I'll try that. Eating a bowl of popcorn before bedtime helps me to sleep. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      oh my gosh at the memories this brought back!! the slumber parties, the sleepovers......movie night around the gigantic console cabinet television......brings a smile to my face......hubbybee and i were just talking about this the other day and how we LOVED when our mommas would be dumping it into a bowl when finished and there was ALWAYS a kernel or two that popped and went flying across the kitchen LOL~ thanks again, bless those good ole days :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      It's been so long since I made stove top popcorn I thought I'd better check. I'd never used oil before - just popped it dry. There seemed to be a lot of oil for half a cup of kernels but I decided to follow instructions... Very glad I did - I currently have two very happy thirteen year-olds watching a film with an enourmous bowl of the most delicious popcorn! (I gave Granddad a small bowl too.) No butter, just a little salt. Thanks for this excellent recipe. x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      I'm a popcorn junkie and didn't realize how easy it was to make it on the stovetop! This has forever changed my snacking habits, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

    • on April 17, 2011

      Let me just start by saying that we eat so much popcorn in our family. I bought a popcorn machine but it was such a pain to pull it out & clean it afterwards that we would just buy the microwave popcorn instead....that is until I discovered how easy it is to pop on the stovetop. I use natural butter flavored grapeseed oil that I purchased from wildtree (wildtree.com) and I also purchased some popcorn seasoning from them as well. I wish I had discovered this method sooner. This is so much healthier than those microwave bags of popcorn that have so many yucky ingredients compared to the popcorn kernels. This also counts as a whole grain serving =0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      perfect. thank you for a great recipe..i seriously wasn't too sure how to make popcorn at home. lol. kids said it's better than the microwavable popcorn that you buy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Fantastic! This is just how my Mom made it... And she was was a real Fanny Farmer fan. Thx for posting! As someone said, those were the days... I can't wait to try some of the olive oil, herb and garlic topping folks came up with. I would really suggest to other posters to try cooking the corn in canola oil instead of say coconut or palm oil if you want to keep this healthy. Read the labels before you choose your oil to stay heart healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      This is the BEST way to make popcorn. ALAS, due to health reasons, i use an airpopper. But every now and then, I revert back to the "old" way and indulge in the best popcorn. My dad used to make popcorn every Sunday night when I was a kid and we would watch the "Wonderful World of Disney." Those were the days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Yup, this is the way. The only thing I would add is that the healthiest oils for high temps are coconut and palm. They have the lowest oxidation factors of any edible oils and therefore are the least toxic at high heats. (The smoke point doesn't tell you much about toxicity.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Like another said, this is the only way I have ever made popcorn since I was a young girl. It's really important to let the steam escape. I only use Orville Redenbacher Popcorn. I keep the lid off until the first kernal pops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      It is highly probable that basic recipes like these have been around for a long time, but for people like me who have either forgotten them, or have not had the luck to have them, their postings are so so appreciated. We have made them regularly since the first time we tried this out to great success. I use the popcorn to make caramel popcorn . Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I've been making popcorn this way for years!!! No Microwave popping corn will ever stand up to home-popped corn. Occasionally, I add garlic salt to the oil and corn before it pops! Delish:) Also, try popping and drizzling melted white chocolate chips over it. Nice surprise because you can't see the chocolate on the corn and it always makes people smile! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      LonghornMama: I eat one bowl of popcorn almost every night (learned that from my Great grandmother over 50 years ago) She lived to a ripe 97 years old) I am 66 and moved to the Philippines 3 years ago. I had to leave my popcorn popper in the states, but soon found a pan and the oil and the popcorn over here....this recipe is what I have used for a long time ....Very Good! ......Papadave Rceipezaar member

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This is the way I make my popcorn too and it works well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This is the only way I have my popcorn. However, I use Orville Redenbacker's butter flavored popcorn oil for the oil and then I don't have to add butter later. I also use superfine salt because it sticks better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Popcorn (Stove Top)

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.1
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    10%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes