35 Reviews

I cut the sauce in half and popped 1 3/4 cups (unpopped) of popcorn. The kids & I ate some popcorn for snack while I was cooking the sauce. At the end, I came out with about 22 balls, compressed into baseball sized balls. The taste is wonderful! This was just enough sauce and the popcorn is still crunchy. I'll be doing this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onemotherslove October 28, 2009

Great recipe. Fun and easy to make with kids, great flavor and they stick together really well. The kids loved them. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Hoylman November 08, 2010

Very yummy. I halved the caramel recipe and popped about 3 cups of popcorn. Used a spatula to get into balls. I also added some sea salt becuase I'm obsessed with sea salt caramel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maribeli November 10, 2014

I agree with previous reviewers: the flavor of the caramel sauce is exquisite. Perfect "real" caramel flavor. I also agree that the ratio popcorn-to-caramel is off: we used 8 qts of popped corn and had 1.5 cups of caramel sauce left over. The reason for my rating is the texture of the finished product (and this may be a matter of preference): I like popcorn balls or caramel corn to be crunchy. This caramel doesn't harden, so the balls don't really "set" or get crunchy. They also remain fairly sticky, which is a bit messy (and off-putting for some adults). While I'll keep this caramel recipe, I'll use my old stand-by, Fannie Farmer, for traditional, crunchy popcorn balls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caromcg October 30, 2012

Great, east recipe. I used 4 bags of microwave popcorn and also tried coloring them (for my son to take to school for his birthday treat). I followed the tips given in some of the reviews here and waited until the syrup was cool enough to handle and it worked great. My only advice would be to those who are considering trying to color the sugar syrup with Jello is to use SUGAR FREE (I tried both kinds and they worked OK, but the sugared kind sort of altered the coating consistency a bit) and to not expect SUPER bright colors because the syrup itself is a light brown. Thanks for posting this! It will be fun to experiment with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama May 23, 2010

These taste great and they stick together nicely. We will definitely make them again. One thing to watch out for: we found that we had to stir vigorously while boiling to prevent burning....the first batch we tried was ruined because we didn't stir continuously even though we used low temperature and a high quality heavy-bottomed pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4sweeper October 31, 2009

I used a little more popcorn than the recipe called for and they turned out great! I had all the neighborhood kids (and their parents) asking for more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dc7676 October 31, 2009

I thought these were really good. I agree that they required a couple extra cups of popcorn added to keep from being too soggy, but tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MdmeGlitz December 15, 2008

i have to agree w/ everyone..my family and i thought this was too soggy and caramely. i mean it doesn't taste bad..but it was just too sweet for our tastes. good taste but not our favorite popcorn ball recipe. maybe if we added more popcorn than suggested it would taste better?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies December 13, 2008

These were pretty easy to make. We did add more popcorn so ours were not soggy. Unfortunately we used margarine because we didn't have butter and I think that affected the taste. We greased our hands with oil, but that didn't work. Once we used pam, we were fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everything Sweet October 31, 2008
Popcorn Balls