Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Popcorn Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Popcorn Balls

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2009

      I cut the sauce in half and popped 1 3/4 cups (unpopped) of popcorn. The kids & I ate some popcorn for snack while I was cooking the sauce. At the end, I came out with about 22 balls, compressed into baseball sized balls. The taste is wonderful! This was just enough sauce and the popcorn is still crunchy. I'll be doing this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Great recipe. Fun and easy to make with kids, great flavor and they stick together really well. The kids loved them. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      I agree with previous reviewers: the flavor of the caramel sauce is exquisite. Perfect "real" caramel flavor. I also agree that the ratio popcorn-to-caramel is off: we used 8 qts of popped corn and had 1.5 cups of caramel sauce left over. The reason for my rating is the texture of the finished product (and this may be a matter of preference): I like popcorn balls or caramel corn to be crunchy. This caramel doesn't harden, so the balls don't really "set" or get crunchy. They also remain fairly sticky, which is a bit messy (and off-putting for some adults). While I'll keep this caramel recipe, I'll use my old stand-by, Fannie Farmer, for traditional, crunchy popcorn balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Great, east recipe. I used 4 bags of microwave popcorn and also tried coloring them (for my son to take to school for his birthday treat). I followed the tips given in some of the reviews here and waited until the syrup was cool enough to handle and it worked great. My only advice would be to those who are considering trying to color the sugar syrup with Jello is to use SUGAR FREE (I tried both kinds and they worked OK, but the sugared kind sort of altered the coating consistency a bit) and to not expect SUPER bright colors because the syrup itself is a light brown. Thanks for posting this! It will be fun to experiment with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      These taste great and they stick together nicely. We will definitely make them again. One thing to watch out for: we found that we had to stir vigorously while boiling to prevent burning....the first batch we tried was ruined because we didn't stir continuously even though we used low temperature and a high quality heavy-bottomed pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      I used a little more popcorn than the recipe called for and they turned out great! I had all the neighborhood kids (and their parents) asking for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      I thought these were really good. I agree that they required a couple extra cups of popcorn added to keep from being too soggy, but tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      i have to agree w/ everyone..my family and i thought this was too soggy and caramely. i mean it doesn't taste bad..but it was just too sweet for our tastes. good taste but not our favorite popcorn ball recipe. maybe if we added more popcorn than suggested it would taste better?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      These were pretty easy to make. We did add more popcorn so ours were not soggy. Unfortunately we used margarine because we didn't have butter and I think that affected the taste. We greased our hands with oil, but that didn't work. Once we used pam, we were fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      These came out well but I agree with Rockstarrachael. I'd add more popcorn next time as the balls were a little "soggy" for me. The taste is great though. If you let the mix cool for a few minutes it gets easier to form the balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Great easy recipe, Thanks! I made these tonight and they came out great. I popped my popcorn using a Whirlipop and I doubled the recipe (two batches). I used a total of 1.5 cups of popcorn (unpopped) and next time if I double again I would make more popcorn to match the "sauce" because my popcorn balls were really caramel-y! Also, I agree with other reviewers to let the popcorn cool for at LEAST 10 minutes before forming into balls. I burned the crap out of my hands more than once and the DH came running upstairs to see what I was screamin about! ha. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      My son and I made these together. they are great everyone that came into the house had one and took one with them. will be making these time and time again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      These turned out great. I only made a half batch and it made 18 popcorn balls. let them cool on wax paper so I didn't have to grease the cookie sheets. thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      i have made 2 batches of these and both came out wonderful. the first batch i was rushing and didn't read instructions closely... threw all ingredients except vanilla and popcorn in pan at once. it still came out great! the recipe is basically "no fail". everyone loves the flavor. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I actually sent this recipe to my husband, and he and the girls made a day out of popcorn ball making! They loved them. I'm not much of a popcorn ball girl, but they said 4-1/2 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Yummy! I used 1 cup unpopped popcorn and got about 15 baseball-sized balls and only needed about half the sauce. I'm saving it to make another batch in a few days. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      These were wonderful! My friend and I used these as a demo for a class. Everyone loved them and couldn't get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I made these this weekend for my daughters first birthday party. They were so great! My husband had 3 after dinner last night! We had a problem with the seeds :) but other than that we will for sure be making them again real soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      These were so good. I let the syrupy stuff cool before handling & had no problem. I liked them right after they were made. My husband & kids liked them after they sat out over night & got hard & crunchy. We will be making these every year at Halloween.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      These were wonderful. Fast, easy, and very yummy! I used two bags of microwave popcorn, and formed the balls around mini-sized candy bars, so there was a little treat inside each one. I let the mixture stand for quite a while to cool before forming the balls. What a great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Popcorn Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (1670 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.6
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    27%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 12.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 112.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 31.3 g
    125%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites