Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poor Man's Tuna Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poor Man's Tuna Casserole

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2007

      You know, sometimes when it's hot~you don't want to eat nor even be near a kitchen. Until~you get a hankering for this dish. I have been thinking about this, and thinking about it for a couple of weeks, In fact, my husband and I discussed when we would have this. Today was the day. Even though it was hot, and unbearable, as Maryland summers months go, I made this for our lunch, and devoured it poolside. This really, really hits the spot. I picked the fresh peas from the garden this morning, along with some fresh red onions. I quickly assembled this, and baked it for a bit in the oven, and believe me, it hit the spot. There is nothing "Poor Man's" about this. Totally wonderful in taste, as well as probably inchangable with vegetables, using broccoli, even chopped up zucchini, or fresh green beans in place of peas. I added crushed potato chips on top instead of the French fried onions, as I didn't have any. And a spot of dried red pepper flakes just to give it that extra "pow!" Thanks, iewe, will make it lots! Made for *ZWT3 07*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Boxed macaroni and cheese at its finest! The fried onions and cheddar make this. My husband didn't even realize it had tuna in it! I heated on stove and broiled until onions were browned, which made this even quicker to prepare. Thanks iewe, for posting. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This is just really really good comfort food for a cold winters night here in Michigan. (3 degrees). I love the different twist-up to the normal tuna noodle I usually make. With the use of soup, cheese and french-fried onions....well, it just upped it another notch in my cook-book. The only sub I made was using frozen corn instead of the peas. Family preference. Thanks Iewe.~ Made for Potluck Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This is THE BEST tuna casserole I have ever had! I made this about a month ago, and apparently forgot to add to my cookbook... I was in a panick because I couldn't find it! Boy am I relieved... Entire family LOVED it! Even the toddler that picks around tuna, & the 5 year old that picks around veggies ate ALL of this! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      What a great and simple way to make tuna noodle. DH even liked it cold....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I love this! My mom used to make this for us as kids, without the extra cheddar cheese or the onions. She used to call this "Tuna Goop"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      This has been a fav.For 45 years, I can't believe it. My kids wanted it all the time, I even sub'd mixed veggies - great recipe rosamaria

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      I whipped up a double batch, kept some for my husband and myself, and packaged the rest for my 20-something daughter and several of her friends to use as dinner after long days at their jobs. We loved it - even my husband, who is only mildly enthused about pasta. It's one of those meals that can be thrown together using pantry contents, but gives the impression that some degree of caring and an investment of time were involved. (I love a charade.) It's fast, cheap, easy and embarrassingly good - just like Mom used to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      My husband and I loved this! It was quick, easy, and cheep to make but tasted wonderful! Thanks iewe, for sharing with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      good recipe tweeks that box of mac and cheese

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Another winner. Everyone enjoyed this at lunch today. I fixed mine in the oven and fifteen minutes was the right amount of time. I made this for ZWT III 2007 - Zingo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poor Man's Tuna Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.1
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    35%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 35.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 757.5 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 18.9 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French-fried onions

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites