38 Reviews

Very easy to prepare! Great flavor. I used four frozen mahi filets, and defrosted them in a Ziplock bag with the beer/lemon combo marinading the fish while defrosting. Sat the Ziplock bag in cold water for approx an hour, changing out the cold water every 10 mins or so. Next time I'll think ahead and let them defrost in the fridge overnight (or better yet, buy fresh!) then marinade them as others suggested. Poured the marinade and about 3/4 cup water into the pot and brought it to a boil then steamed the 4 filets for approx 9 minutes. I had to add the water for steaming because I was afraid the beer would evaporate. After it was done I hit it with spray butter and some garlic salt. I served it with rice and green beans. DH says it's a keeper. It was one of my favorite fish recipes I've tried in a long time. Wasn't exactly lobster tasting, but wasn't fishy tasting either!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brittta April 14, 2008

I took another reviewer's advice and marinated our Mahi-mahi for an hour in beer (Yuengling to be exact!) with some lemon juice and minced garlic mixed in. I then fried it in a frying pan with a decent amount of butter (we don't have a steamer either), turned out quite good!! Very different taste at first, but by the end of it we thought it was extremely good! I did not make the garlic butter to go with it (trying to cut down on the cholesterol a little bit) but frying it in butter was a nice solution to maintain some of the flavor. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies March 28, 2008

My whole family loved it. I took someone elses' idea and marinated the fish in the beer for a few hours before. I also tossed the squeezed lemon rind into the steamer with the mahi mahi. I have been informed by my family that this is a 'keeper.' Thanks for the recipe! Lili

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilihaym66 February 19, 2008

This was SO easy and tasted great!!!! The garlic dipping sauce was superb, and the fish was very moist. A definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
521539 September 16, 2007

This just couldn't be easier. We used our rice cooker to steam the fish, and we ate it without the butter dipping sauce. The fish was extra tender, and the lemon and beer steam gave it a nice light flavor. It took about 10 minutes to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish September 05, 2007

This was a superb recipe even though I didn't have the fresh garlic for the dipping sauce. Instead when I served the fish I seasoned it with some Garlic Salt and drizzled the melted butter on top, this tasted great. I also found this went nicely with some Roasted Garlic and Olive Oil flavored CousCous (spelling?) and a salad. Between the great flavor, simple directions, ease of the directions, this recipe rates 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farley.ashley April 29, 2007

Wouldn't say this tastes like lobster but it is absolutely amazingly good!! My husband even loved it. He doesn't usually like fish. And like the other lady in the review, I used "I can't believe its not butter" with the garlic and a little lemon juice and it was awesome. This was an easy recipe to make as well. Thank you for submitting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flautatime March 24, 2007

I made this recipe as directed. It was very easy to follow and produced a very tender and flavorful fish. I made the sauce with this recipe and also provided several other sauces with our fish to do a little taste testing. Butter and garlic never misses ; ) Thank you, Mercy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 04, 2007

Wow! I can't say the texture was like lobster, but I used a frozen fillet, quickly thawed. However, it was SOOOOO yummy! I'm trying to lose about ten pounds, and this is a perfect recipe for me. I substitued butter and salt for "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" spray, and used a little garlic, and the dipping sauce was yummy and incredibly low-cal! I had a green salad on the side, and it made for a lovely supper (meanwhile my kids were gnoshing on fattening stuff...but I think they lost out, not me!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieMouse83 February 27, 2007

Mercy, Mercy !! What an unexpected treat !! I purchased a bag of fillets from a Big Box store, and have usually poached or simmered them in a vegetable sauce, but checked to see if there were any different ideas in Zaar-Land. This was so simple, and SO tasty (not sure about the lobster part -- but that is mostly consistancy!)--but cubed 2 of the fillets and used 1 0f DH prized mini-brewery beers, and we truly enjoyed the meal -- the rest of which was left-over potato pancakes and spanakopita. Thanks, Mercy, for a truly innovative idea. Janey

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney February 19, 2007
Poor Man's Lobster ( Mahi Mahi)