Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poor Man's Lobster ( Mahi Mahi) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poor Man's Lobster ( Mahi Mahi)

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2010

      I could definitely see where this would have been totally awesome had I not overcooked the fish. They were dry but not rubbery. It would be great to add a tip on how to make sure not to overcook with this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Big G's new favorite, want to try with other fish. (Crappie)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      I made this to serve with a surf and turf. It was good and real easy to make, although not very flavorful. It not my favorite was to make Mahi Mahi, but it was the easiest. I marinated the fish in some Beer and lemon for about an hour. I used Heineken, and the fish was a wild caught, same day :) I'll make it again, . I cooked the butter till it was clear and garlic was soft and mushy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Great dish....quick to make, a good combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      A very tasty recipe! I imagine it's called "poor man's lobster" because of the technique - steamed and dunked in butter. It reminded me of the pan-broils we used to eat with my family on the atlantic shore. I thought the beer imparted a lovely, subtle flavor without overwhelming the delicate fish - I don't know what to tell the poor souls who tried to boil the mahi in the beer, except this - get a steamer and try this recipe again! It is worth your while!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      It was fast - It was easy - It was good (not great) but I'm not sure why it's called Lobster. It tasted like fish marinated in beer with garlic butter. Thanks but no thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Love it! Good, easy, fast. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Wow. Quite tasty and very easy. I even burned the garlic butter and it was still good. I'll definitely make the garlic butter first next time, then do the fish. Mine cooked in a little less than 5 minutes. I cut my fish into 1" chunks. I used a wheat beer for the steaming and I thought the fish on it's own was rather tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      I really loved this recipe and so did my hubby! It's really simple and you can't even taste any hint of the beer in the fish. It almost seems like a waste of a bottle of beer to make this, but it is worth it. The dipping sauce is tasty too! Can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      This was so good and so easy! Cooked according to recipe, except I couldn't find mahi mahi - instead used tilapia, which worked out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Very easy to prepare! Great flavor. I used four frozen mahi filets, and defrosted them in a Ziplock bag with the beer/lemon combo marinading the fish while defrosting. Sat the Ziplock bag in cold water for approx an hour, changing out the cold water every 10 mins or so. Next time I'll think ahead and let them defrost in the fridge overnight (or better yet, buy fresh!) then marinade them as others suggested. Poured the marinade and about 3/4 cup water into the pot and brought it to a boil then steamed the 4 filets for approx 9 minutes. I had to add the water for steaming because I was afraid the beer would evaporate. After it was done I hit it with spray butter and some garlic salt. I served it with rice and green beans. DH says it's a keeper. It was one of my favorite fish recipes I've tried in a long time. Wasn't exactly lobster tasting, but wasn't fishy tasting either!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      I took another reviewer's advice and marinated our Mahi-mahi for an hour in beer (Yuengling to be exact!) with some lemon juice and minced garlic mixed in. I then fried it in a frying pan with a decent amount of butter (we don't have a steamer either), turned out quite good!! Very different taste at first, but by the end of it we thought it was extremely good! I did not make the garlic butter to go with it (trying to cut down on the cholesterol a little bit) but frying it in butter was a nice solution to maintain some of the flavor. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      My whole family loved it. I took someone elses' idea and marinated the fish in the beer for a few hours before. I also tossed the squeezed lemon rind into the steamer with the mahi mahi. I have been informed by my family that this is a 'keeper.' Thanks for the recipe! Lili

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      This was SO easy and tasted great!!!! The garlic dipping sauce was superb, and the fish was very moist. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      This just couldn't be easier. We used our rice cooker to steam the fish, and we ate it without the butter dipping sauce. The fish was extra tender, and the lemon and beer steam gave it a nice light flavor. It took about 10 minutes to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      This was a superb recipe even though I didn't have the fresh garlic for the dipping sauce. Instead when I served the fish I seasoned it with some Garlic Salt and drizzled the melted butter on top, this tasted great. I also found this went nicely with some Roasted Garlic and Olive Oil flavored CousCous (spelling?) and a salad. Between the great flavor, simple directions, ease of the directions, this recipe rates 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Wouldn't say this tastes like lobster but it is absolutely amazingly good!! My husband even loved it. He doesn't usually like fish. And like the other lady in the review, I used "I can't believe its not butter" with the garlic and a little lemon juice and it was awesome. This was an easy recipe to make as well. Thank you for submitting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      I made this recipe as directed. It was very easy to follow and produced a very tender and flavorful fish. I made the sauce with this recipe and also provided several other sauces with our fish to do a little taste testing. Butter and garlic never misses ; ) Thank you, Mercy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      Wow! I can't say the texture was like lobster, but I used a frozen fillet, quickly thawed. However, it was SOOOOO yummy! I'm trying to lose about ten pounds, and this is a perfect recipe for me. I substitued butter and salt for "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" spray, and used a little garlic, and the dipping sauce was yummy and incredibly low-cal! I had a green salad on the side, and it made for a lovely supper (meanwhile my kids were gnoshing on fattening stuff...but I think they lost out, not me!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Mercy, Mercy !! What an unexpected treat !! I purchased a bag of fillets from a Big Box store, and have usually poached or simmered them in a vegetable sauce, but checked to see if there were any different ideas in Zaar-Land. This was so simple, and SO tasty (not sure about the lobster part -- but that is mostly consistancy!)--but cubed 2 of the fillets and used 1 0f DH prized mini-brewery beers, and we truly enjoyed the meal -- the rest of which was left-over potato pancakes and spanakopita. Thanks, Mercy, for a truly innovative idea. Janey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poor Man's Lobster ( Mahi Mahi)

    Serving Size: 1 (460 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 583.1
     
    Calories from Fat 325
    55%
    Total Fat 36.1 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 257.0 mg
    85%
    Sodium 1092.9 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 43.4 g
    86%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes