Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poor Man's Lobster #1 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poor Man's Lobster #1

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2004

      This was just delicious Kim and SO easy. I prepared this with haddock and followed directions exactly. I covered the fish with the cold water, vinegar and salt and set it over high heat. After 10 minutes it hadn't come to a boil yet, but was quite hot and the fish was adequately cooked. We don't like overcooked fish so I felt it was time to serve and I was right. We all liked it very much. I don't think I'd cook it for the full 10 minutes after the boil. Thanks for posting this delicious, easy, quick recipe....it's a keeper for sure :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      I could swear(if I sweared, which I do not) that this tasted just like lobster!!! I haven't eaten lobster in about 11 years, but oh it was so good and so easy to make, without all the cholesterol! I could not get haddock at the store so I got orange roughy. Thanks Kim, my husband wants me to make this again soon!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2014

      Kim, thank you, thank you, thank you! Your recipe convinced me to overcome my phobia of cooking fish :lol It was so easy and the whole house didn't smell like fish. Plus, the fish was delish! I used Cod. This is definitely a keeper. Made for Zaar Stars tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      Like another reviewer, I used tilapia. The pieces weren't very thick, so getting the "chunky" bites were hit and miss. As for flavor, this was probably a little too mild, but drenched in the lemon butter did help trick the mind. I will probably try again, with tilapia or another favorably priced white fish. I may even try this and use in a base for an inexpensive faux lobster bisque.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      I didn't really think it tasted like lobster but it was still pretty good. The texture was a bit strange but I think it may have been overcooked. I used fillets that were about 1 1/2 inches thick. I think I will reduce the cooking time to about 8 minutes if I do this again. I served with garlic butter and we did enjoy it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      I've been craving lobster like crazy, but living in the Midwest, it's just a wee bit out of my price range. I'd had this in my cookbook for a long, long time now and tonight decided what the heck...I'd try it. And I have to say, not bad at all! I used Cod, as it's what I had in the freezer (and others had used it successfully) and I added a bit of sugar to the water, per another recipe. One thing I noticed...you really need to use thick chunks of fish for this. I used the thickest fillets I had, but they still weren't that big. The thickest parts tasted pretty darn close to lobster. The thinner parts...not so much. So now I know for next time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      This didn't taste anything like lobster but I gave it 3 stars because of the ease of making it, almost foolproof. There was nothing wrong with the taste, it just tasted like haddock. Would I make it again? Sure, when I'm in a hurry and need something quick but I think I would add some garlic or seafood seasoning in the butter for a little more taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Yum! DH can't have lobster (and actually dislikes shellfish anyway), so this was perfect! It was similar to crab or lobster, but different enough that DH liked it, too. I used Alaskan Cod fillets instead of haddock, and it tasted great. I also added lemon juice and garlic salt to the butter, and squeezed a little more lemon juice over the fish after cooking. My only problem (not the recipe's fault) was that since I used a different fish and a different amount, it was a little overdone. Next time I'll just watch it more closely--I think 6-7 minutes would have been enough for the fish I used. It might be helpful to have a guideline of so many minutes per inch or half-inch of thickness. All three of us enjoyed this, and I'll make it again--it will make a nice change from my usual fish dishes! Thanks so much for sharing, Kim! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Really cool idea!!!! We enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I made this recipe months ago and forgot to rate it. It was fabulous! Entire family loved it and wanted more. I need to make this again. Thanks for the great alternative to lobster (that we LOVE).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      YUMMY! Made for just me so I used one Tilapia fillet, half the vinegar and salt and 2tbs butter was plenty. Very similar to lobster, especially when dipped generously in butter. I, too, took the time to clarify the butter. (cook on low and scoop off the cream that rises to the top. This leaves you with just the yellow goodness)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I made this for my mother and husband. As I dont eat seafood. And they raved about it! Will gladly make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Okay the biggest problem with this recipe? It made me crave real lobster! However, for pretend lobster this was quite yummy. I even made clarified butter, which I normally don't bother with (just use melted). I had Tilapia and made this for myself for a special lunch. I used one Tilapia fillet and followed the recipe exactly, except boiled about 30 secs longer (I like firm lobster). I also set under the broiler as suggested. This is a keeper recipe. Thank you for posting Kim! :) Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      In a word......yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      I had a piece of codfish in the freezer and this recipe gave me the perfect opportunity for it. I've had this recipe saved in my cookbook for a long time and don't know why I didn't try it earlier. Buddha is allergic to shellfish so this was great that he could see what he's been missing. He loved it as did I. I gave it 4 stars in comparison to tasting like lobster, and and extra star because now Buddha and I can have a great substitute, and cheaper too! Thanks for posting! Oh, and definitely dip in real (melted) butter, don't substitute that! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      It had a great taste but we didn't find that it tasted like lobster. But I like the method of cooking which is so easy. I served mine with tartar sauce that I made with mayonnaise and zucchini relish. Thanks Kim. Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      I used catfish fillets and was astounded at how good this was. What a simple, quick and easy recipe and soooo good. Made for Star Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This was good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written. We love haddock and this is a great new way to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Wow! What can I say that hasn't already been said? As a poor (wo)man, this is #1 with me! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      Who can afford lobster unless you live in Main or Nova Scotia. This is a good recipe.I add 1 bay leaf. I place under a broiler to brown just a bit after draining. I add a little lemon juice to the butter. A slight dash of paprika and or dill before browning. It looks and tastes so appetizing that way and everyone is asking what kind of fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poor Man's Lobster #1

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.3
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    53%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 168.5 mg
    56%
    Sodium 3426.1 mg
    142%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 36.4 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes