33 Reviews

This was just delicious Kim and SO easy. I prepared this with haddock and followed directions exactly. I covered the fish with the cold water, vinegar and salt and set it over high heat. After 10 minutes it hadn't come to a boil yet, but was quite hot and the fish was adequately cooked. We don't like overcooked fish so I felt it was time to serve and I was right. We all liked it very much. I don't think I'd cook it for the full 10 minutes after the boil. Thanks for posting this delicious, easy, quick recipe....it's a keeper for sure :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude December 16, 2004

I could swear(if I sweared, which I do not) that this tasted just like lobster!!! I haven't eaten lobster in about 11 years, but oh it was so good and so easy to make, without all the cholesterol! I could not get haddock at the store so I got orange roughy. Thanks Kim, my husband wants me to make this again soon!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 26, 2003

Kim, thank you, thank you, thank you! Your recipe convinced me to overcome my phobia of cooking fish :lol It was so easy and the whole house didn't smell like fish. Plus, the fish was delish! I used Cod. This is definitely a keeper. Made for Zaar Stars tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup October 16, 2014

Like another reviewer, I used tilapia. The pieces weren't very thick, so getting the "chunky" bites were hit and miss. As for flavor, this was probably a little too mild, but drenched in the lemon butter did help trick the mind. I will probably try again, with tilapia or another favorably priced white fish. I may even try this and use in a base for an inexpensive faux lobster bisque.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imcooked February 27, 2013

I didn't really think it tasted like lobster but it was still pretty good. The texture was a bit strange but I think it may have been overcooked. I used fillets that were about 1 1/2 inches thick. I think I will reduce the cooking time to about 8 minutes if I do this again. I served with garlic butter and we did enjoy it. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word April 18, 2012

I've been craving lobster like crazy, but living in the Midwest, it's just a wee bit out of my price range. I'd had this in my cookbook for a long, long time now and tonight decided what the heck...I'd try it. And I have to say, not bad at all! I used Cod, as it's what I had in the freezer (and others had used it successfully) and I added a bit of sugar to the water, per another recipe. One thing I noticed...you really need to use thick chunks of fish for this. I used the thickest fillets I had, but they still weren't that big. The thickest parts tasted pretty darn close to lobster. The thinner parts...not so much. So now I know for next time :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katlinn March 16, 2011

This didn't taste anything like lobster but I gave it 3 stars because of the ease of making it, almost foolproof. There was nothing wrong with the taste, it just tasted like haddock. Would I make it again? Sure, when I'm in a hurry and need something quick but I think I would add some garlic or seafood seasoning in the butter for a little more taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 13, 2010

Yum! DH can't have lobster (and actually dislikes shellfish anyway), so this was perfect! It was similar to crab or lobster, but different enough that DH liked it, too. I used Alaskan Cod fillets instead of haddock, and it tasted great. I also added lemon juice and garlic salt to the butter, and squeezed a little more lemon juice over the fish after cooking. My only problem (not the recipe's fault) was that since I used a different fish and a different amount, it was a little overdone. Next time I'll just watch it more closely--I think 6-7 minutes would have been enough for the fish I used. It might be helpful to have a guideline of so many minutes per inch or half-inch of thickness. All three of us enjoyed this, and I'll make it again--it will make a nice change from my usual fish dishes! Thanks so much for sharing, Kim! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve July 21, 2009

Really cool idea!!!! We enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cboland July 05, 2009

I made this recipe months ago and forgot to rate it. It was fabulous! Entire family loved it and wanted more. I need to make this again. Thanks for the great alternative to lobster (that we LOVE).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter April 24, 2009
Poor Man's Lobster #1