10 Reviews

this is the kind of french toast mr pickys mom made all the time so he was very happy i used 2 eggs though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. June 24, 2012

I really enjoyed this simple french toast HokiesLady. I loved the crispness that the flour brings to this treat. I served mine with powdered sugar and spiced apple cider syrup. Even my picky dh enjoyed this treat. Thank you for sharing a recipe that I will make again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 30, 2011

Sooo tasty. I used day-old whole wheat french bread and let them soak a little bit longer before throwing them on the skillet. The recipe was perfect for this type of bread because the mixture wasn't too runny (thanks to the flour!). I also added some cinnamon, and the result was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffystew August 16, 2010

Awesome!! I cut the recipe in half since it was for 3 yo dd and myself. I also added vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. Love the flour addition, gave it more crunch! I don't think I'll ever make French toast without flour again! Served with powdered sugar sprinkled on top and syrup drizzled on just for the little one! Yum! Thanks for sharing! Made for 1-2-3 tag. ***oops, edit: made for zaar stars tag! (still can't get into forums to post that i made and reviewed...i also have a really nice photo that i can't seem post since the change to food.com :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD July 18, 2010

This was pretty good. I'm not used to the whole adding the flour part, but it worked well. I threw in some pumpkin pie spice and the kids devoured it! Made for "Went to the market tag"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycookinmama June 30, 2010

I doubled this recipe, added some cinnamon and vanilla, and used skim milk. It turned out delicious! I had enough batter for 5 pieces of raisin bread and 9 small pieces of baguette. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy June 17, 2010

This was really good; I did however miss the cinnamon/nutmeg that I usually add to french toast. The flour was a nice touch to get the toast crispy which I like (DH prefers his softer). Overall it was enjoyed by everyone! Made for ZWT6 Scandinavia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH June 07, 2010

One of the best french toasts I had. Probably because of the flour added to the batter. I omitted the salt. I used belgian bread and top them with maple syrup. Thanks Melissa :) Made for Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 07, 2010

Great golden brown French toast! I've never added flour to the eggs before and this batter was a plus! I spread mine with blackberry preserves and it tasted heavenly. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper Melissa. Made for Swizzle Chicks for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn June 05, 2010
Poor Knights French Toast - Fattiga Riddare