10 Reviews

We made this for dinner tonight to serve along with my other recipe swap choices (Sweet Corn & Tomato Salad With Fresh Cilantro and Carolina Pulled Pork)--a peculiar but delicious combination! This dish is very tasty, crispy and buttery and resembles the American version of "hash browns", which is usually served at breakfast. My version of hash browns includes grated onion, which I think would have enhanced this dish as well. Thank you for sharing this lovely comfort food style dish! (Made for Recipe Swap #29 - June 2009)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe June 05, 2009

This is one of our favourite ways to serve potatoes; when I saw your recipe;I had to go for it. I was lovely served with Truffle Omelette - Omelette Aux Truffes. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT5. Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage May 31, 2009

Wanted a quick little something to serve along side Caramelised Onion & Goats Cheese Omelette, this was perfect! I used 2 medium potatoes and that was the perfect amount for a small side along with a large omelet. Thanks so much for Sharing Syd. Made for ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre May 30, 2009

I made these potatoes for breakfast and they were delicious!! I went the easy route and used the refrigerated hash browns, so no peeling or shredding. I cut the recipe in half, but otherwise followed as written. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Made for your win in Tic Tac Toe tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 November 02, 2008

Yummy! I accidentally melted too much butter, so this was a bit moister than intended, but still tasty, crispy, and easy to make. In place of the butter, I did use Smart Balance Light spread. I used lots of pepper and just a little salt, also served this with some chopped green onions on top. Mmm, thanks for sharing Syd. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage October 12, 2008

Very yummy and quite easy to prepare. I made as posted including the flipping of the potato cake. This is like a large hash brown potato. I thought at first it would be more like a potato pancake but it doesn't have the flour or egg to hold it together. But it does hold its sharp. We loved this and I plan to prepare it often. I served it for dinner with some toast and Wagon Wheel Breakfast Pie. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas September 05, 2008

Another review that's disappeared after I've posted it! WHEN will I learn to save them elsewhere? We loved this recipe. I made a single Pommes Paillasson, SO much quicker and easier than individual potato cakes. The only change I made was to add three cloves of finely chopped garlic in step two, and allowing it to just soften before adding the potato mixture. Next time I make this recipe, I'm thinking I might also add one chopped chive in step one. I was initially seduced by the name of this dish and by Aaliyah & Aaron's mum's great photograph; having now made and eaten it, I'm now totally won over by the dish itself. Crispy and fabulously yummy, we enjoyed this as a deliciously decadent stand-alone light meal with the contrast of a couple of dollops of cool, creamy Greek yoghurt. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Sydney Mike!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder August 09, 2008

I'm not going to rate this SM. It went disasterously wrong. I used a big pan, but had I spread the mix right over the bottom completely, it would have been really thin so I sort of piled it up with about a 1 inch border around it. I cooked it, and it browned beautifully, but the lovely stainless steel pan I used has straight sides and as it wouldn't loosen, I couldn't get my lifter in under the cake either. I ended up quartering it and scraping the potato into 4 smaller cakes-the beautiful brown stuff stayed put on the bottom of the pan and then proceded to get browner and browner and insulate the potatoes from cooking further. I probably won't attempt this one again LOL. I would suggest a non-stick pan with a flat bottom and sloping sides might be the trick to getting this to work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS July 16, 2008

Since potatoes are my favorite food I couldn't resist making this recipe. So glad I did. The detailed directions were most helpful. I used russet potatoes and made one giant potato pancake and served it in wedges with applesauce and sour cream on the side. Yum. Added the recipe to my favorite zaar recipes binder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan June 24, 2008

There's nothing else to really say about this dish other than absolutely wonderful! Very simple yet classic. Didn't change a thing. I made them into 4 small cakes and they held together perfectly. Thank you, Sydney Mike, for sharing this wonderful recipe, definitely will be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum June 22, 2008
Pommes Paillasson or Straw Potato Cake