9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very much enjoyed! I halved the recipe, and reduced the garlic a bit. Also added a sprig of thyme, but they would be very nice still without it or any other extra seasoning.Thank you for sharing, Lindsey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J August 27, 2010

Great potatoes! Simple and tasty. I added a little fresh tarragon, thyme and white pepper as seasonings in between the layers. I may have over cooked them a bit, because many of them crumbled while turning, lol. Thanks lindseylcw for a nice side dish. Made for ZWT5 2009 Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 08, 2009

Really liked these potatoes, easy to make, though it did take longer than I anticipated. But the result was worth it as a great side dish. ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio June 04, 2009

We normally pan fry potatoes to have with breakfast ... this was a great twist/addition. We enjoyed these babies for dinner as a side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family January 30, 2009

Oops posted the photos and forgot to make the review. I make these semi-regularly becuase DH likes them every now and again. For us, these take more than 40 minutes to cook becuase we found that if you have the heat up too high then the smaller bits tend to burn easily, so I keep the heat way way down and cook them slow for about 1 hour. This gives a more even golden colour and more even crispness thoughout. For personal preference we add more garlic if the cloves are small. Please see my rating system: 4 lovely stars for a simple recipe that we return to often. Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch December 03, 2007

Simple and delicious potato dish, full of flavour. I had difficulty keeping the potatoes whole, but I may have sliced them too thinly. They took on a lovely colour and the onions were delicious. Will certainly make again in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frugal Fifer October 16, 2007

A nice easy way to prepare a very tasty potato dish! I served this with some leftover poached salmon and fresh green peas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada October 04, 2007

THANK YOU! I grew up with my mom making this recipe and never could get it right. My potatoes always became mush and stuck together. I never covered them and would turn them to often. Following your directions turned out excellant potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
picklzon2 September 08, 2007

It's hard to over rate this dish. It is wonderful and so simple. I don't know where all the wonderful flavor comes from, but it is there and the texture is even better. By the way, it is not necessary to turn them all those times. Just keep an eye so they don't burn, and don't add any liquid, no matter how tempted you are. The liquid in the potatoes and onions provides all you need to steam the potatoes and onions and still allow the potatoes to brown crisp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef jshaffer April 05, 2007
Pommes De Terre a L'etouffee (Pan Fried Potatoes)