Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pom Koek (Belgian Coffee Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pom Koek (Belgian Coffee Cake)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2008

      This came out really great, nice flavor. Thank you. ZWT 4 Family Pick

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      i love the very peculiar flavour given to it by the coffee and the cinnamon. you can also try it replacing the cloves with ground ginger, it'll make it taste more delicate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      Great flavor and texture! This took about 50min to cook all the way through, so my ends got a little darker then I would have liked. I am going to try a round cake pan next time and see if that helps any.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Great taste, somewhere between coffee and spice, not too sweet. Also not terribly tender (can hold up to butter!). I used spray oil to grease the pans - no fiddling with parchment - and had no problem with releasing them. After reading the other reviews, I divided the batter between two mini-loaf pans and one regular 8x4 loaf pan. The small ones I cooked for 30 minutes, and the bigger one for 40 minutes. Also used cooled coffee - don't know if this made any difference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      This was exceedingly good. I like my coffee fairly strong and therefore the coffee taste really came through and blended well with the spices.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      I also had a problem cooking this all the way though.. I even cooked it for an extra 10 minutes and a skewer poked into the centre came out clean, so I was doumbfounded when I took it to work the next morning to have at morning tea and the middle was totally liquid in places. That said, every last crumb that WAS cooked dissapeared and there was praise all round for the taste. I'm on an elimination diet for allergies and am not allowed flour etc so couldn't sample this myself, but 15 colleagues can't be wrong :) several colleagues said I could stay on my special diet and bring them baking all the time LOL. Please see my rating system: this might become a 5 star recipe in the future if I can figure out how to get the inside cooked correctly, without drying out the rest too much, for taste, in it's present state, a lovely 4 stars. Thanks !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      What a really nice bread to serve with our breakfast. I don't normally make coffee, so the coffee I added per my neighbor who drank a cup was extremely hair raising strong...lol. Still I liked the flavor of this bread, the ease of making it, and will use this recipe again. Thank You for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      This was very good. The coffee added a very nice flavor and color to the bread, although we drink our coffee kinda weak, so it is not as dark as the photo shown. The texture was perfect. I took mine about 45-50 minutes to cook and there was still one area that didn't get done, but it was good anyway. thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Very good. Although it took me about 50 minutes to cook it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Wonderful bread! Great flavor! It did take about 20 minutes longer to cook then stated so I covered it with foil and let it continue. Wonderful bread smeared with butter for breakfast!!! We will make this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      mine took a little longer to cook . we liked this thanks for posting .dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      Very good! I loved it with powdered sugar on it! Took way longer than posted time to cook all the way through, tho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      Made this back around Christmas, for a friend's party. While it wasn't the most popular dish there (little can truly beat good chocolate chip cookies, sadly), everyone who tried it loved it. This is fantastic a couple days later, toasted -- the sweet-coffee taste really comes out. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      I made the recipe exactly as written. It reminded me of Dutch ontbijt koek, a childhood favorite to have for breakfast. I hadn't found a better recipe for that yet - maybe because the secret ingredient is coffee! We enjoyed it a lot. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      This was good. The coffee added a nice rich color to it.I loved the spices. I did add some vanilla and butter flavoring. I think i would add some mashed banana next time, just to see. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pom Koek (Belgian Coffee Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.3
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    20%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 17.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 306.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 31.6 g
    126%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites