15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This came out really great, nice flavor. Thank you. ZWT 4 Family Pick

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 July 11, 2008

i love the very peculiar flavour given to it by the coffee and the cinnamon. you can also try it replacing the cloves with ground ginger, it'll make it taste more delicate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyliakar April 26, 2008

Great flavor and texture! This took about 50min to cook all the way through, so my ends got a little darker then I would have liked. I am going to try a round cake pan next time and see if that helps any.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon1025 October 11, 2006

Great taste, somewhere between coffee and spice, not too sweet. Also not terribly tender (can hold up to butter!). I used spray oil to grease the pans - no fiddling with parchment - and had no problem with releasing them. After reading the other reviews, I divided the batter between two mini-loaf pans and one regular 8x4 loaf pan. The small ones I cooked for 30 minutes, and the bigger one for 40 minutes. Also used cooled coffee - don't know if this made any difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mymble October 09, 2006

This was exceedingly good. I like my coffee fairly strong and therefore the coffee taste really came through and blended well with the spices.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo September 08, 2006

I also had a problem cooking this all the way though.. I even cooked it for an extra 10 minutes and a skewer poked into the centre came out clean, so I was doumbfounded when I took it to work the next morning to have at morning tea and the middle was totally liquid in places. That said, every last crumb that WAS cooked dissapeared and there was praise all round for the taste. I'm on an elimination diet for allergies and am not allowed flour etc so couldn't sample this myself, but 15 colleagues can't be wrong :) several colleagues said I could stay on my special diet and bring them baking all the time LOL. Please see my rating system: this might become a 5 star recipe in the future if I can figure out how to get the inside cooked correctly, without drying out the rest too much, for taste, in it's present state, a lovely 4 stars. Thanks !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 17, 2006

What a really nice bread to serve with our breakfast. I don't normally make coffee, so the coffee I added per my neighbor who drank a cup was extremely hair raising strong...lol. Still I liked the flavor of this bread, the ease of making it, and will use this recipe again. Thank You for sharing it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 June 15, 2006

This was very good. The coffee added a very nice flavor and color to the bread, although we drink our coffee kinda weak, so it is not as dark as the photo shown. The texture was perfect. I took mine about 45-50 minutes to cook and there was still one area that didn't get done, but it was good anyway. thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ June 09, 2006

Very good. Although it took me about 50 minutes to cook it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sheri- June 07, 2006

Wonderful bread! Great flavor! It did take about 20 minutes longer to cook then stated so I covered it with foil and let it continue. Wonderful bread smeared with butter for breakfast!!! We will make this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper June 06, 2006
Pom Koek (Belgian Coffee Cake)