12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was really looking forward to this recipe. I made it exactly as stated... this is a good base recipe... but I would make a couple changes.. the chicken base was way too overpowering... I would cut this in half and maybe take it out altogether. Half the PAPRIKA!! Way too much paprika..... and maybe use butter instead of the olive oil. At the restaurant here it says Chicken in our own butter and sour cream sauce... so I think that would help the flavors. Thanks for the base recipe though!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissSara April 16, 2009

AMAZING....delish delish delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coe coe March 11, 2012

GrammaJeanne, you are a genius! This is excellent! I did use a few tips from other reviewers and used butter instead of oil, cut both the chicken base and paprika down to 1 tablespoon and also added 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic. I found the canned cream in the Mexican aisle called Media Crema made by Nestle in a 7.6 oz. can. I used fat free sour cream and it was till so rich and decadent. Next time, I'll add some green bell peppers to the saute mix like our favorite Mexican place does. My son added some chipotles to his. We LOVED this! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick June 13, 2009

Made this for dinner for my children who are always asking to go to the local Mexican restaurant. I kept the paprika at 1 Tablespoon and did not think it to be over powering at all. The only thing we were missing was the spicy hot salsa (grabbed the wrong jar) and a basket of tortilla chips. This is a fairly quick and easy recipe that we will be making again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayla January 23, 2015

This recipe is a favorite at my house. I make it with a few tweaks. Because I'm a picky eater, I omit the onions and mushrooms. Following other reviewers, I use butter instead of oil, Nestle's media crema, and omit the chicken base. I also add in some garlic powder, cayenne pepper and parmesan cheese. I serve it poured over Spanish rice. I love how quick and easy this dish is to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Already Taken June 19, 2012

I Love mexican food and whenever i go out to mexican restauants either my husband or I always get pollo a la crema! Then i found this recipe and it was simple! And i fell in love with this recipe!! Everyone in our house loved it, hubby and kids!! I always make some sort of mexican dish in my house and this is the one i make the most :)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vbaby1 March 12, 2012

I kind of used this recipe as a "guideline" and made it my own but holy moly, this is exactly like the mexican rest. back home. I AM IN LOVE. I used the bottled creama from the grocery store. "
Ole grade A, Creama Mexicana" I also used garlic, onion and "Cholula Mexican Hot Sauce - Chili Garlic" I added about a half bag of mixed mexican cheese and then the sour cream. VERY GOOD BASE RECIPE - cater to your liking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1022147 April 30, 2011

Tasted great, although I think I will use about half of the paprika next time! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Rachele December 11, 2008

This is an excellent recipe!! We are definately adding it to our collection of family favorites and making it a regular part of our cooking routine. The only thing I would change is to halve the amount of paprika and maybe use a thicker cream as we had trouble getting the sauce to thicken like it should. (Although that may have been the fault of the cook not the recipe :P). We served this essentially the same as CompulsiveCook did, except instead of the salad we served fresh flour tortillas and avocado slices. Deeeee-lish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Banriona May 16, 2008

This recipe suprised me. I normally don't care for sour cream, but I loved this! I did use Mexican cream instead of regular cream and I reduced the sour cream to 2/3 cup. I served it with refried beans and Spanish rice & added a small green salad. Great meal! Thanks for breaking the monotony of what to serve!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CompulsiveCook April 02, 2008
Pollo a La Crema