Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Polish Stuffed Cabbage Rolls (Golabki / Golumkies / Golumpkis) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polish Stuffed Cabbage Rolls (Golabki / Golumkies / Golumpkis)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2010

      This took me back to my childhood. Big family gatherings were often accompanied by Mom's giant electric roaster filled with these little packets of taste bud bliss! I cored the whole head of cabbage, plunged it into a pot of boiling water, carefully removing the leaves as they softened and separated from the head. Used brown rice, 1 lb. ground bison and 13 ozs. bulk, Sweet Italian sausage. Added 1/2 small can of tomato paste mixed w/water to make 1/2 cup liquid, then mixed that in w/meat mixture for added moisture. Skipped the milk and reduced the basil to 1/4 tsp. Mixed a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes with the remaining tomato paste, 1 cup water and 1.5 Tblsp brown sugar and dumped over top of packets and meatballs. Covered everything w/remaining cabbage leaves to hold in that moisture (great trick btw!) Baked in large roasting pan @ 325F for 1 hour + 45 mins. Discarded the leaves lying on top, which were now showing signs of drying out. This was the first time DH had ever tasted this dish. He's not a big fan of cabbage, but he said, "These are SUPER AWESOME!" He gobbled down two giant ones, plus 2 meatballs. Served w/mashed potatoes. Thank you so much for sharing this delicious dish! We have PLENTY of leftovers. Will be giving some to a friend this afternoon. Very easy and very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Crazy tasty, but the whole bit with the cabbage leaves remains a reason for profanity in my kitchen. I've tried both methods noted here regarding the process of preparing the leaves for rolling with no luck whatsoever. In the end, I tried to double the recipe but was lucky to get 1 dinner's worth of rolls, a good set of meatballs for later, and about 1/2 lb of cabbage bits unsuitable for anything save the compost bin. Practice will probably alleviate this issue (and yes, this is so good a recipe that I plan future attempts), but novices be warned that the prep time noted here should likely be doubled, and a good stiff drink on the side wouldn't be a bad idea either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      We attempt Stuffed Cabbage once a year regretting our decision once the food is put on the table. Not this time! This recipe consists of absolutely wonderful flavor. Of course, like all, I made some modifications: Used up leftover homemade marinara sauce. Mixed a half a cup of marinara sauce (with brown sugar) into meat mixture. Increased (brown) rice to 1 cup. Forgot the milk, and left out the chopped cabbage (I think the cabbage rolls add more than enough of that sulfuric taste). Do NOT skip on the onion, carrot, celery, etc. It really made a difference. Thank you so much littleturtle! A true winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      I had never made these before, and used this recipe for my first attempt. Then I fed the results to my son-of-Polish-immigrants boyfriend and crossed my fingers. He loved them! So did I. I didn't find it very difficult, either. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2014

      I made these this morning and the only change I made was the sauce (I used a jar of chunky pasta sauce). They were excellent! Easy recipe to follow and great tasting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      Making a big pot of Golumpkies as I write this. My grandma was from Bosnia, and the Serbians call it "Sarma". My first wife was Polish, and Golabki/Golumpkies is what they called it. I just call it Mmm...Mmmmm GOOD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      I made this recently and it was delicious! I subbed lean ground turkey for the elk, and short-grain brown rice for the regular rice. I also added fennel seed but otherwise followed the recipe. My family loved it, and we had lots of leftovers for another night. one point though, cabbage rolls do not freeze well, they get watery, so if you do not want to make a lot cut the recipe in half. Thanks littleturtle, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      I must admit that I made this for my husband. who loves cabbage rolls, thinking I would put up with them for his sake. I was amazed to find that I *loved* these! We were totally surprised at how flavorful such a simple sauce turned out, Bravo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      OMG. I grew up eating golumpkis. Mom made hers just a tiny bit different but these are phenomenal as well! I did however do a couple of things that mom did. Instead of using tomato sauce I used 3-10 oz cans of Campbell's tomato soup (I like LOTS of juice), diluted just a bit (one can's worth) with some of the water the cabbage cooked in. By using soup, I did not add any additional salt plus I only added about a1 tsp. of brown sugar as I think the soup is sweetened a smidge already. I also laid a couple of bay leaves on top of the golumpkis before cooking. Remove the bay leaves when done. Lastly, mom used a pressure cooker to cook her golumpkis. Takes 12-15 minutes cooking time after pressure is reached. I then turn the heat off and leave cooker on the stove for another 5-7 mins. (I have a big pressure cooker that was filled nearly to the top with golumpkis.) Then I run cold water over the top of the cooker. This cools the cooker quickly and releases any remaining pressure. Open up the cooker and dig in. Very yummy! I love cooking with a pressure cooker. It's the old school version of a microware. Cooks super fast and everything is amazingly tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      The filling is quite awesome, but the sauce was a bit lacking in comparison. It needed to be a bit more flavorful, or perhaps even sweeter? I used linguica in place of ordinary pork sausage. It added a bit of spice. Overall, will make again with modifications to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Nice easy recipe to follow. My mother-in-law has made this for years and I have finally been brave enough to attempt it thanks to the well-written instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      These were very good cabbage rolls. I made them last night. I spent most of the day looking for a recipe that I thought would be good. The only thing different I did was use extra lean ground beef & I added a little cayenne or red pepper to the tomato sauce. I will definately use this as my cabbage roll recipe but next time I will use a more moist meat (the rolls were hard) & probably use some kind of Cajun seasoning instead of the paprika. I've lived in Louisiana/Texas all my life & I'm just use to things being a little spicey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      These are excellent! I made them to freeze for later in the week and of course I had to taste one! I loved the taste of the pork with the cabbage and spices. I will make these again when I get the craving! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Littleturtle! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      These are by far the best cabbage rolls I've ever made. I managed to find some elk and mixed it with pork sausage. I recommend adding fresh garlic and also using cans of crushed tomatoes for the sauce. If the tomato sauce is too acidic, add some honey for an overall sweeter aftertaste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

    • on August 20, 2008

      Fantastic! I used all ground turkey and added a little fennel seed, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Use a good paprika; I think it makes a difference. All the flavors we perfect. My DH couldn’t stop raving about this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This is a great recipe!!! I love the seasonings in the meat and the flavor of the sauce!!! I did this one exactly as written except I cooked the onion with the meat. I really enjoyed these very much! If you like cabbage rolls, this is a really super recipe!! I will use this recipe again and again!! Thanks for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      These are very good! I have been making this version for a few years, I just don't add the brown sugar or carrots! Any cabbage left over, I lay it across the roll's to keep them from drying out! Keep's the moisture in the roll's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly and my family loved it. Thank you so much for posting! These are delicous; I will be making them again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      My family makes Golabki's different. We boil with lots of vinegar and then pan fry in butter. Try that..WONDERFUL!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polish Stuffed Cabbage Rolls (Golabki / Golumkies / Golumpkis)

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.2
     
    Calories from Fat 184
    37%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 151.4 mg
    50%
    Sodium 1454.5 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 12.4 g
    49%
    Protein 37.2 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites