Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Polish Sausage (Kielbasa) Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polish Sausage (Kielbasa) Soup

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2007

      This was a great recipe. I used leftover kielbasa from Easter dinner. Next time if I use leftover kielbasa, I would wait to add until last, so it won't be overcooked. Also, we love carrots, so I'd add more of them. Will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      This was amazing! My Husband, who is Polish, gave his compliments to the chef! He said it reminded him of a soup he used to eat when he was little. Anyway, I followed the directions to a T and the soup came out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      I thought this soup was very tasty. I used 2 pounds of kielbasa and I loved the tang the vinegar gave. Unfortunately my DS 12 and DS 9 disliked it very much which is suprising since the one loves kielbasa and the other loves soup. So, not a keeper for this house, but I did enjoy it personally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      This was very good, a friend had given up a package of hot polish sausage made with pork & elk I believe & this worked well with them. The heat of the sausage was nice too so if I were to make with regular polish dogs I would probably add some red pepper flakes. Good comfort food! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Can't claim any Polish genes, but we sure loved your soup, Lorac -- right down to the buttered rye bread for dipping! When I make soup, I like to have a really full pot since it takes very little extra effort. So... besides the kielbasa, I added 1# of regular smoked sausage, used a whole head of cabbage (probably double what was called for), and was very generous with the other vegetables. To accomodate the extra volume, I increased the beef broth to 5-1/2 cups and the water to about 3-1/2 cups. Bottom line: as long as you have enough liquid to barely cover and increase the vinegar/seasonings accordingly, you can enjoy twice as much of this wonderful Polish treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      This was delicious! I only had one pound of kielbasa so that's what I used (beef kielbasa). Also used less celery as 2 cups seemed like a lot; used a small head of cabbage so I probably used more. It is wonderful! Definitely a keeper! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      As I was putting together the ingredients for this soup I was afraid it was going to be bland. Boy was I wrong! It was excellent. I made it specifically with an elderly polish neighbor in mind, he and his wife loved it. I made it with 3lbs of kielbasa added an extra cup of broth, 1 more tablespoon of vinegar and a little more cabbage. Makes me wish I was polish and could have grown up on this kind of food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Cooking soup with kielbasa sausage is always a hit, the sausage releases an amazing flavor creating a broth that is always a hit. Great recipe, perfect for a cool fall/winter night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      My first try at a dish I had when I was a little girl on vacation in Poland. I really enjoyed it, but the cooking time as indicated in the recipe is too long for my taste; I found the ingredients a little overcooked. I added a ripe, whole jalapeno to spice it up, and it was great! Will surely make this dish again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      I new to cooking, and tried this with a crockpot. After about two hours, the sausage was done, but the veggies weren't even close. So I went to bed! When I awoke, the whole house smelled delicious. The only problem was that the sausage was WAY overcooked. Next time, I'll slow-cook everything, and add the sausage in at the end. Otherwise it was a great dish, and my coworkers liked it (my testing ground, hehe)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Unbelivable taste...I made this for my polish father in law and I swear we have been closer ever since..lol...Everyone that tried it loved it .The second time I made this I had to triple the recipe...I used smoked kielbasa ..I'll try fresh next , it should give an entirely differnt taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      I found this recipe about a year ago and just never took the time to post a comment. Sorry. :-( I just wanted to say that the soup is incredible! Very hearty, comforting, and perfect for those long dreary winter days! The suggestion of pairing the soup with the buttered Rye Bread was just out of this World. I like to toast ours. :-) Surely this soup has to be the Polish version of Jewish Penicillin (AKA Chicken Soup)… Thanks for sharing the recipe! Also, we would not change a thing either. The recipe is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      I must apologise for only rating this now - somehow it never got done! I have made this soup several times now and freeze this in portions. This soup has an amazing flavour and I would not change a thing. Thank you for posting this winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2004

      This was delicious!I didn't think my 12 yr old would like it,but he came back for seconds.The only things I added were garlic and some Cajun seasoning.I served it with garlic bread and there was barely enough for my lunch the next day!Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2004

      I made this soup for a bookclub meal. Our book was \

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      What good soup! My Polish genes were also very happy to be eating this with the buttered rye bread. This Memorial Day weekend was cold rainy and crappy so I decided I needed soup for comfort. I used 2 pounds of smoked polish sausage and did add more cabbage. I had a tremendously flavored thick and hearty soup. And sprinkling it with a touch of dill is pure genius! This will become a staple in our household. Thanks Lorac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2004

      Really good. I went with just about a full 3 pounds of Polish sausage. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a delicious cold weather soup. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2004

      Well this is real Polish soup. Made it twice - once with the Polish pork sausage and the second time with ordinary meat. You MUST use the sausage. If you substitute the sausage for ordinary meat, wont work as well, will taste bland. If you want to use ordinary meat, saute the meat with onions, garlic, etc. first so soup will have flavor. Thanks Lorac for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      Yes, this is definitely a keeper. A very hearty soup that reminds me of meals my grandma in Germany makes us when we go visit. I left out the onion because my husband hates it, but found everything else was just great. If you like cabbage I would add a couple of cups more. Serving french bread or something similar to dip into the soup with it is a good idea. We always eat bread with soups like these in Germany. This is going on my comfort food list, it is great for big appetites and cold days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      We found this recipe to be very, very good. I used Smoked Kielbasa. We enjoyed the smoked flavor the Kielbasa added. I don't know if it would have been as good without the smoked flavor. I would definitely use the smoked Kielbasa. I would of liked more cabbage in it, The next time I will use 6 to 8 cups. It is a keeper. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polish Sausage (Kielbasa) Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (547 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 744.9
     
    Calories from Fat 476
    64%
    Total Fat 52.9 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 19.6 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 127.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 2365.5 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 27.4 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites