Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Polish Rum Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polish Rum Balls

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2008

      Hmmm...there wasn't enough rum in it. If you want a cookie that you can barely taste the rum, then these are it. I'd add more rum to it. They just kind of tasted plain. :( Sorry, I really wanted to like them. They rolled very nicely though and smell good. It just kind of tasted flat on flavor to me though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      I have made something similar to these in the past so I knew these would be wonderful, I increased the rum to 3 tablespoons, in my convection oven they needed very little time to brown somthing like 8 minutes, we really enjoyed these little treats thanks for sharing Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      We loved these! They were quick and easy and taste fantastic. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      We loved these! I used 10 tbsp of butter (which is 1 and 1/4 sticks of butter). I used dark rum. After making the dough I refrigerated it for 2 hours and then rolled it into balls...I thought that was a lot easier and I didn't need to flour my hands. It made 33 balls and they cooked for 15 minutes. After they cooled, I rolled them completely in powdered sugar. They have a very nice texture and taste strongly of pecans with an essence of rum. They aren't very sweet but are nice to have when you have lots of other sweet things around and they are good with fruit. I made them for my Polish Wigilia Dinner. Thanks for the keeper recipe Rita L!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      Great little morsels of joy! Quick to put together, too! I, too, might try rolling these in sugar the next time just to add a bit more sweeteness. Also, I used white rum in these and think a stronger tasting rum might be better for the next batch. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Gosh, I’m glad you found these. I’m not Polish, but I had to try them too. For me at least, a common theme of ZWT has been revisiting gems like this that I so enjoyed in my past. These were a routine part of X-Mas “goodie” trays & gifts in our family, altho we likely had a non-alcoholic version. Grown up now & love the rum! They will find their place in our X-Mas food gifts this yr. My DH’s family thanks you in advance for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

    • on January 11, 2006

      These didn't turn out like I was expecting. I let them sit for 2 weeks, and they weren't very good at all. Guess I'll have to keep trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      I had forgotten how much I liked these cookies. We always had similar ones on Christmas Eve at my great-grandma's house when I was a kid, but we called them something else (I can't remember what though). My husband seemed a little unsure at first. He decided they smelled kinda funny and chewwed the first one for a long time while he pondered whether or not he liked it, but eventually he declared it 'really good' and went back for another. The only changes I made were to replace 1/3 of the flour with wheat flour, added a little extra rum (1 teaspoon to a double batch) because the dough seemed to dry to hold together (I used Captain Morgan Spiced Rum by the way) and had to bake a little longer than listed, but I think that was because of the high altitude. Thanks for a great recipe. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Great cookies! I did use rum extract and finely chopped pecans instead of finely ground. These cookies will be favorites for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      I have had these before but thought they were too much hassle to make. I too rolled in suger like Karen=^..^= suggested and they were very yummy. I am taking them to work tomorrow. Wonderful cookies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      THese are like one of my favorites, wedding cookies! i always thought these were hard! Thanks for posting Rita and showing me how easy and good they are! Will be perfect for upcoming holidays!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      Easy to make! I usd 3/4 cup of icing sugar for the sweetooths in my home. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      I also used rum extract with mine and next time I think I may use a little more. Also they did seem a little on the dry side but after rolling them in sugar they are easy, pretty addition to my Christmas cookie tray. Thanks for submitting them, Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      Excellent cookies! I wish it made more...one should definitely double the batch. I mixed by hand, which was very easy and I used rum extract as a sub for the rum, but other than that, followed to a "T". I got 34 cookies out of the batch and they took exactly 12 minutes to bake. Next time, I will roll the cookies in the sugar instead of just dusting...just my personal preference with cookies like this. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polish Rum Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (529 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.5
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    63%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 8.4 mg
    2%
    Sodium 0.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes