Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Polish Pierogies (Potato Cheese) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polish Pierogies (Potato Cheese)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2009

      This was a bit of work but it made enough for 2 meals. Everyone loved it. I boiled my potaoes with 3 cloves of garlic and then whiped the garlic in with the potaotes. I follwed the recipe with the exception of the water, I used the potato water instead. The recipe mde 49 Pierogies. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      I made this recipe a few months ago and just came back to rate it today so I can easily find it. :=)These freeze very well in double bagged ziplock baggies. You'll want to freeze them on a lightly greased or parchment lined cookie sheet (or the like) prior to bagging. I used left over mashed potatoes which happened to contain real potatoes, a bit of sour cream, butter, green onions and a clove or two of garlic, minced. You can steam these when partially thawed just until hot and then sautee in butter for 1-2 minutes to keep them softer and more dumpling like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      Good recipe. The dough was quite stiff and hard to roll out. I got 33 perogies out of it, but I still had more potatoes so I made another half recipe of dough. The second time I added a bit more water and it was easier to roll out. I used homemade mashed potatoes, half with cheese and half just with onion. They tasted good and didn't fall apart while boiling. Very time-consuming, but now I have lots of perogies in my freezer for future meals!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      The only thing I would add would be to make sure they're all the way done before serving. I enjoyed them, but my mother said they were too chewy, and tasted like the dough wasn't done enough. I waited till they rose to the surface, but obviously that wasn't enough. Maybe if I baked them instead or maybe after they're boiled? Not sure. The filling was a hit at least!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Yes, making pierogies homemade is definitely worth it. I just use left over mashed potatoes and add a bit of onion powder to taste....and of course, some cheese. We can't get pierogies in China and my little man loves them. This dough recipe is right on. Perfect. It yielded 70 pierogies for me; some for today, the rest for the freezer. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I just used this recipe for the dough part, my mom made these all the time but never measured anything. The only thing I did not do was to add a the filling to the dough that is just different from the way we used to make them. I used my own cheddar cheese potato filling with real potatoes not instant. They were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I love Pierogies and the only ones I can buy here in GA are the "brand name" frozen ones, which are nowhere near as good as the ones we could buy in the shops in NJ when I was a kid. But I have now found a solution to this problem! I made half a recipe last night using my own mashed potatoes with cheddar, sour cream, dill and sautees onions. I got 18 pierogies, but I think I made mine a little on the large side. Instead of cooking them in butter after boiling them I baked them until brown on both sides (about 20 min total), making them nice and crispy on the outside! Karen, I know I've made a recipe or two of yours before, but I found this recipe through Sparkpeople.com :) Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      Made this for Freezer Tag 2008. The only changes we made were to add a tablespoon of pureed roasted garlic to the filling, which didn't affect the recipe and we used real (not instant!) mashed potatoes. These pierogies are great! We only got 34 3-inch pierogies (rather than the 50 stated); used a #70 disher, and had about half the filling left over (would either double the dough or halve the filling next time). We completed through step 10 - we boiled the pierogies, then drained them and flash froze on parchment-lined sheets. (Do NOT use wax paper here! The was will melt and stick.) Once frozen, we bagged for storage. To cook, we we sauteed the pierogies frozen in olive oil for about 4 minutes per side. Will definitely make again - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      great recipe, but have to say that sauerkraut and farmers cheese are more traditionally polish and potato is more ukranian

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      Hubby gave this 3 stars because he liked it, but it wasn't his favorite. He said I should have baked them. The dough came out perfect, but it did take a long time to make them. Worth it though. I added zucchini to the filling for some veggie flavoring and it was mild enough that it didn't mess up the flavors. I also used olive oil in place of butter and fried them in the leftover sauce/filling---delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      Easy to make except the rolling and pinching of the dough,well easy, just takes time. I cooked mine a little long since I am going to freeze a bunch. Very taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      I LOVE PIEROGIES!!! They are one of my favorite dishes! And I just eat it as my main meal all the time! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polish Pierogies (Potato Cheese)

    Serving Size: 1 (1151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 60.2
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    14%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 6.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 19.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes