12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a bit of work but it made enough for 2 meals. Everyone loved it. I boiled my potaoes with 3 cloves of garlic and then whiped the garlic in with the potaotes. I follwed the recipe with the exception of the water, I used the potato water instead. The recipe mde 49 Pierogies. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parris Original August 12, 2009

I made this recipe a few months ago and just came back to rate it today so I can easily find it. :=)These freeze very well in double bagged ziplock baggies. You'll want to freeze them on a lightly greased or parchment lined cookie sheet (or the like) prior to bagging. I used left over mashed potatoes which happened to contain real potatoes, a bit of sour cream, butter, green onions and a clove or two of garlic, minced. You can steam these when partially thawed just until hot and then sautee in butter for 1-2 minutes to keep them softer and more dumpling like.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberlyrose September 10, 2008

Good recipe. The dough was quite stiff and hard to roll out. I got 33 perogies out of it, but I still had more potatoes so I made another half recipe of dough. The second time I added a bit more water and it was easier to roll out. I used homemade mashed potatoes, half with cheese and half just with onion. They tasted good and didn't fall apart while boiling. Very time-consuming, but now I have lots of perogies in my freezer for future meals!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner October 26, 2003

The only thing I would add would be to make sure they're all the way done before serving. I enjoyed them, but my mother said they were too chewy, and tasted like the dough wasn't done enough. I waited till they rose to the surface, but obviously that wasn't enough. Maybe if I baked them instead or maybe after they're boiled? Not sure. The filling was a hit at least!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rangergurl March 28, 2011

Yes, making pierogies homemade is definitely worth it. I just use left over mashed potatoes and add a bit of onion powder to taste....and of course, some cheese. We can't get pierogies in China and my little man loves them. This dough recipe is right on. Perfect. It yielded 70 pierogies for me; some for today, the rest for the freezer. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ November 01, 2010

I just used this recipe for the dough part, my mom made these all the time but never measured anything. The only thing I did not do was to add a the filling to the dough that is just different from the way we used to make them. I used my own cheddar cheese potato filling with real potatoes not instant. They were great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whiskerkitty November 01, 2009

I love Pierogies and the only ones I can buy here in GA are the "brand name" frozen ones, which are nowhere near as good as the ones we could buy in the shops in NJ when I was a kid. But I have now found a solution to this problem! I made half a recipe last night using my own mashed potatoes with cheddar, sour cream, dill and sautees onions. I got 18 pierogies, but I think I made mine a little on the large side. Instead of cooking them in butter after boiling them I baked them until brown on both sides (about 20 min total), making them nice and crispy on the outside! Karen, I know I've made a recipe or two of yours before, but I found this recipe through Sparkpeople.com :) Thanks for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean August 18, 2009

Made this for Freezer Tag 2008. The only changes we made were to add a tablespoon of pureed roasted garlic to the filling, which didn't affect the recipe and we used real (not instant!) mashed potatoes. These pierogies are great! We only got 34 3-inch pierogies (rather than the 50 stated); used a #70 disher, and had about half the filling left over (would either double the dough or halve the filling next time). We completed through step 10 - we boiled the pierogies, then drained them and flash froze on parchment-lined sheets. (Do NOT use wax paper here! The was will melt and stick.) Once frozen, we bagged for storage. To cook, we we sauteed the pierogies frozen in olive oil for about 4 minutes per side. Will definitely make again - thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrisLady April 02, 2008

great recipe, but have to say that sauerkraut and farmers cheese are more traditionally polish and potato is more ukranian

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marty J February 28, 2008

Hubby gave this 3 stars because he liked it, but it wasn't his favorite. He said I should have baked them. The dough came out perfect, but it did take a long time to make them. Worth it though. I added zucchini to the filling for some veggie flavoring and it was mild enough that it didn't mess up the flavors. I also used olive oil in place of butter and fried them in the leftover sauce/filling---delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Gourmande July 25, 2007
Polish Pierogies (Potato Cheese)