Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Polish Jam Kolaches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polish Jam Kolaches

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2010

      Very good. I never had any of the preserves running-all-over problems that I've read some people have with these. Though this is probably the standard, authentic Polish recipe, I will revise recipe next time by making a sweetened cream cheese mixture that I spread on each cookie before adding the preserves. Will do this for my husband's and my taste. We each agreed that we'd like them to be a sweeter cookie. Also, I used lemon curd along with my raspberry preserves. Twas fantastic. Next time I will make some lemon curd kolaches without the added raspberry preserves. Judging by what the ones I made tasted like, I think the lemon curd ones will end up being our favorites. I'll try to remember to come back here and report how it all turns out. Oh, by the way, I also made apricot/pineapple preserve kolaches. They were yummy also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      I made these for our very first Polish Christmas Eve (Wigilia) this year. My family is Polish and many of my Great Grandmother's recipes were never written down and are lost forever. It was truly a treat to find this fabulous traditional recipe for our holiday meal. We thoroughly enjoyed them and will be making them again in the future. I particularly love them with a cup of hot tea. Many Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

    • on January 27, 2011

      I made these for the holiday cookie tray and forgot to review. They were even better than the ones my in-laws bring home from the Polish deli in Chicago! The real test was when my husband's Polish grandma tried one and proclaimed it to be "the real deal". I used Polaner All-Fruit strawberry jam, but I would like to try other flavors next time too. These will definitely be appearing on the cookie tray every year from now on. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Elmotoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      These are just like the ones we used to get when I was a kid. Very tasty. I admit I cheated and patted the dough out instead of rolling. I used black raspberry jam for the filling. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Very easy to do and VERY TASTY! I'm Polish, but grew up here, and I was so excited to find this recipe! Now I can actually make the goodies I would eat in Poland when visiting! Thanks for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Mmmm, what a yummy cookie recipe! I found the dough very easy to work with and luved the finished cookies! They came out with a crunchy top and had a lovely taste! I used a rather tart blueberry jam, so that I added some vanilla sugar (8g) to the dough, which added a really nice touch. I made half the recipe and ended up with 15 rather big kolaches. This wonderful recipe will surely be made again in my house and probably be added to my holiday give-away cookie bags. :) THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this gem of a recipe with us, Elmotoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Yum! These were just like Aunt Ruth's. I chilled the dough for a couple hours for easier handling and used raspberry jam. They were tasty and tender. I'll be making several batches for Christmas. They were much easier to make than I expected. Thanks for sharing the recipe Bethie! Made for Fall 2009 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Very good. I refrigerated the dough and it was easy to work with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I hadn't had these in years - since moving from the Detroit metro area, where Polish communities abound, and where these are probably the most common cookie available. Not so in Tampa Bay, so I found your recipe and made them myself.. I'm not an experienced baker AT ALL, but found no problem making these, in fact it was pretty simple. Having worked with cream cheese doughs before, I know that you need to *refrigerate the dough for an hour* prior to attempting to roll it out - it will firm up and make it much easier to work with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

    • on June 18, 2008

      These were very good. I used a mixed tropical fruit jam (mango, pineapple, orange). Made for ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      These are so pretty, dainty looking and delicious. Easy to make. Thank you. Made for ZWT4 forThe Mamma Mias

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Wow, these cookies are addicting. Very buttery and they just melt in your mouth, delicious! Thanks :) Made these for ZWT4 for the Chic Chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      These were so easy to make and looked so pretty when we finished! I let my daughters help me make them. One spread the jam and the other rolled the edges together. We had such a fun time making and eating these! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      They taste good but I had trouble getting the dough to stick together. I think it needs to be wetter to work better. But it still tasted good and worked out okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      I made these for a small little concession stand for a one-act play contest at my school. Most people didn't know what they were, but when they tried them, they kept coming back to have more. :D It was a big hit. At home, it's no less popular. Everybody loves them, and it's fun to have different jams according to everyone's tastes. There's not one person that didn't love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      looks so good im going to make them today!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      These are excellant Elmotoo, very quick and easy to make. I found the dough easy to work with, but did have a little difficulty getting the sides to stay together. The cookies puffed up nice and light, crisp with a lovely flavour. I used homemade strawberry jam and apple butter. Both were excellant in the cookie. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      I buy these at a Polish bakery for my mom. Apricot and raspberry filling are her favorite so I used those flavors of jam. The dough is a bit tricky to work with but when you taste these cookies you will love them! I spread a bit of water on the dough to help make a better seal. Great recipe Bethie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polish Jam Kolaches

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1048.2
     
    Calories from Fat 552
    52%
    Total Fat 61.4 g
    94%
    Saturated Fat 37.5 g
    187%
    Cholesterol 168.8 mg
    56%
    Sodium 561.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 114.2 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 42.9 g
    171%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites