Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Polish Dill Pickle Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polish Dill Pickle Soup

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2011

      Mmmm....we loved this soup. Three people emptied the pot! I have used both soy milk and fat free half and half to make this. Both turned out fine. I've used garlic dills and regular. It's a forgiving recipe for adjusting quantities based on what's in the larder also. Thanks for sharing, Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Really great recipe! Very easy, super inexpensive and delicious. I used my mini chopper to prep my pickles and I diced baby red skin potatoes. After they got soft enough I used potato masher to break them up some more but also leave a little bit of texture. I could not find instant flour so I used quick mixing flour for sauces and gravy and it worked great. Please, do yourself a favor and use fresh dill in this recipe. It adds ton of wonderful flavor. It's one of my favorite soups and I will use this recipe over and over. Thank you Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I used to work with a girl from Hamtramck (the old Polish community of Detroit). She bragged about how good her mom's Dill Pickle Soup was. NOW I know what all the fuss was about! I made half the recipe. It's hard to halve an egg, so I hardboiled it and chopped it up as garnish with the sour cream and dill. As one reviewer suggested I used the best pickles (Vlasic garlic dills, of course). Excellent Rita! This is a keeper. Made and enjoyed for PAC Spring 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Oh my gosh, I cannot praise this soup enough! As a pickle and soup lover, it is hands down, my favorite soup. Since making this the first time, I crave it all the time and make it on a weekly basis. Sounds odd, but even my skeptical mother and sister approved. Cheap and delicious!

      I make changes depending on which ingredients I have on hand...I've made this with instant mashed potatoes (Four Cheese, Garlic...I do prefer it with actual potatoes though) as well as hamburger dill pickle chips, baby dills, and spears. I think it works best with baby dills as they maintain more of a bite through the cooking process. I leave out the egg and butter and use cornstarch rather than flour. I also like to add about a tsp of dried dill.

      I'm eating this right now! Yummmm! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This was my first dill pickle soup - so, so good! The only real change I made was adding onion. I did one medium onion in the food processor, then sauteed it in the pot with some fresh dill before adding the pickles, potato, etc. Lovely. The sour cream is very important, in my opinion. Ties it all together. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Delicious! I had a craving for this soup today, but didn't have any potatoes. I made it as written the first time, but today, I used instant mashed potatoes to save me a trip to the store. It was good this way, too, in a pinch! If you use instant mashed potatoes you can eliminate the flour, as there's no need to thicken the soup. I used half and half instead of milk, and added more pickle juice to taste. Also added 1t dill weed to the soup itself. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      This is great! I was afraid it would be overly salty because of the pickle juice so I just added pepper. I ended up needing to add salt, but did it after I served it. I could not tell whether I needed to peel the potatoes or not. I made mine with peeled potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Very tasty. The pickle flavor cooks off, even if you put chunks in there. I think I would use more pickles next time. I had turkey stock so that's what I used. Much more subtle than I thought it would be. I think the sour cream garnish is important. I melted the butter, cooled it, and added the egg. When I added the egg to the soup it did the egg drop soup blossoming thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      This was the first time trying this soup.
      It was very good I also sauted some onion to start and
      Omited the egg and thickened it a bit with potato starch
      Or flakes. Try with saltine crackers. Yummers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Tickles the taste buds! Tried this at a polish restaurat and had to try it out for myself. Here's my take on it... I added 4 cups veg broth and 2 cups beef. I added LOTS more pickle juice(the whole container and a third of another I had handy) because it needs the extra omph if you're looking for the pickle flavor! I shaved the pickles in with a potato peeler and did the same with some carrots. Also, the potatoes needed longer than 10 minutes to soften. Lastly, sorry vegetarians but i needed some protein!- I made bite size turkey meatballs the day before and added them to my soup after it was all cooked. Turned out to be hearty with the perfect zing at the end. This one goes down in the books!! See below for the meatball recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      Very easy and cheap! Next time I might add some more things to it for flavor - despite the pickleness it was a little too bland for our tastes. But overall a fun recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Nothing like making a soup where the family fights to lick the pot!!! Well loved.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Zupa Ogorki!! Rita, this is wonderful. My great aunt used to make a soup very similar to this, using her homemade hot, spicy pickles and leftover mashed potatoes. So that's how I proceeded. Don't even want to hint at how much of this I ate (with pierogies and my dad's rye bread on the side...Polish heaven!). Thank you, thank you, for reminding me...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Ok, just finished making this recipe. I have enjoyed a pickle soup at my local Polish bistro. It's the leadup to a stunning Steak Tar Tar. Heaven. It was identical up until the egg. I think just the yoke should be used otherwise, it takes on this Hot & Sour soup look. Forget the milk, Heavy cream as I am sure it was fresh from the tit in the homeland. Shread a little carrot for color & you need at least a cup of dill brine. Yes, boil Russets before adding! Yowza!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Pickles make me happy and this soup made me ecstatic! It's like sassy potato soup. :) I've made this a couple times now and I would note that the quality of pickles does make a difference. Use the good stuff! Oh, and the sour cream and dill additions put this absolutely over the top. Thanks for yet another winner, Rita! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Heaven for pickle lovers - I saw this in "The Best of Zaar World Tour 4" and had to try it! Our execution of the recipe was a comedy of errors but it was fun! We didn't boil the potatoes in advance so cooked in step #1 for 25-30 minutes and then mashed the potatoes down in the pot. By mistake I scrambled the egg when I dropped it in; I'm not sure if that's what was meant to happen. Next time we'll add more potatoes to make it thicker. The real estate investors' special: this recipe makes a huge pot, and is very filling and satisfying...and you can still make your mortgage payments!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This is absolutely delicious Rita!! I love it!! I have never heard of pickle soup before. I love pickles and was interested in the recipe. I cut the recipe in half since I didn't know if I would like it.I don't have whole pickles but I do have Hamburger Dill Slices. I chopped up enough of the pickle slices to make one cup. Also, in the ingredients list it says to use boiled sliced potatoes but in step one it says to cook the broth/potato mixture until the potatoes start to get soft so I didn't cook my potatoes beforehand.Besides the potato skins have nutrients in them. I used white potatoes. I had some half and half and some cream in my fridge that needed to be used up so I used them in place of milk. It made for a creamier soup. This is definitely comfort food. I will be making this a lot. Thanks for sharing your recipe Rita. Made for ZWT 4-EE for the Cafe ZMAKK Gypsies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Sounded so weird, I had to try it! It was great! I used Trader Joe's dill pickles. My husband loved it & I made my mother try it too...She was complaining to family that it sounded like it would taste like sour milk! Then she tried it and had to call them and tell them it was great, she said, "It has a very nice flavor". It's good plain and with sour cream & dill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I'm 1/4 Polish and never had this until I was in my 40's - I have been missing out for so long! I used regular flour and it was just fine. For the potatoes I made them almost like slivers. I liked being able to bite into them. I make my own chicken broth so there was some chicken in the pot.<br/>I froze half of it in freezer bags and it came out great. I'll probably double it in the future just so I can freeze it and have a yummy bowlful on a whim.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      Very good recipe. If you like more of a pickle flavor, I suggest to add more juice. I also temper sour cream and add it while it's cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polish Dill Pickle Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.4
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    43%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 28.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 514.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    pickle juice

    instant flour

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites