40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mmmm....we loved this soup. Three people emptied the pot! I have used both soy milk and fat free half and half to make this. Both turned out fine. I've used garlic dills and regular. It's a forgiving recipe for adjusting quantities based on what's in the larder also. Thanks for sharing, Rita.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle March 04, 2011

Very tasty. The pickle flavor cooks off, even if you put chunks in there. I think I would use more pickles next time. I had turkey stock so that's what I used. Much more subtle than I thought it would be. I think the sour cream garnish is important. I melted the butter, cooled it, and added the egg. When I added the egg to the soup it did the egg drop soup blossoming thing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom March 25, 2010

Really great recipe! Very easy, super inexpensive and delicious. I used my mini chopper to prep my pickles and I diced baby red skin potatoes. After they got soft enough I used potato masher to break them up some more but also leave a little bit of texture. I could not find instant flour so I used quick mixing flour for sauces and gravy and it worked great. Please, do yourself a favor and use fresh dill in this recipe. It adds ton of wonderful flavor. It's one of my favorite soups and I will use this recipe over and over. Thank you Rita!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Asha* December 06, 2009

I used to work with a girl from Hamtramck (the old Polish community of Detroit). She bragged about how good her mom's Dill Pickle Soup was. NOW I know what all the fuss was about! I made half the recipe. It's hard to halve an egg, so I hardboiled it and chopped it up as garnish with the sour cream and dill. As one reviewer suggested I used the best pickles (Vlasic garlic dills, of course). Excellent Rita! This is a keeper. Made and enjoyed for PAC Spring 09.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn April 22, 2009

Oh my gosh, I cannot praise this soup enough! As a pickle and soup lover, it is hands down, my favorite soup. Since making this the first time, I crave it all the time and make it on a weekly basis. Sounds odd, but even my skeptical mother and sister approved. Cheap and delicious!

I make changes depending on which ingredients I have on hand...I've made this with instant mashed potatoes (Four Cheese, Garlic...I do prefer it with actual potatoes though) as well as hamburger dill pickle chips, baby dills, and spears. I think it works best with baby dills as they maintain more of a bite through the cooking process. I leave out the egg and butter and use cornstarch rather than flour. I also like to add about a tsp of dried dill.

I'm eating this right now! Yummmm! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vestalis February 05, 2012

This was my first dill pickle soup - so, so good! The only real change I made was adding onion. I did one medium onion in the food processor, then sauteed it in the pot with some fresh dill before adding the pickles, potato, etc. Lovely. The sour cream is very important, in my opinion. Ties it all together. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyhobbesy January 22, 2012

Delicious! I had a craving for this soup today, but didn't have any potatoes. I made it as written the first time, but today, I used instant mashed potatoes to save me a trip to the store. It was good this way, too, in a pinch! If you use instant mashed potatoes you can eliminate the flour, as there's no need to thicken the soup. I used half and half instead of milk, and added more pickle juice to taste. Also added 1t dill weed to the soup itself. Yum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NutmeggerCT November 26, 2011

This is great! I was afraid it would be overly salty because of the pickle juice so I just added pepper. I ended up needing to add salt, but did it after I served it. I could not tell whether I needed to peel the potatoes or not. I made mine with peeled potatoes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harbortowngirl February 10, 2011

Ok, just finished making this recipe. I have enjoyed a pickle soup at my local Polish bistro. It's the leadup to a stunning Steak Tar Tar. Heaven. It was identical up until the egg. I think just the yoke should be used otherwise, it takes on this Hot & Sour soup look. Forget the milk, Heavy cream as I am sure it was fresh from the tit in the homeland. Shread a little carrot for color & you need at least a cup of dill brine. Yes, boil Russets before adding! Yowza!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmole October 08, 2008

Pickles make me happy and this soup made me ecstatic! It's like sassy potato soup. :) I've made this a couple times now and I would note that the quality of pickles does make a difference. Use the good stuff! Oh, and the sour cream and dill additions put this absolutely over the top. Thanks for yet another winner, Rita! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SunsetHappy July 20, 2008
Polish Dill Pickle Soup