14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just shows that simple can be very good. I used chicken and served with bread as you suggested. I used 1/2 tablespoon hot smoked paprika powder and half normal. From what was left I made soup the next day, by adding some stock and cooked macaroni.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us April 10, 2003

Yum! I added onion and celery and used boneless chicken thighs. This was easy and delicious. I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka August 16, 2008

Good and easy, on a day when I had no idea what to cook, I saw this recipe and that did it for me. Thanks we all enjoyed. Yak

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yak67 March 02, 2008

So good and easy to make! I used stew meat that I browned in some olive oil and half of a medium head of cabbage. This is a simple recipe with great flavor, comfort food at its best. Thank you CountryLady, will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 30, 2007

YUMMMMY! I sauteed an onion and garlic firstly and added in some red pepper flakes for heat, also a can of undiluted tomato soup. Will serve it with rice. Thanks Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 26, 2006

I made this with a Savoy cabbage, 4 organic chicken breasts and Evelyn's Fried Red Tomatoes Evelyn's Fried Red Tomatoes instead of the canned tomatoes. I also added 4 roughly chopped cloves of garlic. I sampled a bit: delicious. I’ll be reheating it for tonight’s dinner. Next time I make this, I’ll double it. It is a dish that will freeze well. It tasted like something my German grandmother might have made. Thanks for sharing this recipe, CountryLady.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 05, 2005

Comfort food! I added a small chopped onion and few cloves of garlic for added flavor. Served with a scoop of white rice. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) November 02, 2005

A great recipe Only change I made was using diced tomatoes with garlic.Had a friend in for dinner who happened to be Polish and she loved it - asked for the recipe.I'll make it again -with Kielbasa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
floridamamma September 13, 2005

Well i come from Poland and Ive never heard of such combination..but it sounds encouraging :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
satine_170 July 24, 2005

Well, very mixed reviews here for this. I thought it was ok. A little bland but served over brown rice it was fine. And the kids enjoyed it a lot. My husband on the other hand, really did not like it at all. He thought it had not taste and has asked not to have it again. I'm glad I tried it, though!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit September 09, 2004
Polish Cabbage Casserole