Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Polish Bigos / Hunter's Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polish Bigos / Hunter's Stew

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2012

      A taste of home during the holidays. Priceless. Thank you so much for sharing this outstanding recipe. I totally agree with another reviewer that it is impossible to just have one serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      hey guys really looking forward to cooking bigos, my ex made it all the time and thought i would learn, thanks for the recipe, hope i get it right!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      Made this recipe today and it is certainly a 5 star dish. I used smoked ham hocks in place of the smoked butt. I cut the whole thing in half, substituted some breakfast sausage for the spare ribs and used some chicken broth instead of water. It turned out great. I'm looking forward to trying the recipe just as its written. I have made alot of bigos and this one is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Oh Boy! What a dish! I wanted to make something different for New Year's day. I'm always asked to make my stew but this time it had to be different.....and this took the cake. Had to have something I could make in advance cause I was very busy with my doggy daycare and lodging, being the X-mas holidays. I had to make a few adjustments but nothing to really change this delightful meal. Could not find a smoked pork butt so used just the plain type, but used smoked thick cut bacon. I cut up fresh Roma tomatoes for the canned and added an extra 1/2 cup water. My cabbages were a bit small so I used a whole onion. Also had gotten a great buy of Portabello mushrooms so I used only them. I cooked this two days early and then simmered it for three hrs. on the 1st. I added the potatoes to the stew at that time. The house smelled wonderful! I bought a uncut rye loaf of bread and tore it into chunks to eat with stew. My girlfriend baked and brought two apple pies, but only two slices were eaten.....cause EVERYBODY went for 2nds and even 3rds of the stew! This gal really thanks you Rita for helping bring in the New Year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Dziękują (Thank You!) Wonderful hearty stew. I love Bigos and this is one of the best recipes I've ever made. Made for ZWT4 I can't wait for some cold weather to make it again--it's so comforting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      This is delicious! It is even better than the restaurant recipe I was looking to duplicate! I couldn't get spare ribs, so I left them out, I used dried morels for the dried mushrooms, and I drained and rinsed the sauerkraut before adding it to the pot. Very tasty, and will feed an army!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      Being of Polish decent i was bought up on begos and other Polish dishes,for many years i have been looking for a recipe for begos that will deliver an authentic taste as i remember from my child hood.This certainly does that,just as i remember it,the recipe is easy to follow and the results outstanding,i have found that the recipe works as well with any meat left overs and any smoked sausage,if you want a slightly more wetter stew i just added a quantity of chicken boulion stock to give the required consistency.And this recipe certainly does taste better the next day,so try to make at least a day in advance. Many thanks for the recipe Regards Robert Bednarski Leicester England

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This is very good. It has a very strong flavor and you can't eat too much of it but a little is very filling and warming. I made a half recipe 2 days before Christmas to reheat on Christmas day. The only smoked pork I could find was hock so I put them in in the first stage and then removed them. I doubled the loin chops and left out the spareribs. I used kielbasa. I used sliced mushrooms and canned diced tomatoes. It would help to reorder the ingredients with the instructions. Also the instructions didn't say when to add the bay leaves (I'm assuming with the salt and pepper?). Thanks for the recipe Rita L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Made this for a party and everyone enjoyed it. Added caraway seeds to the sauerkraut

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polish Bigos / Hunter's Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (451 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.3
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    54%
    Total Fat 21.2 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 80.8 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1218.8 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    smoked pork butt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites