12 Reviews

This is the third year in a row I've used this recipe (kind of). I try to follow the tradition of using up what's in the freezer to make room for the new harvest. This year, all the meat with the exception of kielbasa and bacon was harvested by me or the next-door neighbor. Turkey I raised, some garden-eating rabbits I harvested and crawdads I caught along with some doves my neighbor harvested. I also made the sauerkraut myself. This recipe is great place to start and expand from there.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott M. November 30, 2015

Polish bigos uses mushrooms, but they have to be wild forest mushrooms,could be dried but not champignons and the sausage on the picture is way too big (or wide).It should be less than inch in diameter.Now ,I just got msg from Rita ,that the pix wasn't her and that it is hard to find dried wild forest mushrooms outside of Poland and i agree :) So i raise my rating to five stars for brave Rita,trying to make perfect dish under not perfect circumstances:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maciej B. December 22, 2014

A taste of home during the holidays. Priceless. Thank you so much for sharing this outstanding recipe. I totally agree with another reviewer that it is impossible to just have one serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp November 21, 2012

hey guys really looking forward to cooking bigos, my ex made it all the time and thought i would learn, thanks for the recipe, hope i get it right!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
young81 April 24, 2013

Made this recipe today and it is certainly a 5 star dish. I used smoked ham hocks in place of the smoked butt. I cut the whole thing in half, substituted some breakfast sausage for the spare ribs and used some chicken broth instead of water. It turned out great. I'm looking forward to trying the recipe just as its written. I have made alot of bigos and this one is a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duke645 January 25, 2013

Oh Boy! What a dish! I wanted to make something different for New Year's day. I'm always asked to make my stew but this time it had to be different.....and this took the cake. Had to have something I could make in advance cause I was very busy with my doggy daycare and lodging, being the X-mas holidays. I had to make a few adjustments but nothing to really change this delightful meal. Could not find a smoked pork butt so used just the plain type, but used smoked thick cut bacon. I cut up fresh Roma tomatoes for the canned and added an extra 1/2 cup water. My cabbages were a bit small so I used a whole onion. Also had gotten a great buy of Portabello mushrooms so I used only them. I cooked this two days early and then simmered it for three hrs. on the 1st. I added the potatoes to the stew at that time. The house smelled wonderful! I bought a uncut rye loaf of bread and tore it into chunks to eat with stew. My girlfriend baked and brought two apple pies, but only two slices were eaten.....cause EVERYBODY went for 2nds and even 3rds of the stew! This gal really thanks you Rita for helping bring in the New Year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 January 01, 2012

Dziękują (Thank You!) Wonderful hearty stew. I love Bigos and this is one of the best recipes I've ever made. Made for ZWT4 I can't wait for some cold weather to make it again--it's so comforting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harley Quinn June 17, 2008

This is delicious! It is even better than the restaurant recipe I was looking to duplicate! I couldn't get spare ribs, so I left them out, I used dried morels for the dried mushrooms, and I drained and rinsed the sauerkraut before adding it to the pot. Very tasty, and will feed an army!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xtine October 16, 2007

Being of Polish decent i was bought up on begos and other Polish dishes,for many years i have been looking for a recipe for begos that will deliver an authentic taste as i remember from my child hood.This certainly does that,just as i remember it,the recipe is easy to follow and the results outstanding,i have found that the recipe works as well with any meat left overs and any smoked sausage,if you want a slightly more wetter stew i just added a quantity of chicken boulion stock to give the required consistency.And this recipe certainly does taste better the next day,so try to make at least a day in advance. Many thanks for the recipe Regards Robert Bednarski Leicester England

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
f.t January 11, 2007

This is very good. It has a very strong flavor and you can't eat too much of it but a little is very filling and warming. I made a half recipe 2 days before Christmas to reheat on Christmas day. The only smoked pork I could find was hock so I put them in in the first stage and then removed them. I doubled the loin chops and left out the spareribs. I used kielbasa. I used sliced mushrooms and canned diced tomatoes. It would help to reorder the ingredients with the instructions. Also the instructions didn't say when to add the bay leaves (I'm assuming with the salt and pepper?). Thanks for the recipe Rita L.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed December 26, 2006
Polish Bigos / Hunter's Stew