70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very delicious! We cooked it up as part of our Thanksgiving feast and intended to have it as an appetizer, but it ended up being served with the turkey and trimmings. These savory-sweet sausage tidbits were a hit! This recipe will be a regular at our holiday table now. I made another half batch experimenting with browning the sausages slowly over medium heat to render off some of the fat before I mixed in the sauce. I think I will do it that way next time I make this. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W November 25, 2005

I'm not going to rate these. I loved them, but DH and the people I served them to at our weekly Mexican Train game must not have cared much for them either as there weren't very many gone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea November 09, 2013

I'm Polish, and have never heard of a dish like this before. My family definitely never made it, and all they've ever eaten was Polish food. It's quite good though, and I'm surprised I liked it as I really don't care for kielbasa at all. Served for a party, and it disappeared almost right away and people wouldn't stop raving. These taste like cocktail weenies, and I'm sure would taste great with other types of sausage or maybe even hot dogs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer August 19, 2013

I made this for me and my boyfriend and we did not like it. I was not expecting it to be so sweet and I kept looking at the recipe because it seemed as though I had left something out. It seems as though it needs something to balance out all of the acidic things in it. Maybe it would be good with a cup of ketchup or Worcestershire sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nettychris January 02, 2013

This was super sweet, but tasty. Can't eat very many at once, but it was on a buffet line of appetizers at our party, so people generally only take a few anyway. This is super close to most cocktail weenie recipes, but I think the larger chunks of meat kept a better texture. I used regular smoked sausage and sliced it in half length-wise before cutting into bite sized pieces. I cooked it on the stove top about 45 minutes and then transferred to a mini crockpot on low.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy January 01, 2013

We really loved this! I used peach instead of apricot preserves. My husband particularly liked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G December 11, 2011

Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gmode January 02, 2011

I made this for our superbowl party and it did not go over well. I did make this in the crockpot, so maybe that is the reason it didn't turn out well; although others have said they do this in the crockpot and reviews were high for them. we love kielbasa, but we did not like this at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids February 17, 2010

doubled the recipe cause we had friends over....not sure if they got to taste it as my 17 year old daughter made this her main dish and about cleaned out the crockpot! Easy and was not too expensive to make as everything was on sale (kielbasa and store brand preserves). We will be making this again, thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NC Gal December 27, 2009

Polish Appetizers #146022 by L-Burden Prepared this recipe for “Let’s Party�---both the one at RZ and the one at my friend’s house. So all afternoon I have been tortured by this wonderful smell. I finally broke down and had a taste. Now I’m having a hard time not gobbling up many more bites before my friend’s party, tonight. Two days ago, my husband had some of the kiebasa that I used in my recipe today. He informed me that it wasn’t the best kielbasa we’ve had. However, when it was simmered in this great sauce, it was delicious. I didn’t have Dijon, so I used regular mustard. Will try the Dijon next time. Thanks, L-Burden, for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FiGal December 15, 2009
Polish Appetizer