71 Reviews

I somehow forgot to review this recipe after the dozen or so times we've made it. Very popular at our football parties. It is also very flexible. We usually add a couple teaspoons of hot sauce if we are using kielbasa. We also like using hot links once in awhile (without the hot sauce). Thanks for the great appetizer, L-Burden.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids October 18, 2010

Well, since I am Polish, it figures I would love these! LOL I did like some other reviewers did and browned the saugage and drained the fat before adding to the other ingredients. Thanks for posting, L-Burden!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie September 14, 2009

This is the best! When I first put everything together, I wasn't so sure, but after combining everything, I let it set on low in the crockpot. After about two hours, it smelled and tasted so good! My husband eats the leftovers (if there are any) with breakfast until it is gone. I have used apricot preserves and pineapple jam, and also the peach jam from Peach Jam, and they all have turned out great.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy August 01, 2007

This sounds good! I am Polish, too, and I make another version of the "crock pot kielbasa" where I use 4-5 lbs. of kielbasa, 4 jars of chili sauce, and 2-3 cups of brown sugar and that's it. It's amazing the stuff you can do with kielbasa!! I am anxious to try your version!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill Shinsky August 15, 2012

We loved this! It is great, I didn't have any Dijon mustard, so I had to use honey mustard, but it was still delicious. And I can't wait to make it again, since my family gobbled this up pretty darn quick! Dziekuje!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula October 08, 2009

I let the sauce cook in the crockpot until it was smooth and clear, and then browned the sausage before adding it. I think this would be too sweet for me to eat a lot at once, but delicious in smaller amounts and very easy. I might try adding a little bit of red pepper or using a spicy sausage next time to counter some of the sweetness, but very good as is. Thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle February 24, 2009

I wish I would have read the reviews before I make this I would have browned the meat first to get out some of the moisture. I purchased a lower fat content sausage so that was not an issue but I wonder if they added water to make up for less fat? Very easy and good. I added red pepper flakes to spice it up. Liked it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChiefCook&BottleWasher January 11, 2008

These sausages were excellent! I learned the hard way not to put them in a crockpot unless you have a warm setting on it. They tasted so good when I put them in but not so good after they were in the crockpot on low for a while! I am rating this on the taste before I put them in the crockpot. They were great!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TansGram January 05, 2007

Very good. watch out Make plenty as I keep eating them before they were done so did not have much left. I used fresh ginger and tripled the amount as you use more fresh than powder. Did not have quite enough apricot preserve so in the end added some pineapple apricot preserve. i added a little more lemon juice plus fresh ginger adds a tang that countere acts the sweetness. So good and I don't like overly sweet and this was not when I added my small change. Oh I used Summer sausage instead of kielbasa as I had bought some at christmas.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady January 28, 2012

Really good. Made this spicy polska sausage. Added some blackberry jam and it was well received.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest October 17, 2010
Polish Appetizer