Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Polish Appetizer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polish Appetizer

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2010

      I somehow forgot to review this recipe after the dozen or so times we've made it. Very popular at our football parties. It is also very flexible. We usually add a couple teaspoons of hot sauce if we are using kielbasa. We also like using hot links once in awhile (without the hot sauce). Thanks for the great appetizer, L-Burden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Well, since I am Polish, it figures I would love these! LOL I did like some other reviewers did and browned the saugage and drained the fat before adding to the other ingredients. Thanks for posting, L-Burden!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This is the best! When I first put everything together, I wasn't so sure, but after combining everything, I let it set on low in the crockpot. After about two hours, it smelled and tasted so good! My husband eats the leftovers (if there are any) with breakfast until it is gone. I have used apricot preserves and pineapple jam, and also the peach jam from Peach Jam, and they all have turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      This sounds good! I am Polish, too, and I make another version of the "crock pot kielbasa" where I use 4-5 lbs. of kielbasa, 4 jars of chili sauce, and 2-3 cups of brown sugar and that's it. It's amazing the stuff you can do with kielbasa!! I am anxious to try your version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      We loved this! It is great, I didn't have any Dijon mustard, so I had to use honey mustard, but it was still delicious. And I can't wait to make it again, since my family gobbled this up pretty darn quick! Dziekuje!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I let the sauce cook in the crockpot until it was smooth and clear, and then browned the sausage before adding it. I think this would be too sweet for me to eat a lot at once, but delicious in smaller amounts and very easy. I might try adding a little bit of red pepper or using a spicy sausage next time to counter some of the sweetness, but very good as is. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      I wish I would have read the reviews before I make this I would have browned the meat first to get out some of the moisture. I purchased a lower fat content sausage so that was not an issue but I wonder if they added water to make up for less fat? Very easy and good. I added red pepper flakes to spice it up. Liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      These sausages were excellent! I learned the hard way not to put them in a crockpot unless you have a warm setting on it. They tasted so good when I put them in but not so good after they were in the crockpot on low for a while! I am rating this on the taste before I put them in the crockpot. They were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Very good. watch out Make plenty as I keep eating them before they were done so did not have much left. I used fresh ginger and tripled the amount as you use more fresh than powder. Did not have quite enough apricot preserve so in the end added some pineapple apricot preserve. i added a little more lemon juice plus fresh ginger adds a tang that countere acts the sweetness. So good and I don't like overly sweet and this was not when I added my small change. Oh I used Summer sausage instead of kielbasa as I had bought some at christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Really good. Made this spicy polska sausage. Added some blackberry jam and it was well received.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I wonder why I hadn't noticed this recipe before? I must have been baking biscuits or hem-stitching my chartreuse-colored apron. Delicious, but I think I'd cut back on the lemon juice a tad. Made for P-A-R-T-Y Holiday Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      These were good! I really liked how the glaze wasn't too overpowering and it wasn't too sweet. Good with little smokies too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I had high hopes for this one giving all the other reviews, but we did not like it. It was very sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Made this for an appetizer on Thanksgiving and it was gone in no time. Easy and yummy! Browned the sausage and prepared the sauce the day before, refrigerated overnight, then heated up in a crockpot for serving. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      We made this for a Thanksgiving app, and everyone loved it!! We did brown the sausage beforehand and we did a little too much, next time we will just for a little bit. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Delicious and so easy. I admit I skipped the step of reducing the sauce on the stove prior to putting this in a crock pot and will not skip that step again as my sauce didn't reduce to a yummy glaze. The sausage still tasted great - I had doubled the recipe and there were only a few pieces left. Thanks for a great addition to my appetizer collection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      VERY GOOD ~ I was looking for a different appetizer to have watching my favorite football team (GO PATS) and we really enjoyed these. Thanks for posting ~ This is a keeper :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I did as the other reviewers and browned the kielbasa in a skillet before adding to my crockpot. These were the absolute fav. of the party! I doubled the recipe and had only 5 leftover when the party was done. This was such a quick and filling snack. THANKS

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Excellent! A true party pleaser. I did what other reviewers did and browned kielbasa first. I then added the cooked sauce and heated thoroughly and transferred to my crockpot for about two hours. It came out fabulous so this is how I will make it (and it will be made again and again) in the future. I also doubled the recipe, and I'm glad I did!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Loved loved loved!! needed something fast to hold over my extremely carnivorous BF so i could safely finish supper. we like a little spice so i added a bit more ginger and some crushed red pepper. awesome all the way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polish Appetizer

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.8
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    51%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 49.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 722.8 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 24.5 g
    98%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes