Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Polenta With Garlicky Greens- Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polenta With Garlicky Greens-

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2011

      We loved this recipe! I made it with the bok choy because we had a lot of it from our CSA. I doubled the garlic because we love it (but I will most likely bring it down to what the recipe called for next time). I also didn't have any raisins or pine nuts on hand, but added some chopped tomatoes instead and it was delcious! Oh and I also had the tube polenta on hand, so I pan-fried the slices instead of making my own. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      This recipe was very yummy and different, with a few tweaks. The recipe calls for 1 and 1/4 teaspoon of salt, and that is waaaay too much! I added 1/4 tsp to the greens and that was plenty salty. I added some pepper, and I used 3x as much garlic as it asks for, for that amount of food. I also added onions and mushrooms. I didn't separate the chard stems from the leaves. After cutting 3" off the ends there was so little stem left it wasn't worth the effort. I just cut off the ends and tossed them, then used the leaves. There were plenty of leaves as it was, and they cooked just fine. I used regular raisins. I also used bought polenta, a full tube. It was a little less than if you make the amount in the recipe, but the proportion of polenta to greens was perfect. I cut it up, fried it and mashed it in the pan, then stirred in the cheese. It made just enough food for 2 adults for dinner. The end result was perfect! Great recipe idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      This recipe is incredible, even for non-vegetarians! My steak-loving hubby even gave it 5 stars. I made it as directed, but used 1 bunch of kale, 1 bunch of bok choi (what was ready to eat in the garden) and regular raisins. The combination of flavors is excellent, and the texture difference between the chewy greens and soft polenta was great. This recipe is definitely a keeper - thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      mmm...mmmm..excuse me for talking with my mouth full but I enjoyed this so much that I didn't want to wait until I was actually done eating it to write the review! I have been eyeing up this recipe for a long time now but kept thinking 'hmm, i'm not sure' but decided to give it a try and I am really glad I did. The bits I wasn't sure about -raisins mainly - actually worked really well to cut through the richness of the dish. A bit like adding just a few into a curry. I used curly kale as my greens because it was what I had and it worked wonderfully well. I prepared the polenta through the stove top method. Made for PAC Fall 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Wow! Awesome recipe. I am not a vegetarian, but I love any kind of greens and I love polenta. This is a great combination. Terrific combination of flavors and a tiny bit of spice. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      a vegetarian comfort food! delicious, the garlicky swiss chard was fabulous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      Another delicious vegetarian option. Don't care for chard so I used spinach, which reduced the cooking time cosiderably. Cooked the polenta on the stovetop using skim milk which really made the polenta richer and silkier than when using water alone. Thanks Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      We loved this recipe! Healthy and easy. Everything worked well together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2004

      This was a very tasty vegetarian entree. I loved the technique of cooking the polenta in the microwave...so much less hands-on time required than stovetop preparation. Make sure to use a *large* bowl and to stir it intermittently though, or you'll end up with an overflow or lumps. The chard ends up very soft...next time I'll cook it a bit less for our personal tastes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2004

      This is my favorite way to do greens, with garlic and oil. Loved the combination of raisins and pine nuts with the swiss chard. Also, used Barb's suggestion and used prepared polenta because hubby won't eat it and recipe would make way too much for just me. Thanks Sharon for sharing another great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      OH MY Goodness, this was SOOOoo Deliciuos. I could have eat the whole thing, BUT DH liked it also. I make swiss Chard something like this with Garlic and Olive oil. This is so much better. The golden raisins is a very nice touch with the pine nuts. So yummy on the polenta, I did use the already made roll that had Basil and garlic in it,I just happened to have it on hand. Will make it the next time making fresh polenta. I put the parmesan cheese on the polenta whem heating it in the skillet and served the Swiss chard over the top with the toasted pine nuts which I left whole.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polenta With Garlicky Greens-

    Serving Size: 1 (381 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 365.8
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    29%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 1251.3 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites