Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poached Chicken Breast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poached Chicken Breast

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2008

      As a culinary student, one of the first things we are taught about poaching is DO NOT BOIL! The ideal temperature for poaching is between 150 and 180 degrees Fahrenheit. Boiling will toughen the meat. We are also taught not to use water, as this will leach the flavor from the meat--instead, use a liquid that is more flavorful than the meat; stock, broth, etc. I'm not surprised that people have had to modify this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      This is a keeper. Where I shop often has specials on chicken breast - usually 2 pounds for free - and I end up with way more than I can use for the two of us in a week, let alone a meal. I used this recipe, with some celery seed and onion powder for flavoring. I used one breast a day or two later for a quick weeknight meal of chicken stir fry, and froze one to use several days later in a cold plate Nicoise type salad. It was just fine after being frozen and thawed. The others are ready and waiting for whatever - chicken salad? Drop in some broth with rice or pasta and veggies for a quick homemade soup? Maybe chopped up in a quesadilla?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      I used this recipe to make chicken for chicken salad. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added celery seed, onion powder and bouillon to the water. I still thought the chicken was a bit bland but I just added extra ingredients to my salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Used stock to add taste but thought it was a bit overcooked as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

    • on February 06, 2008

      I tried this recipe twice. I didn't rate it the first time because I thought that I must have done something wrong. While I didn't have to throw out the poached chicken, I did find that I had to use it in a meal that had enough other ingredients so that the tough chicken didn't stand out too much. I'll stick with my old way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I used 4 fresh boneless, skinless chicken breast halves and added 1 cup of chardonnay, 2 celery stalks, 1 small onion, salt and a few peppercorns to the water. Chicken was flavorful, moist and tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I've made this two times now, once as directed using fresh boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and once using frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts, since I had read here on recipezaar that boiling is a great way to thaw chicken. Both batches came out fantastically--plain and moist, just perfect to add to all sorts of recipes. Of course, cooking the frozen breasts took a bit longer (if you're going to do this, make sure to use a meat thermometer to ensure food safety). Next, I'm going to make a huge batch for the freezer, packaged into small portions so that I always have some chicken meat on hand. Great recipe, greyhound! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      I use thighs, breasts and legs. I use salt, poultry seasoning, celery seeds. Drain the broth, add white pepper and freeze. Cut the chicken in cubes if possible and freeze for later use. Or I use the broth right away for noodle soup. I forget I use simple recipes all the time and never post so I am glad you did for adventurous and new cooks. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      I poached my chicken legs and thighs with this method and only had to adjust the cooking time by 10 minutes. Very nice and easy way to make chicken for a casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Fantastic....It was perfect. Fast, Easy, Tender, Moist...need I say more? This was a first for me to poach chicken. It is so much cheaper than buying precooked chicken; never was enough in those packages anyway. I did add some onion powder and poultry seasoning to the water.....directions said to let the chicken rest in the broth for at least 15 minutes...might as well give it a little more flavor. I was using the chicken for a quick chicken soup and also chicken salad for sandwiches for work. This recipe is sure to get a work out. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Just the recipe I need! Thanks a million!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Perfectly perfect. I usually add a cut up onion and big chunks of celery to flavor the water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Works perfectly! Just what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      Super easy. Great for salads. Will use again and again. Thanks, adopt a greyhound!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      I used 6 chicken breast halves, and used them in 3 recipes: Balsamic Chicken Pasta ##189905, Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas #144002, and Chicken Noodle Soup #145203. It's a simple and economical way to have cooked chicken on hand. And I still had some left to pop in the freezer for another recipe later. The fact that it is unseasoned is a plus, no flavor conflicts when you use it in another recipe. Made for Alphabet Soup Game. Thanks for posting a time and money saving recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      I wasn't sure how long to poach for and this recipe answered that for me. A quick easy way to poach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Very simple to make and cheaper than buying pre-packaged cooked chicken at the store. I did use half chicken broth and half water to cover the chicken breast. Shredded the chicken and made my sister chicken and noodles to reheat for dinner later in the week. Thank you adopt a greyhound!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2004

      Simple and easy and great results. I started with 1 cup of white wine and then the rest water 'til the chicken was covered. Also threw in some dry minced onion and some peppercorns. This made for some wonderful chicken salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poached Chicken Breast

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.7
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    48%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 46.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 45.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites