19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As a culinary student, one of the first things we are taught about poaching is DO NOT BOIL! The ideal temperature for poaching is between 150 and 180 degrees Fahrenheit. Boiling will toughen the meat. We are also taught not to use water, as this will leach the flavor from the meat--instead, use a liquid that is more flavorful than the meat; stock, broth, etc. I'm not surprised that people have had to modify this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thedancingdryad February 18, 2008

This is a keeper. Where I shop often has specials on chicken breast - usually 2 pounds for free - and I end up with way more than I can use for the two of us in a week, let alone a meal. I used this recipe, with some celery seed and onion powder for flavoring. I used one breast a day or two later for a quick weeknight meal of chicken stir fry, and froze one to use several days later in a cold plate Nicoise type salad. It was just fine after being frozen and thawed. The others are ready and waiting for whatever - chicken salad? Drop in some broth with rice or pasta and veggies for a quick homemade soup? Maybe chopped up in a quesadilla?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catte Nappe August 17, 2007

I used this recipe to make chicken for chicken salad. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added celery seed, onion powder and bouillon to the water. I still thought the chicken was a bit bland but I just added extra ingredients to my salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 05, 2012

Used stock to add taste but thought it was a bit overcooked as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha March 21, 2011

I tried this recipe twice. I didn't rate it the first time because I thought that I must have done something wrong. While I didn't have to throw out the poached chicken, I did find that I had to use it in a meal that had enough other ingredients so that the tough chicken didn't stand out too much. I'll stick with my old way from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scnorman February 06, 2008

I used 4 fresh boneless, skinless chicken breast halves and added 1 cup of chardonnay, 2 celery stalks, 1 small onion, salt and a few peppercorns to the water. Chicken was flavorful, moist and tender!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in The Pass January 06, 2008

I've made this two times now, once as directed using fresh boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and once using frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts, since I had read here on recipezaar that boiling is a great way to thaw chicken. Both batches came out fantastically--plain and moist, just perfect to add to all sorts of recipes. Of course, cooking the frozen breasts took a bit longer (if you're going to do this, make sure to use a meat thermometer to ensure food safety). Next, I'm going to make a huge batch for the freezer, packaged into small portions so that I always have some chicken meat on hand. Great recipe, greyhound! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman November 10, 2007

I use thighs, breasts and legs. I use salt, poultry seasoning, celery seeds. Drain the broth, add white pepper and freeze. Cut the chicken in cubes if possible and freeze for later use. Or I use the broth right away for noodle soup. I forget I use simple recipes all the time and never post so I am glad you did for adventurous and new cooks. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song April 26, 2007

I poached my chicken legs and thighs with this method and only had to adjust the cooking time by 10 minutes. Very nice and easy way to make chicken for a casserole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bippie April 23, 2007
Poached Chicken Breast