36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect method! I would even maybe let mine sit a tad bit shorter next time since my chicken is on the thinner side. Great flavor, nice and moist. Used this method to make a pot of chicken soup that called for pre-cooked meat. Lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl December 08, 2009

You won over my husband with this recipe. Usually when I need pre-cooked chicken for a recipe, I will grill the chicken; but I'm not always happy with that method. I tried your recipe tonight and it was perfect! Moist, juicy chicken that hubby really noticed. I used this method to prepare the chicken for Artichoke--Chicken Casserole and I'll be using it again! Thanks Dancer -- and thank you also to NcMysteryShopper for a lovely photo series.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( November 22, 2009

Excellent! Thanks for the specific instructions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzySchool August 19, 2009

Excellent! I made this to put in Greek-Style Chicken Pasta Salad and it was fantastic. The chicken has a very nice flavor and texture - - great for tossing into summer pasta salads. This is my new "go-to" recipe for recipes calling for cooked chicken. Thanks Dancer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook June 29, 2009

I give this a big five stars. More for usability than flavor. I cooked 5 breasts. The small breasts cooked perfectly but the "breasts on steroids" were not completely done. However, I used those when making a chicken pot pie so they completed cooking there and worked out perfectly. Next time I will cut them in half length wise to finish cooking completely during the poaching process. These have a good texture, I probably use these when making chicken salad from now on. Easy to cook, easy to dice, easy to use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsyzettle January 22, 2009

This is an awesome recipe! I do a whole bunch of breasts at a time and then use them in grilled cheese sandwiches. Yum! Thank you Dancer for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Easa November 07, 2008

My 6 yo loved this plain and insisted that I give it a 5. I thought it needed salt. Next time I think I will use canned chicken broth in place of the water and add some garlic. Otherwise, I thought this had great flavor (loved the addition of wine)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZaarAddict July 31, 2008

Works great- Sometimes I just poach in some low sodium chicken broth and whatever veggies I have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julierroden March 19, 2008

I wanted some chicken for some salad lunches now the weather is warmer here so did a batch of this. This is a great idea & the chicken turns out nice & moist, I used the leftover broth to cook some potatoes for mashing which was lovely. Next time I think I would add some garlic also, thnaks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** October 23, 2007

Thank you for a great recipe! We used all fresh herbs we had on had and some dried, and really enjoyed the flavor of both the chicken and broth. We used both the chicken and the broth to make Greek Lemon rice soup. Enjoyed this very much. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaChaCanCook October 14, 2007
Poached Chicken