Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poached Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poached Chicken

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2003

      This was perfect for the Club sandwiches that I made last night & what a great idea about advance preparation. I'll be 1 step ahead for those "Chef" and "Cobb" salads in the summertime. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      This is a great basic recipe in addtion to giving me the correct timings of boiling vs letting the chicken sit in hot water in order to stay moist. The recipe also gave me an idea of the kind of herbs and flavors I can add and it comes out GREAT every time. Something so simple can be so good......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      We used this tonight to cook chicken for Ro-tel Chicken Spaghetti. I also had the problem with my larger breasts not cooking completely but it was fine since it was fine since I was baking a casserole for 30 minutes. I will cut the chicken next time. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I then used the broth in the recipe I was making.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      What a fantastic way to cook chicken! I am rating the method of cooking as I just used some chicken stock powder in my water as I didn't have all the other ingredients and followed the cooking directions. It turned out the best, tastiest, juicy chicken ever! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      Great recipe. Made a batch ahead as suggested and have used some in Club House sandwiches, salads, casseroles, and chicken pot pie. Will keep this precooked chicken on hand all the time.I also saved the broth and froze it to make soup on a cooler day. Thanks Dancer^.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      thanks, this is a convenient trick to know! i will experiment with different spices, as it seems good for stir-fry, but the seasonings used aren't really compatible with the asian sauces i typically use.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      Loved this recipe!...it went together nicely, and the house smelled like Thanksgiving while it was cooking...Thanks for sharing...SharonP.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      This recipe was easy and full of taste. I know I'll be using this often to speed up my cook and prep time on lots of chicken recipes. Thanks for a great time saver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Great idea poaching them. I like how they stay juicy even after freezing! Thanks Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Excellent! I had to cook my chicken breasts a little longer as they were very thick--but moist perfect end result! Also did not have fresh parsley so I used dry and that was just fine. My new go-to recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Perfect method! I would even maybe let mine sit a tad bit shorter next time since my chicken is on the thinner side. Great flavor, nice and moist. Used this method to make a pot of chicken soup that called for pre-cooked meat. Lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      You won over my husband with this recipe. Usually when I need pre-cooked chicken for a recipe, I will grill the chicken; but I'm not always happy with that method. I tried your recipe tonight and it was perfect! Moist, juicy chicken that hubby really noticed. I used this method to prepare the chicken for Artichoke--Chicken Casserole and I'll be using it again! Thanks Dancer -- and thank you also to NcMysteryShopper for a lovely photo series.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Excellent! Thanks for the specific instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Excellent! I made this to put in Greek-Style Chicken Pasta Salad and it was fantastic. The chicken has a very nice flavor and texture - - great for tossing into summer pasta salads. This is my new "go-to" recipe for recipes calling for cooked chicken. Thanks Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I give this a big five stars. More for usability than flavor. I cooked 5 breasts. The small breasts cooked perfectly but the "breasts on steroids" were not completely done. However, I used those when making a chicken pot pie so they completed cooking there and worked out perfectly. Next time I will cut them in half length wise to finish cooking completely during the poaching process. These have a good texture, I probably use these when making chicken salad from now on. Easy to cook, easy to dice, easy to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      This is an awesome recipe! I do a whole bunch of breasts at a time and then use them in grilled cheese sandwiches. Yum! Thank you Dancer for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      My 6 yo loved this plain and insisted that I give it a 5. I thought it needed salt. Next time I think I will use canned chicken broth in place of the water and add some garlic. Otherwise, I thought this had great flavor (loved the addition of wine)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Works great- Sometimes I just poach in some low sodium chicken broth and whatever veggies I have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I wanted some chicken for some salad lunches now the weather is warmer here so did a batch of this. This is a great idea & the chicken turns out nice & moist, I used the leftover broth to cook some potatoes for mashing which was lovely. Next time I think I would add some garlic also, thnaks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Thank you for a great recipe! We used all fresh herbs we had on had and some dried, and really enjoyed the flavor of both the chicken and broth. We used both the chicken and the broth to make Greek Lemon rice soup. Enjoyed this very much. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poached Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.4
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    15%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 157.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites