34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! Totally yummy; and I took a bit of license (with ingredients I had on hand) and they were GREAT! I didn't have peanut butter chips, so I used heath bar bits. I also added a cup of honey roasted peanuts; delicious! I can't wait to share these with my girlfriends, cause they're simple to whip up and they hit the spot! Thanks for sharing, Muffin Goddess. Made for ZWT.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl May 27, 2010

I made these for a party and they turned out really well. Very easy recipe, followed it exactly -- it was a nice change from the usual recipe that I use for my seven layer bars. I really liked the pretzels on top. Thank you for posting this one, it is a keeper!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Desperate_Housewife October 13, 2003

Really yummy! DH said "these are really good" with no prompting (I always have to ask him how he likes new recipes) and he gave them a 4* rating. I used white choc. chips instead of the vanilla chips (couldn't find 'em), but that was the only change. I can't imagine that will last long around here! Delish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing October 04, 2003

Excellent and easy. I made a mistake and bought butterscotch chips instead of peanut butter and they turned out great anyway...so yet another variation. Tried them when they were still gooey and they were good (couldn't wait), but in my opinion definitely better completed cooled. Everyone thought the pretzel part was weird, but they play a big part in these...in fact, next time I may try to add a bit more. Thanks for sharing! P.S. Didn't have any Diet Coke, but I did enjoy with diet iced tea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= September 02, 2003

Yummy! I made this one to take to the cabin... hit all the bells with one taste too! I liked these so much more than the magic bar recipe.. Thanks for sharing..this one is a keeper..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiisaN August 25, 2003

These were very, very good. They were very easy to make. The only thing I did different was instead of using vanilla chips, I used the mini baking m&m's...will make again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
undertkr August 16, 2003

Warning: This is a very dangerous recipe to have around unless you have someone to help you eat these absolutely wonderful bars!!! DD and I just slivered away at the pan till they were gone!! The blending of flavors was quite good, includes all of my favorites. Thank you for this great treat!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbasol August 08, 2003

What about adding dried fruit (apricots, cranberries, mixed berries)? With all these other added choices, we can try to pretend they're health...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janny S. July 21, 2013

Great recipe, and very easy to put together! I took these to a girl's night, and they went over great - everyone really loved the name of them too! Based on other reviews, I used 2 cups graham cracker crumbs and added 2 Tablespoons melted butter to make up for it. I also substituted peanuts for the vanilla chips, and just kind of eyeballed the pretzels (I think it ended up being about 1 1/2 cups, but not sure). These could have many taste combinations, based on what you've got or what sounds good. I think I like these better than the hello dolly bars too! Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 February 05, 2013

These bars are heavenly! So easy and quick to put together with great results. I will make a little thicker crust next time (although there is nothing wrong with the original) and add some chopped almonds and toffee bits. Thanks for sharing Muffin Goddess!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 December 18, 2010
PMS Bars