7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Time consuming, but well worth the effort. Tastes better than the best store bought. A little dark in color - next time I'll try light brown sugar & yellow plums. Omitted the water for faster cook-down.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zuey August 26, 2002

I didn't have bell peppers, so I just used lots of plums from the tree in my garden. I added some star anise and extra chilli and it tasted great. Thank for the recipe, I'll definitely use it again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Katoomba February 07, 2003

Yes, it is time consuming, but well worthwhile and I had to do something with all the plums on my tree. I wound up with 10 pints, maybe didn't reduce long enough. Thanks for the interesting recipe.<br/><br/>Update from the above review of Sept 2012! I do love the outcome of this recipe but hate the simmering and stirring times involved which I have always found longer than the recipe states. This year I decided to simplify it and do the simmering in a crock-pot, it is much more relaxed that way and you can be very flexible with your timing. Still turned out A-1, this recipe is a keeper for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbk August 31, 2013

The taste wasn't bad; however, it had an unpleasant, gritty texture. I will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janay July 31, 2006

I can see where this recipe might be intimidating to the average cook, or perhaps challenge the sensibilities of a bridled purist, but I'm looking forward to puting this recipe to the test over the next canning season. My minds'tongue tells me this is going to be a wonderful sauce. Stay tuned.....;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TonyRV2 May 08, 2002

Bell peppers and cinnamon in tradtional Cantonese cooking ! I don't think so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lotus August 05, 2001

Way too complicated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lily July 23, 2001
Plum Sauce