11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I live in the Willamette river valley where in late summer pears and plums are plentiful and CHEAP! I bought a ton of plums at a local farm and my own pear tree showered us with bartlets. I was looking for a new way to "put up" all this fruit and so was delighted to find this recipe! I did cut the suger to 4 1/2 cups. I find that it makes a looser jam, but one that's still plenty thick for toast. I do this with all my jam recipes as I believe it allows more of the fruit flavor to come through (particularly with pear jam- if there's too much suger it tastes like glorified honey). I also found that if I mash the fruit with a potato masher just before pouring it into the jars that the fruit becomes suspended or more evenly distributed throughout the jam (as opposed to just floating on top) while remaining acceptably "chunky." My husband has proclaimed this his new favorite and at the rate he's putting it away I'll be lucky if my supply will take us through till next season. Thanks for such a great recipe!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex October 16, 2002

This jam is beautiful, I used the amount of fruit suggested but only 4 cups sugar, half of which was jam sugar so I didn't add pectin but also added a squeeze of lemon. The colour is gorgeous and although mine is not very thick due to less sugar content & less pectin used, it is very tasty all the same, Master 4 and Miss 9 both approve. I got 4 nice size jars out of this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** February 12, 2015

Very tasty, and goes together quickly with just a few ingredients. Last year was the first time I had made any kind of jam or jelly and this was easy enough for a beginner with delicious results. The flavors really come through.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitgirl August 12, 2012

This came out a beautiful pink color. I also cut down the sugar to 4 1/2 cups and added another cup of plums. I got 6 half pints out of this. Next time I will make two batches. This will be a great addition to out Xmas baskets. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud October 05, 2009

Thank you for a quick, delicious recipe that is super easy to make! I substituted frozen black cherries for the plums (all I had). A friend had given us a large bounty of pears from his tree and this was just what we needed! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonesies September 06, 2009

Fantastic recipe Sharon123! I wish I had found this recipe sooner! I also only used 4 cups of sugar, and boiled a little longer to get a thicker jam, but the taste is OUT OF THIS WORLD! Such a wonderful and sweet flavour and such an easy recipe. My DD does not like plums and she tasted this jam and loved it. A great way to use up plums and a great jam for those who dont really like plums as the sweetness of the pears takes over the tartness of the plums. And the colour of the jam is so very nice also. Thanks Sharon123 for a wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme January 21, 2008

Excellent - I used 1 1/2 cups of a red plum I had and 2 1/2 cups pears. It came out looking so beautiful. Yield was 7 half-pint jars. Caught DH (who rarely eats jam) happily eating the leftover bit I had, so it certainly passed the picky taste test. I'll make this again and try some yellow plums too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragun Knudsen-Nelson September 12, 2007

I only used 4 1/2 cups of sugar like another reviewer suggested. I also used 2 cups pear & 2 cups plums. I processed them in the hot water bath for 5 minutes & it made 7 half-pints with a little left over for 2 slices of toast. An excellent recipe!! I can really taste the pears. Note: I don't like plums typically but I picked some fresh off a tree & couldn't resist trying numerous recipes. Thank you! This recipe will be added to my 2007 jam log!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mooingfish September 02, 2007

I made this recipe last year and my daughter who never eats jam absolutely loved it. I also gave as gifts and my customers said it was like eating candy with a spoon. VERY GOOD!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drsimons September 16, 2006

A very pretty jam! It set up well, and is very good on crumpets or English muffins. An easy recipe; I used a food processor to coarsely chop the pears and plums. This jam will look lovely in a gift basket.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graciebonica September 12, 2004
Plum Kissed Pear Jam