Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plum Jam Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plum Jam

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2013

      It's important to read several reviews prior to making this jam. On my first attempt I used a 1:1 ratio of plums and sugar, but only cooked it 15 minutes. The jam is more of a sauce consistency and tastes great on french toast. I went back to the recipe and read all the reviews. The second attempt was perfect. I used 8 cups of sugar, 6 cups of thinly sliced plums, 2 cups of black currant juice, and cooked it for 30 minutes and made sure it reached 220 degrees before putting it in jars. With those directions it is a 5 star recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      So simple and so good. I used the 1 to 1 ratio …one cup fruit to one cup sugar and it tasted perfect. My plum were just a little under ripe but I can see if you have very ripe plums you could reduce the sugar even a little more. I did boil at 220 degrees for 20 minutes and did a 15 minute water bath. FYI I like the mixture to reach 220 when I’m not using pectin because I feel it makes it set better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      This turned out great. As others did, I used a 1:1 ratio of plums to sugar, and it was still VERY sweet (I had very ripe plums). I also added some lemon juice. I boiled for 5 minutes, simmered for about 30, then processed the filled jars in a boiling water bath for 5 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      Super easy to make and set up perfectly! My plum tree produces a very tart variety of plums so usually we throw them away. I used 2/3 cup sugar to 6 cups of pursed plums (skin on). I mixed in 2 handfuls of blueberries to deepen the Color as my plums are a very light variety. I also added a tablespoon of lemon juice. Thanks for posting! I will definitely be using this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      I used a 1:1 ratio, a capful of lemon juice and YUM! Set up nicely and is beautiful to look at.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      I used this recipe as a basis for my plum jam using Mimpard's guidelines. I ended up with:<br/>7 cups cut up plums<br/>1 cup wild grape juice (didn't have blk current juice on hand)<br/>5 cups sugar<br/>2 Tb lemon juice<br/><br/>I boiled for 30 minutes and processed for 10 minutes in hot water bath. Yummy! and I like the color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      Excellent.... I am not an experienced canner and this was my first time making jam. Turned out great. I used 16 cups of quartered Italian Prune Plums, 16 cups of sugar and the juice of one lemon. The flavour, texture and colour of this jam were all great. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      So easy and delicious! I had about 8 cups of firm ripe plums and since I prefer a little more tartness, I added 3 cups of sugar and about 1 tablespoon lemon juice. I cooked it for about 25 mins and then used the chilled spoons method to check for readiness. Pour a tsp.of jam on a very cold spoon and wait 15 seconds, if it slides right off, continue cooking until it jells a little before sliding off. I did not want to do the water bath method, so I poured the jam into jars with 1/2 inch head room and screwed on the lids. When barely warm re-tighten lids and keep in freezer for about 1 year. Thanks for the tasty and simple recipe! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      I made this with 1:1 ratio as other reviewers suggested. The recipe as written (IMO) would have been too sweet, but this was perfect. Gave as gifts and received great reviews from the recipients as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Just a simple reminder...don't can while you're pre-occupied, because you may do what I did...had a huge brain fart like I did. I was using a little different kind of plum (looks like a cherry tomato), and totally forgot to take out the pit. Threw it all in the processor whole...so I had to go in and fish out the pits after the fact. I too cooked until temp reached 220 degrees. I was aiming for a 1:1 ratio, but I think mine wasn't quite there since I messed up. Still tastes wonderful though...I live at high altitude (8500 ft), so I will probably cook my cans for about 45 minutes and then let them sit in the canner for 5 minutes for good measure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I followed some of the tips from other reviewers resulting in a very good tasting plum jam. The plums I used were very dark skinned so they look very dark in the picture I submitted. The jam is not as dark as it looks in the jars once you spread it. My plums were hard and not very sweet, but the jam sure tastes good. I'm fairly new at this jam/jelly making, I just started this summer. I took one look at Mrs. Lumpy's picture and I had to make this jam!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      This stuff is so good and so easy to make. I used the advise of the other reviews & dropped the sugar down to 1 1/4 cups sugar & cooked an additional 20 min. Turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      good, good, good stuff! I too had extra plums and made some jam, our new favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      so easy! I had some extra plums that were a little tart to eat out of hand- so i used them to make this jam. I used 2 cups of coarsely chopped plums ( i used a hand chopper) to 4 cups of sugar. I used my "waterless cooking pot -those pots dont let you burn anything! I then boiled the mix for about 20 minutes and poured it into a quart mason jar-then thr fridge. Perfect recipe-thaks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      GREAT recipe! I was looking for one that sounded like the one my aunt's mom used to make, and this must be it! I, too, used the 1:1 ratio and some lemon juice. Simmered it for an extra 15-20 minutes, and it smelled so good I had to taste some right away. I prefer my jams to be very tart, so next time I will add a little less sugar. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      I made the plum jam using 1 cup of sugar to 1 cup of plums, and some lemom juice. I also simmered the plum for another 30 minutes after bringing it to a boil. It turned out great!! Thank you for the simple and quick recipe. I will be using this recipe to make all my jam from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Thanks for the super easy recipe! It is so darn simple that I picked plums this morning and made it. I used a 1:1 ratio of sugar and plums as well and it seemed to have the perfect sweetness/tartness. I also let it boil for 5 minutes then let it simmer an additional 25-30 just for safety. The natural pectin in the plum skins will make this set perfectly I think without any added ingredients. I think this will be my go to recipe from now on. I've never made plum jelly or jam before so I'm glad it worked out. Can't wait to try it out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This is FABULOUS Jam!! I made enough for 16 1/2 pint jars... needless to say, this is going in Christmas baskets! I only used 1 1/3 C sugar per 1 C plums and I simmered for about 30 min. I also added a bit of lime juice and processed in a hot water bath for 10 min. Turned out beautifully! I can hear the jars popping as i write this... I am so excited about this one! I taste tested it all the way through the canning process and it is great stuff!! Thanks for a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Besides the fact that I greatly misjudged the quantity of plums I was picking and now have 24+ jars of jam when I expected ten, this recipe turned out great. Like others who've rated it, I decreased the amount of sugar--I had 15 cups of plums and ran out of sugar (and space in the pot) at 18 cups. It turned out beautifully with just that amount of sugar (the correct amount would have made it way too sweet) and I might even use less the next time I make it (someday when I run out of my 24 jars). I had to cook it in two batches. The first I boiled the required five minutes. My husband and I thought it was going to be too saucy and not jammy enough, but the thickness turned out to be perfect. I boiled the next batch closer to fifteen minutes and that turned out even thicker. Good recipe (except for the sugar thing). Good jam. My husband and I can't stop eating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      ohhhh, so yummy! I didn't need the 2 cups of sugar, I think I only needed 1 1/4 cups per cup of plums and I added a little lemon juice for acidity. I boiled it considerably longer, though- closer to an hour to get it nice and thick. It was so delicious- I processed all in a hot water bath, but one jar didn't seal, so I popped it in the fridge and pulled it out at dinner tonight to slather on some crusty french bread. So delicious, the plum taste just burst on my tongue, and it was still plenty sweet. Thanks so much for posting- I hope I find another great deal on plums at the farmer's market soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plum Jam

    Serving Size: 1 (565 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1623.9
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    54%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 418.7 g
    139%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 415.5 g
    1662%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites