25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It's important to read several reviews prior to making this jam. On my first attempt I used a 1:1 ratio of plums and sugar, but only cooked it 15 minutes. The jam is more of a sauce consistency and tastes great on french toast. I went back to the recipe and read all the reviews. The second attempt was perfect. I used 8 cups of sugar, 6 cups of thinly sliced plums, 2 cups of black currant juice, and cooked it for 30 minutes and made sure it reached 220 degrees before putting it in jars. With those directions it is a 5 star recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimpard August 21, 2013

So simple and so good. I used the 1 to 1 ratio …one cup fruit to one cup sugar and it tasted perfect. My plum were just a little under ripe but I can see if you have very ripe plums you could reduce the sugar even a little more. I did boil at 220 degrees for 20 minutes and did a 15 minute water bath. FYI I like the mixture to reach 220 when I’m not using pectin because I feel it makes it set better.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissCatFish June 29, 2010

This turned out great. As others did, I used a 1:1 ratio of plums to sugar, and it was still VERY sweet (I had very ripe plums). I also added some lemon juice. I boiled for 5 minutes, simmered for about 30, then processed the filled jars in a boiling water bath for 5 minutes.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl July 09, 2010

Super easy to make and set up perfectly! My plum tree produces a very tart variety of plums so usually we throw them away. I used 2/3 cup sugar to 6 cups of pursed plums (skin on). I mixed in 2 handfuls of blueberries to deepen the Color as my plums are a very light variety. I also added a tablespoon of lemon juice. Thanks for posting! I will definitely be using this recipe again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesnjoe August 04, 2013

I used a 1:1 ratio, a capful of lemon juice and YUM! Set up nicely and is beautiful to look at.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VallecitoKim August 19, 2010

I used this recipe as a basis for my plum jam using Mimpard's guidelines. I ended up with:<br/>7 cups cut up plums<br/>1 cup wild grape juice (didn't have blk current juice on hand)<br/>5 cups sugar<br/>2 Tb lemon juice<br/><br/>I boiled for 30 minutes and processed for 10 minutes in hot water bath. Yummy! and I like the color.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky September 18, 2013

Excellent.... I am not an experienced canner and this was my first time making jam. Turned out great. I used 16 cups of quartered Italian Prune Plums, 16 cups of sugar and the juice of one lemon. The flavour, texture and colour of this jam were all great. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fiddler September 04, 2013

So easy and delicious! I had about 8 cups of firm ripe plums and since I prefer a little more tartness, I added 3 cups of sugar and about 1 tablespoon lemon juice. I cooked it for about 25 mins and then used the chilled spoons method to check for readiness. Pour a tsp.of jam on a very cold spoon and wait 15 seconds, if it slides right off, continue cooking until it jells a little before sliding off. I did not want to do the water bath method, so I poured the jam into jars with 1/2 inch head room and screwed on the lids. When barely warm re-tighten lids and keep in freezer for about 1 year. Thanks for the tasty and simple recipe! Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb from Ca August 03, 2012

I made this with 1:1 ratio as other reviewers suggested. The recipe as written (IMO) would have been too sweet, but this was perfect. Gave as gifts and received great reviews from the recipients as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WithoutContext July 04, 2011

Just a simple reminder...don't can while you're pre-occupied, because you may do what I did...had a huge brain fart like I did. I was using a little different kind of plum (looks like a cherry tomato), and totally forgot to take out the pit. Threw it all in the processor whole...so I had to go in and fish out the pits after the fact. I too cooked until temp reached 220 degrees. I was aiming for a 1:1 ratio, but I think mine wasn't quite there since I messed up. Still tastes wonderful though...I live at high altitude (8500 ft), so I will probably cook my cans for about 45 minutes and then let them sit in the canner for 5 minutes for good measure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel August 12, 2010
Plum Jam