25 Reviews

So simple and so good. I used the 1 to 1 ratio …one cup fruit to one cup sugar and it tasted perfect. My plum were just a little under ripe but I can see if you have very ripe plums you could reduce the sugar even a little more. I did boil at 220 degrees for 20 minutes and did a 15 minute water bath. FYI I like the mixture to reach 220 when I’m not using pectin because I feel it makes it set better.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissCatFish June 29, 2010

It's important to read several reviews prior to making this jam. On my first attempt I used a 1:1 ratio of plums and sugar, but only cooked it 15 minutes. The jam is more of a sauce consistency and tastes great on french toast. I went back to the recipe and read all the reviews. The second attempt was perfect. I used 8 cups of sugar, 6 cups of thinly sliced plums, 2 cups of black currant juice, and cooked it for 30 minutes and made sure it reached 220 degrees before putting it in jars. With those directions it is a 5 star recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimpard August 21, 2013

This turned out great. As others did, I used a 1:1 ratio of plums to sugar, and it was still VERY sweet (I had very ripe plums). I also added some lemon juice. I boiled for 5 minutes, simmered for about 30, then processed the filled jars in a boiling water bath for 5 minutes.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl July 09, 2010

I used a 1:1 ratio, a capful of lemon juice and YUM! Set up nicely and is beautiful to look at.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VallecitoKim August 19, 2010

Excellent.... I am not an experienced canner and this was my first time making jam. Turned out great. I used 16 cups of quartered Italian Prune Plums, 16 cups of sugar and the juice of one lemon. The flavour, texture and colour of this jam were all great. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fiddler September 04, 2013

Super easy to make and set up perfectly! My plum tree produces a very tart variety of plums so usually we throw them away. I used 2/3 cup sugar to 6 cups of pursed plums (skin on). I mixed in 2 handfuls of blueberries to deepen the Color as my plums are a very light variety. I also added a tablespoon of lemon juice. Thanks for posting! I will definitely be using this recipe again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesnjoe August 04, 2013

I made this with 1:1 ratio as other reviewers suggested. The recipe as written (IMO) would have been too sweet, but this was perfect. Gave as gifts and received great reviews from the recipients as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WithoutContext July 04, 2011

Just a simple reminder...don't can while you're pre-occupied, because you may do what I did...had a huge brain fart like I did. I was using a little different kind of plum (looks like a cherry tomato), and totally forgot to take out the pit. Threw it all in the processor whole...so I had to go in and fish out the pits after the fact. I too cooked until temp reached 220 degrees. I was aiming for a 1:1 ratio, but I think mine wasn't quite there since I messed up. Still tastes wonderful though...I live at high altitude (8500 ft), so I will probably cook my cans for about 45 minutes and then let them sit in the canner for 5 minutes for good measure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel August 12, 2010

Thanks for the super easy recipe! It is so darn simple that I picked plums this morning and made it. I used a 1:1 ratio of sugar and plums as well and it seemed to have the perfect sweetness/tartness. I also let it boil for 5 minutes then let it simmer an additional 25-30 just for safety. The natural pectin in the plum skins will make this set perfectly I think without any added ingredients. I think this will be my go to recipe from now on. I've never made plum jelly or jam before so I'm glad it worked out. Can't wait to try it out!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn The Chef July 10, 2008

This is FABULOUS Jam!! I made enough for 16 1/2 pint jars... needless to say, this is going in Christmas baskets! I only used 1 1/3 C sugar per 1 C plums and I simmered for about 30 min. I also added a bit of lime juice and processed in a hot water bath for 10 min. Turned out beautifully! I can hear the jars popping as i write this... I am so excited about this one! I taste tested it all the way through the canning process and it is great stuff!! Thanks for a keeper recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy October 04, 2007
Plum Jam