Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plum Chutney Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plum Chutney

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2003

      I know this needs to mellow over a 4 week period but WOW! I got a spoonful as I was jaring it--just couldn't wait....what a wonderful blend of flavors & very easy to make...the waiting is the hardest part. Wonderful for gifts this holiday season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      This is AWESOME. So, so, so easy to make, I can't stop eating it! After reading previous reviews I did change a couple of things, and it has turned out thick and so flavoursome.

      I decided to simmer it with the lid off instead of on after reading the runny comments, and this has made it come out a perfect consistency, like jam. It is definitely not runny at all, and only took about 30 mins instead of 40-50 mins.

      I omitted the raisins and added two ripe tomatoes instead, (as I don't like raisins), and as I didn't have any cayenne pepper I used a teaspoon of homegrown ground chilli- it is nice and spicy without being hot. I also left the skins on the tomatoes and plums, which may have helped with the thickness.

      Thoroughly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I thought this chutney was fabulous. My husband, who likes his food much milder and less spicy than I do, also loved it. His taste is generally for the mildest possible salsas, curries, etc., so my best guess is that this chutney will not be too much for most people. I find that the chutney stays very liquidy until right about 50 minutes in the cooking time, at least on my stovetop, and then all at once it starts to thicken up. I suspect there are lots of things that could be a factor in why some people are reporting that it doesn't thicken or thickens slowly, from the difference in people's stoves and pans to the different levels of pectin in certain types of plums. I'd recommend leaving the skins on the plums to get the most pectin out, and I have been known to throw an apple or two in for a little extra pectin (and because we have an apple tree in the back yard and apples coming out our ears sometimes). I'm grateful for all the great recipes Silent Cricket left us. She is missed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I found this recipe very easy to prepare. I noticed what was mentioned regarding the chutney being a bit runny, so at the end stage I prepared some powdered gelatine by sprinkling it over a quarter cup of very hot water and mixing well and added it to the chutney after the cooking process, this set the chutney beautifully. (Never add gelatine to a liquid that is still boiling.) The chutney has a great flavour and is a delecious accompaniament to Indian food, especially Samosas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      I can finally post my review, after having to wait all this time for the flavours to develop. Making the chutney was really simple and eventhough it takes a bit of time to cook, the biggest job is to remove the stones from the plums. The flavour of the chutney is great, just the right balance between sweet and tangy. Mine turned out a little runny though, I thought it might thicken a little or set as it cooled but it's not changed much. It's great with crackers and cheese! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Absolutely incredible. I made this recipe, cooked a little longer and the jars disappeared, loved by all

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      This is AMAZING! I replaced the raisins with 3 plum tomatoes, the garlic with some garlic powder, and doubled all the spices (except the salt). I'm going to store it in the freezer. Note: don't worry if the recipe doesn't thicken entirely after cooking 55 minutes; after mine cooled, it thickened to the perfect consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I agree that this chutney is a little too vinegary. That said, some people I have given it to really enjoy it. Recently I used it in a meat pie recipe and it worked out very well, so it has its place...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      Far too vinegary and mouth-burny for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Chutneys Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plum Chutney

    Serving Size: 1 (1350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 567.7
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    69%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1190.1 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 142.6 g
    47%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 132.8 g
    531%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crystallized ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites