Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plum Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plum Bread

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2002

      If there were a way, I would rate this recipe 50 stars! I'm not kidding - this is the most delicious quick bread recipe I have ever made or had (and that's really saying something!). I used regular red plums off our backyard tree (chopped up in chunks with the skin still on) and strawberry yogurt. I also folded the plum chunks into the batter rather than the layering technique described. The loaves are moist and fragrant but most of all the taste is divine. The skin-on plum chunks collapse into sweet tart & tangy little fruity bits of heaven. The batter is strong enough to hold the fruit in place rather than having it all drop to the bottom. I'm telling you - you cannot beat this bread for a fabulous way to use fresh plums. A big A plus, 5 stars and 2 thumbs up! UPDATE: I just wanted to say that I made this recipe again and it came out just a fabulous as before! This time I sprinkled sugar on top and it made a delightful sugary crust. I'm uploading a picture so you can see how yummy it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      What can I say except... perfection, I made this yesterday and only half a loaf is left if that, next time I am hiding one just for me, this is like heaven in a loaf pan. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Well, unlike many of the reviews I have read here, I did exactly what it said to do and it is wonderful!!! We planted 2 miniature plum trees last year and when they were filled with plums I realized I had no idea what to do with them besides just pick and eat from the tree. This is the first recipe I came across and just love it. The fresh fresh plums give it just the right amount of tart in the sweet mix! I am a chocolate lover, but ya know I think this might just beat chocolate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      There are not enough stars for this bread. It was so delicious and moist. I can't wait to try it with peaches, strawberries, blueberries...etc! The only thing I changed was I mixed the fruit throughout the batter. The batter is dense enough that the fruit did not sink to the bottom. Just brilliant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      Made this recipe as described with one addition; added a streusel topping so the fruit on the top of the loaf wouldn't overcook. It took this dessert to the next level of greatness! Treated my co-workers to one of the loaves which they loved & several asked for the recipe. <br/><br/>Streusel Topping; 3oz's self-raising flour, 1 oz butter (room temp) and 3 oz demerara (dark brown) sugar. Rub the butter with the flour until crumb-like, then add the brown sugar and 1 tbsp water.Mix with fork until mixture course and lumpy. Also sprinkled the loaf with slivered almonds after the adding the streusel topping. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      I don't usually bake but the amount of plums we had in the house from our tree made me want to make something with them. I read all of the reviews for this recipe and they are all completely true! This is such a great quick bread. Mum and Dad have tried it and loved it, now to see if the boyfriend likes it, which I'm sure he will!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      I see plums at the store and I think of this bread! My kids love these! The husband loves these ! I love the chunks of fruit in the bread. This bread is so unique & good..perfect for giving as gifts. I made mini muffins and regular sized muffins with this recipe. We toss them in the freezer and pull out for snacks and lunches. Eating them frozen with frozen plum bites...mmm! I make these with wheat flour and half butter half applesauce and they are still fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      I love this! I use plain yogurt, because I always have it on hand and add 1 tsp. of almond extract. This recipe helps me use up some of my Santa Rosa Plums from my tree and they add a tart contrast. It makes 6 mini loaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Overall I think this is a solid recipe, although I think I would call it more of a pound cake than a bread. I added a smidge of almond extract and also folded in the fruit at the end instead of layering it.

      I ran into problems with it cooking through in the amount of time indicated. I think this may have been partially because I used an 8x4 loaf pan rather than a 9x5 (the recipe does not specify). The outside was dark brown and I thought the toothpick had come out clean, but when I cut into it there was still a gooey pocket of uncooked batter toward the bottom center. The cooked portions were still delicious. I will probably try this again and use a larger pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      Yum! I used many substitutes to make this vegan and it was still delightful!
      Instead of yogurt I made a concoction from 1/4c vegan toffutti cream cheese, 1/2c vegan toffutti sour cream, 3tbs sugar and 1tsp vanilla
      Instead of 1c butter I used 1/2c unsweetened applesauce and 1/2c dairy free margerine.
      Instead of 4 eggs I used 4tbs milled flax mixed with 12tbs water.
      I also took the suggestion to sprinkle sugar on top which made a fun yummy texture.
      I also left the skins on the plums and folded throughout the dough instead of layering.
      Will be using this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Very delicious bread! It made the house smell like Christmas time while it was baking. I did make a few changes.Instead of layering the plums I just added them to the batter and I didn't have vanilla yogurt so I used plain.The last change was instead of butter I used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup oil.This bread turned out so moist and I loved the tartness of the plums.Definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Boy was I ever diasppointed! After reading all the wonderful reviews, I thought this was going to be amazing I followed the directions to a T - I bake all the time - and found it to be a soggy, greasy cake which took much longer to bake than stated. Too much butter, for one thing...I tried it twice and was disappointed both times. Sorry NNREQ. Won't be making this one again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Wonderful! I gave this recipe to a girl @ work whose mom has a plum tree and she brought in a loaf. Everyone was raving about it! They couldn't say enough good things about it! Nice strong, moist bread. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I can see why this recipe is so popular! It was very delicious! I baked in the maximum time, it looks in the picture like it was burned, but it is just the juice, and didn't effect the taste. I used these little yellow skinned plums that just poked up out of nowhere this summer, they started growing out the side of my red plum tree. Anyways, it tasted sorta like a really tangy apricot, which I loved! Great texture on this bread, and not to sweet. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      This is marvelous! I used yellow plums and some strawberry yogurt. Chopped the plums, didn't peel. The bread is more cake, a bit like a pound cake. The plums stay mixed; they don't sink. This is a keeper recipe, I can see using this with many different fruit mixes and almost any kind of yogurt. Thank you! BB

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      I really like the batter and cake of this bread, but the plums didn't do so hot for me. It could be because the plums in our yard just weren't meant to be used in cakes/breads. Ah well. I will definetly be trying this again with blackberries or strawberries. The plums just come out too tart for me. My brother loves it though. Must be me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      You know, I could just make the *bread* part and eat it as is,,,that is how yum this bread is. Mine came out so moist that it is more like a cake. I think you could even add a pinch of nutmeg to the batter and sweetened rhubarb as the filling-- it would be good too, but I followed the recipe the *T*. We ate half a loaf just standing in front of it lol. This is going into the family recipe file. Thanks so much for sharing:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I agree with the other reviewers that you can just stir the fruit into the batter--it's very thick and I wound up with icky looking chunks of plums on top but beautiful plum gems inside. Reminded me of my childhood--my mom used to make plum cobbler and plum jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Great! I did substitute 3/4 cup applesauce & 1/4 cup butter instead of using 1 cup butter. Next time I will try this as muffins instead of bread -- easier for lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This recipe is great, i adapted it to gluten free by using universal gluten free flour, 2 tsp of baking powder and a tsp of xanthan gum. The loaf was delicious and you would never know it was gluten free. Will def be using again....thanks!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plum Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1634 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2361.6
     
    Calories from Fat 961
    40%
    Total Fat 106.8 g
    164%
    Saturated Fat 63.6 g
    318%
    Cholesterol 627.9 mg
    209%
    Sodium 2792.8 mg
    116%
    Total Carbohydrate 318.1 g
    106%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 171.5 g
    686%
    Protein 37.2 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes