35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If there were a way, I would rate this recipe 50 stars! I'm not kidding - this is the most delicious quick bread recipe I have ever made or had (and that's really saying something!). I used regular red plums off our backyard tree (chopped up in chunks with the skin still on) and strawberry yogurt. I also folded the plum chunks into the batter rather than the layering technique described. The loaves are moist and fragrant but most of all the taste is divine. The skin-on plum chunks collapse into sweet tart & tangy little fruity bits of heaven. The batter is strong enough to hold the fruit in place rather than having it all drop to the bottom. I'm telling you - you cannot beat this bread for a fabulous way to use fresh plums. A big A plus, 5 stars and 2 thumbs up! UPDATE: I just wanted to say that I made this recipe again and it came out just a fabulous as before! This time I sprinkled sugar on top and it made a delightful sugary crust. I'm uploading a picture so you can see how yummy it is!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish July 23, 2002

What can I say except... perfection, I made this yesterday and only half a loaf is left if that, next time I am hiding one just for me, this is like heaven in a loaf pan. Thank you!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna July 28, 2002

Well, unlike many of the reviews I have read here, I did exactly what it said to do and it is wonderful!!! We planted 2 miniature plum trees last year and when they were filled with plums I realized I had no idea what to do with them besides just pick and eat from the tree. This is the first recipe I came across and just love it. The fresh fresh plums give it just the right amount of tart in the sweet mix! I am a chocolate lover, but ya know I think this might just beat chocolate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
churchgma June 28, 2011

There are not enough stars for this bread. It was so delicious and moist. I can't wait to try it with peaches, strawberries, blueberries...etc! The only thing I changed was I mixed the fruit throughout the batter. The batter is dense enough that the fruit did not sink to the bottom. Just brilliant!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Kristine April 13, 2010

Made this recipe as described with one addition; added a streusel topping so the fruit on the top of the loaf wouldn't overcook. It took this dessert to the next level of greatness! Treated my co-workers to one of the loaves which they loved & several asked for the recipe. <br/><br/>Streusel Topping; 3oz's self-raising flour, 1 oz butter (room temp) and 3 oz demerara (dark brown) sugar. Rub the butter with the flour until crumb-like, then add the brown sugar and 1 tbsp water.Mix with fork until mixture course and lumpy. Also sprinkled the loaf with slivered almonds after the adding the streusel topping. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annabanana01 September 09, 2013

I don't usually bake but the amount of plums we had in the house from our tree made me want to make something with them. I read all of the reviews for this recipe and they are all completely true! This is such a great quick bread. Mum and Dad have tried it and loved it, now to see if the boyfriend likes it, which I'm sure he will!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silentlasagne January 03, 2013

I see plums at the store and I think of this bread! My kids love these! The husband loves these ! I love the chunks of fruit in the bread. This bread is so unique & good..perfect for giving as gifts. I made mini muffins and regular sized muffins with this recipe. We toss them in the freezer and pull out for snacks and lunches. Eating them frozen with frozen plum bites...mmm! I make these with wheat flour and half butter half applesauce and they are still fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmchurch01 August 25, 2011

I love this! I use plain yogurt, because I always have it on hand and add 1 tsp. of almond extract. This recipe helps me use up some of my Santa Rosa Plums from my tree and they add a tart contrast. It makes 6 mini loaves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog July 12, 2011

Overall I think this is a solid recipe, although I think I would call it more of a pound cake than a bread. I added a smidge of almond extract and also folded in the fruit at the end instead of layering it.

I ran into problems with it cooking through in the amount of time indicated. I think this may have been partially because I used an 8x4 loaf pan rather than a 9x5 (the recipe does not specify). The outside was dark brown and I thought the toothpick had come out clean, but when I cut into it there was still a gooey pocket of uncooked batter toward the bottom center. The cooked portions were still delicious. I will probably try this again and use a larger pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieSaxon May 30, 2011

Yum! I used many substitutes to make this vegan and it was still delightful!
Instead of yogurt I made a concoction from 1/4c vegan toffutti cream cheese, 1/2c vegan toffutti sour cream, 3tbs sugar and 1tsp vanilla
Instead of 1c butter I used 1/2c unsweetened applesauce and 1/2c dairy free margerine.
Instead of 4 eggs I used 4tbs milled flax mixed with 12tbs water.
I also took the suggestion to sprinkle sugar on top which made a fun yummy texture.
I also left the skins on the plums and folded throughout the dough instead of layering.
Will be using this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amandamarievth October 09, 2010
Plum Bread