Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plethora of Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plethora of Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2002

      Very nice dish, Lennie, but I wasn't totally blown away by the taste, and I DO like bell peppers! :) I thought the combination of honey, vinegar and ginger would give it a unique taste, but the honey and ginger were virtually imperceptible; the vinegar was kinda overbearing! I had to make do with dried oregano, which worked well enough, I think. Also, since bell pepper sizes can vary greatly, it would help if the recipe mentioned how much sliced bell peppers there should be in all (in cups or ounces), because I ended up with really small servings. I used all green bell peppers, since that's all we get here, but I bet using red and orange would make for an awesome presentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      Hey there, Lennie. I made this exactly according to the recipe with one exception. I used a red, yellow, and orange bell pepper instead of green (just personal preference, I always substitute red for green in recipes). I used a high quality balsamic vinegar. Huge compliment, my kids even liked it. I think this would be great over pasta, as you said, and also as a side dish with any red meat. One more thing, I had to resist stirring too frequently after I added the peppers to give them a chance to brown while at the same time watching them closely. Thanks Lennie, this is a good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      I'm really surprised at the wonderful flavor this dish has. We halved the recipe, tho' keep the sauce ingredients as stated to have some extra sauce to go on rice, which accompanied the dish. Did increased the ginger to 1 teaspoon as we are fond of the flavor; and cooked only until "crisp-tender". Will make frequently, as we both likely it immensely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      Nice recipe! The sweetness of the the honey with the peppers was a nice change. We had them with Mirj's Tomato Basil Fritatta, for brunch. They were a great side for the fritatta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      This is wonderful! I tried a different store yesterday and got a bunch of peppers, even purple ones. I used red, orange, yellow, green and purple peppers. I also added about a cup of sliced crimini mushrooms. We had these with grilled steak and baked potatos. The fresh oregano is delightful, and the vinegar was nicely balanced by the spiciness of the ginger. I think this will be wonderful done in foil packets outside on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      Excellent recipe. I did not change anything - unusual for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      Served this last night over thinly sliced, charcoal grilled venison tenderloin, doubled the recipe then just smothered the venison in it! It was terrific. I used red, orange,yellow, purple and one lonely green bell pepper and vidalia onions! Not only was this tasty, it was one pretty dish! Used just a supermarket type balsamic, wildflower honey and fresh oregano right out of my dinner guests' herb garden. Next time I'm going to use this on brushetta with some smokey provolone. Thank you, Lenny, another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      This is a fantastic recipe! I am on a bodybuilding/figure diet (2 weeks out from competition). Right now, I cannot have salt, sugar, or fat (no starchy carbs past noon). Finding seasonings is a challenge. Everything, up to this point (i.e., this recipe) has been bland. Thanks a bunch. PS! By the way, I used a brown sugar replacement.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plethora of Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.5
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    56%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 297.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes