24 Reviews

So good! I used chicken, bow ties and 2 1/2 cups slaw mix, no peppers or cilanto, and it was still fantastic. Quick easy meal. I will make this a lot. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 October 21, 2008

We loved this salad. I didn't have any meat around, so made it without. Also, I used a chili-garlic hot sauce instead of the sriracha, just because that's what I had on hand. I'm not sure how much pasta I actually used ... probably not the full amount ... but we finished off the whole lot between the 3 of us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ankhesenamen May 22, 2008

Yum! No changes, no suggestions...can't improve on perfection! Made a delicious lunch for the two of us and there are NO leftovers. We ate it all! Used shrimp as the meat and just cooked them the last few minutes of boiling the pasta. Too easy and too good to not repeat often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine December 05, 2007

I have made this recipe twice now and have been very please both times! The first time I made it for lunch with colleagues, it was a huge hit! I will admit that after mixing it up I added more vegetables and some sesame seeds. The second time I decided to mix the dressing so that I could make smaller portions for lunch. Since the recipe is so flexible I decided to try udon noodles (they were perfect), left over grilled chicken, and whatever vegetables I had on hand. I loved my lunch today! If I were to make the full recipe again I would cut the pasta in half (and probably use the udon nooldes) and double the cabbage, red pepper, and carrots. In addition I would add snow peas or sugar snap peas and sesame seeds. I absolutely love how flexible this recipe can be and that the dressing can be made in advance! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gunnerbun July 11, 2007

This was absolutely wonderful--we had it without the pasta; just lots of cabbage and the dressing was terrific. When I served it as a side dish, my husband immediately asked 'where's the chicken in this?' but after a two bites, he was hooked! I could eat this salad every day; thanks for a delicious recipe, Miss Annie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhoKnew? July 09, 2007

So little oil and so much flavor!! I used whole wheat pasta, extra pepper flakes, and got rave reviews from my friends!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m0m June 08, 2007

Excellent Asian flavored noodle salad. I ended up using 3/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes and that was just right for me. A perfect, filling, healthy lunch. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' April 28, 2007

I served this to a vegetarian guest, and we both liked it a lot. Next time, though, I'll make a few changes. First of all, it was too salty, so I'll substitutue about 2 Tbs. lime juice for a like amount of the soy sauce. Also, I'd boost the proportion of vegies relative to noodles (though to be fair, I may have used more noodles than called for to start with). I might also try adding a small amount of peanut butter and brrown sugar to the dressing. (I love peanutty Asian stuff!) 4 stars for now, but I'll update my review if I make it again and like it even more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith K. May 30, 2003

This was really easy and delicious!!! Will make again. I did not put the red peppers and added green onions. I used chicken that I had sauteed with some olive oil and soy sauce. We served it warm but it is delicious cold as well. Thanks so much for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
septfair July 17, 2013

Really great, quick, light dinner. It does have a kick! I halved the recipe but used the full amount of veggies and left out the meat. I'm looking forward to trying it cold and maybe adding a little lime juice or rice wine vinegar to the dressing. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 15, 2013
Plaza San Antonio's Spicy Oriental Noodle Salad